Monmouth College: merit scholarships by GPA
Monmouth College awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 2.5 GPA and reach $33,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.
Read this first
Monmouth prints each award as a four-year total alongside a yearly figure; both are shown here. The page says every applicant is automatically considered but that awards come from a "holistic review" of the application, so the grid is the published schedule rather than a contractual promise. Below a 2.50 GPA the page asks students to contact admissions.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — a 3.60 GPA
Dean's Scholarship
$29,000 a year ($116,000 over four years) / year
About $116,000 over four years, if it renews.
Monmouth awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.
The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published Monmouth merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from Monmouth College’s own pages for Fall 2026 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
Dean's Scholarship
Keyed to the cumulative GPA on all grades submitted at the time of application, and announced at acceptance. The ACT plays no part.
$33,000 a year ($132,000 over four years)
Dean's Scholarship
No score needed
$31,000 a year ($124,000 over four years)
Dean's Scholarship
No score needed
$29,000 a year ($116,000 over four years)
Dean's Scholarship
No score needed
$27,000 a year ($108,000 over four years)
Dean's Scholarship
No score needed
$26,000 a year ($104,000 over four years)
Dean's Scholarship
No score needed
$25,000 a year ($100,000 over four years)
Dean's Scholarship
No score needed
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Dean's Scholarship | — | $33,000 a year ($132,000 over four years) |
| Dean's Scholarship | — | $31,000 a year ($124,000 over four years) |
| Dean's Scholarship | — | $29,000 a year ($116,000 over four years) |
| Dean's Scholarship | — | $27,000 a year ($108,000 over four years) |
| Dean's Scholarship | — | $26,000 a year ($104,000 over four years) |
| Dean's Scholarship | — | $25,000 a year ($100,000 over four years) |
Source: Scholarships — Dean's Scholarship grid · verified 2026-10-24
Does Monmouth superscore for scholarships?
Not stated, and it would not matter. Monmouth's published merit criteria never reference a test score.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Monmouth’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
Monmouth scholarship deadlines
| Entry term | Due |
|---|---|
| Scholarship Competition — registration | January 15 |
| Scholarship Competition | Saturday, January 30, 2027 |
| Special-interest scholarships | November 15 |
Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from Monmouth College’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- The ACT and SAT appear nowhere on either page. A score is worth nothing at Monmouth.
- Each award is printed as a four-year total first and a yearly figure second: $132,000 and $33,000 at the top rung.
- The whole grid spans $8,000 a year, on amounts that start at $25,000 — these are tuition discounts against a private sticker price, not cash.
- The GPA read is "the cumulative GPA, based on a 4.0 scale, of all grades submitted on official transcript at the time of application".
- Below a 2.49 the page asks students to contact the Office of Admission rather than publishing an award.
- The full-tuition awards — Goldsborough (Chicago-area students only), Admiral's and Trustees' — and the President's Scholarship ("up to $35,000 annually") require a 3.5 GPA and the on-campus competition, so none are on this grid.
- The page says the President's Scholarship replaces the Dean's award rather than stacking with it.
- The grid is labelled Fall 2026 while the competition is dated January 2027, so a family should confirm which cycle the figures apply to.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Monmouth College.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Monmouth?
Monmouth College publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.
Is Monmouth test-optional?
Neither the scholarships page nor the competition page states an admission testing requirement, so nothing is claimed about it here. For merit aid the answer is different: neither page mentions the ACT or SAT anywhere. The Dean's Scholarship is keyed to GPA, and so are the criteria for the scholarship competition, so a score is worth nothing at Monmouth. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Monmouth?
On Monmouth's published grid for Fall 2026 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Dean's Scholarship at $29,000 a year, about $116,000 over four years if it renews.
Does Monmouth superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated, and it would not matter. Monmouth's published merit criteria never reference a test score.
When are Monmouth scholarship deadlines?
Scholarship Competition — registration: January 15. Scholarship Competition: Saturday, January 30, 2027. Special-interest scholarships: November 15. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.
Is this Monmouth scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from Monmouth College's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
Monmouth awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.
Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Monmouth is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Monmouth College