Georgia Gwinnett College: merit scholarships by GPA
Georgia Gwinnett College awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 3.0 GPA and reach $1,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.
Read this first
The $1,000 Aspirational Grant is NOT paid on arrival — GGC awards it only after a student completes 15 credits at GGC with a 3.0 college GPA. The out-of-state award is an in-state tuition RATE rather than cash. Both read the USG recalculated CORE high school GPA, not the number on a transcript, so you cannot work out your own eligibility.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — a 3.60 GPA
GGC Aspirational Grant
$1,000 a year, paid after 15 credits at GGC / year
About $4,000 over four years, if it renews.
GGC awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.
The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published GGC merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from Georgia Gwinnett College’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
GGC Aspirational Grant (all students)
No application required, but the money arrives only after 15 credits at GGC with a 3.0 college GPA — not in the first semester.
$1,000 a year, paid after 15 credits at GGC
GGC Aspirational Grant
No score needed
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| GGC Aspirational Grant | — | $1,000 a year, paid after 15 credits at GGC |
Source: Scholarships and grants · verified 2026-10-24
Non-residents
A tuition-rate benefit rather than a cash award, and automatic for non-residents who meet the GPA.
In-state tuition rate
Presidential Academic Out-of-State Award
No score needed
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Presidential Academic Out-of-State Award | — | In-state tuition rate |
Source: Scholarships and grants · verified 2026-10-24
Does GGC superscore for scholarships?
Not stated, and it would not matter. Neither award reads a test score.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask GGC’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
GGC scholarship deadlines
| Entry term | Due |
|---|---|
| Out-of-State Award — fall entry | May 1 |
| Out-of-State Award — spring entry | December 1 |
Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from Georgia Gwinnett College’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- The Aspirational Grant is not paid in the first semester. It arrives after 15 credits at GGC with a 3.0 college GPA.
- The out-of-state award is worth the difference between non-resident and resident tuition, which at a Georgia public is far more than the $1,000 grant.
- Both awards read the USG recalculated CORE high school GPA, not a transcript GPA.
- Neither award uses a test score.
- The Aspirational Grant renews on a 3.25 GGC GPA, which is stricter than the 3.0 it took to qualify.
- The Top Honors Scholarship ($1,000 a year at a 3.5 core GPA) requires admission to the Honors Program, which needs an essay and a recommendation and is reviewed holistically, so it is not a band.
- GGC does not say whether these stack with Georgia's HOPE or Zell Miller awards.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Georgia Gwinnett College.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at GGC?
Georgia Gwinnett College publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.
Is GGC test-optional?
The scholarships page does not state the admission testing requirement, and the University System of Georgia lets state college presidents decide, so nothing is claimed here. For merit aid the answer is different: neither award mentions the SAT or ACT — both are keyed to the USG recalculated core high school GPA, so a score cannot move either. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at GGC?
On GGC's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for GGC Aspirational Grant (all students) — GGC Aspirational Grant at $1,000 a year, about $4,000 over four years if it renews.
Does GGC superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated, and it would not matter. Neither award reads a test score.
When are GGC scholarship deadlines?
Out-of-State Award — fall entry: May 1. Out-of-State Award — spring entry: December 1. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.
Is this GGC scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from Georgia Gwinnett College's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
GGC awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.
Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though GGC is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Georgia Gwinnett College