DePaul University: merit scholarships and what the school publishes

Verified Oct 25, 2026Current cycleHolistic reviewChicago, IL

DePaul University publishes merit aid criteria as published criteria. Awards reach $14,000 to $33,000. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.

Read this first

DePaul publishes one range, $14,000 to $33,000, for all four of its academic scholarships and names no GPA or score criteria for any of them, so no amount can be predicted from a transcript. Consideration is automatic but the tier is decided holistically. The two awards that do print a 3.7 threshold, Catholic Heritage and Chicago Promise, are limited to Illinois Catholic and Chicago Public School graduates respectively, and whether $20,000 is annual is not confirmed. Search snippets describe the top figure as "up to $33,000 annually". Music and theatre awards require an audition.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA

Presidential, Deans', DePaul Scholars' or St. Vincent DePaul Scholarship

$14,000 to $33,000

There is no higher band to reach at this GPA — more points would not change the award here. They may still matter for admission, for honours programmes, or at other schools on the list.

Knowing where a score sits is the easy part. Moving it starts with knowing exactly which questions they're being missed, and why.

Who's this for?
DePaul’s priority scholarship deadline is November 15 — 18 days. The next ACT is 12/12 and scores take up to four weeks, so they would arrive after that date. The score they has now is the one this deadline uses.
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published DePaul merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from DePaul University’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Freshman academic scholarships

Every applicant is considered automatically for one of the four awards. DePaul publishes no threshold for any of them.

  • $14,000 to $33,000

    Presidential, Deans', DePaul Scholars' or St. Vincent DePaul Scholarship

    No score needed

Source: Scholarships · verified 2026-10-25

Does DePaul superscore for scholarships?

Not stated. DePaul publishes no score threshold to clear.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask DePaul’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

DePaul scholarship deadlines

Entry termDue
Priority scholarship deadlineNovember 15

Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from DePaul University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • All four academic awards share a single published range, $14,000 to $33,000.
  • That is a $19,000 spread with no published rule for where a student lands in it.
  • Consideration is automatic and needs no separate application, but the tier is holistic.
  • The Catholic Heritage Scholarship pays $20,000 at a 3.7, limited to Illinois Catholic high school graduates.
  • The Chicago Promise Scholarship pays $20,000 at a 3.7 weighted, limited to Chicago Public Schools graduates.
  • Neither of those is a band here, because the threshold is attached to a high school rather than to a student.
  • Going test-optional is stated not to cost scholarship consideration, but those applicants are reviewed separately.
  • The Provost's Achievement Award pays $3,000 to National Merit semifinalists.
  • November 15 is the priority scholarship deadline.
  • Music and theatre awards require an audition, so neither is a band.
  • RaiseMe micro-scholarships are a separate programme, and an international Global DePaul award pays $12,000 to $32,000 with no published tiers.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with DePaul University.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at DePaul?

DePaul University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is DePaul test-optional?

A score is the applicant's choice. For merit aid the answer is different: dePaul states plainly that going without a score does not cost the scholarship consideration, though test-optional applicants are reviewed separately. With a holistic decision and no published cutoffs, a submitted score is one input among many and its weight is unquantified. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

Does DePaul superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated. DePaul publishes no score threshold to clear.

When are DePaul scholarship deadlines?

Priority scholarship deadline: November 15. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.

Is this DePaul scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from DePaul University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-25. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

You know what a score is worth at DePaul. The question is whether you can move it.

A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with DePaul University