Grambling State University: merit scholarships by ACT score

Verified Oct 21, 2026Fall 2022 entry · prior cycleGrambling, LA

Grambling State University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid crossing ACT score with GPA. Awards start at an ACT of 23 and reach $7,683 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.

Read this first

Grambling's grid is headed 'Freshmen for Fall 2022' and has not been refreshed since — a family applying for 2027 is reading five-year-old figures, so confirm them with the financial aid office before relying on them. Two quirks are real and in the source: the GPA requirement is NOT monotonic (a 23 needs a 3.5 while a 24 needs only a 3.0, so a 23 with a 3.2 earns nothing and a 24 with a 3.0 earns $5,140), and the published totals blend Grambling's own award with the state's TOPS award. Only Grambling's own column is modelled here, because TOPS has separate criteria a student may not meet.

Which grid applies?
29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA

Academic Achievement Scholarship

$7683 plus Traditional Dorm charges (if on campus) / year

About $30,732 over four years, if it renews.

There is no higher band to reach at this GPA — more points would not change the award here. They may still matter for admission, for honours programmes, or at other schools on the list.

Knowing where a score sits is the easy part. Moving it starts with knowing exactly which questions they're being missed, and why.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published Grambling State merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Grambling State University’s own pages for Fall 2022 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Graduates of a Louisiana high school

Grambling's own Academic Achievement Scholarship only. The page also lists the Louisiana TOPS award and a combined total; TOPS is a separate state programme with its own criteria and is not included in these figures.

  • $7683 plus Traditional Dorm charges (if on campus)

    Academic Achievement Scholarship

    ACT 28–36 · GPA of 3.5

  • $7683

    Academic Achievement Scholarship

    ACT 25–27 · GPA of 3.0

  • $5140 toward tuition

    Academic Achievement Scholarship

    ACT 24 · GPA of 3.0

  • $3000

    Academic Achievement Scholarship

    ACT 23 · GPA of 3.5 — note the GPA floor RISES at this band

Source: Financial Aid — Scholarships, Academic Achievement grid · verified 2026-10-21

Out-of-state students

Non-residents receive the same Academic Achievement Scholarship and are separately eligible for an Out-of-State Waiver, which Grambling lists in its own column. Only the Academic Achievement figure is modelled.

  • $7683 plus Traditional Dorm charges (if on campus)

    Academic Achievement Scholarship (out-of-state)

    ACT 28–36 · 28 ACT (1300 SAT) or higher and GPA of 3.5

Source: Financial Aid — Scholarships, Academic Achievement grid · verified 2026-10-21

Does Grambling State superscore for scholarships?

Not stated. Given the page has not been revised since 2022, a superscore question is one to put to the office directly.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Grambling State’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Grambling State University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • The grid is dated Fall 2022. Treat every figure as a starting point for a phone call, not a promise.
  • The GPA floor is not monotonic: 28 needs 3.5, 25-27 needs 3.0, 24 needs 3.0, and 23 needs 3.5 again.
  • A 23 with a 3.2 GPA qualifies for nothing on this grid, while a 24 with a 3.0 earns $5,140.
  • Grambling writes its figures without thousands separators ($7683, $5140, $3000), which is how they appear here.
  • The published 'Total Award' column adds Louisiana TOPS to Grambling's own award. TOPS is a state programme with separate criteria, so the totals overstate what Grambling itself guarantees.
  • The top band pays a dollar figure plus traditional dorm charges for students living on campus — a commuter gets less than the headline.
  • Grambling's wider scholarship list is a large donor catalogue administered through AwardSpring, almost all of it competitive and much of it restricted by major, parish or class year.
  • Some listed donor awards still carry 2023 and 2024 deadlines, which is consistent with a page that has not been maintained.
  • Grambling is silent on the Enhanced ACT.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Grambling State University.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Grambling State?

Automatic merit aid at Grambling State University starts at an ACT composite of 23, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches $7,683 a year at the top of the 2 grids it publishes. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.

Is Grambling State test-optional?

Not stated on the scholarship page. What is clear is that the merit grid runs entirely on ACT bands, so there is no score-free route to it. For merit aid the answer is different: required. Every band pairs an ACT threshold with a GPA floor, and Grambling publishes no test-optional alternative for the Academic Achievement Scholarship. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Grambling State?

On Grambling State's published grid for Fall 2022 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Graduates of a Louisiana high school — Academic Achievement Scholarship at $7,683 a year, about $30,732 over four years if it renews; Out-of-state students — Academic Achievement Scholarship (out-of-state) at $7,683 a year, about $30,732 over four years if it renews.

How much is one more ACT point worth at Grambling State?

The most valuable single point on Grambling State's published grid is 24 to 25, at a 3.0 GPA: it moves the award by $2,543 a year, or $10,172 across a four-year degree on the Graduates of a Louisiana high school grid. The same point is worth less at other GPAs, and most points move nothing at all — the grid steps rather than slopes, which is why the only score worth aiming at is the next threshold.

Does Grambling State superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated. Given the page has not been revised since 2022, a superscore question is one to put to the office directly.

Is this Grambling State scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Grambling State University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-21. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

You know what a score is worth at Grambling State. The question is whether you can move it.

A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Grambling State University