University of New Haven: merit scholarships and what the school publishes

Verified Oct 24, 2026Current cycleHolistic reviewWest Haven, CT

University of New Haven publishes merit aid criteria as published criteria. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.

Read this first

New Haven publishes no ACT or GPA thresholds — only a $15,000 to $33,000 annual range, awarded after a review of high school performance. The single firm figure is the $20,000 minimum guaranteed to Early Decision and Early Action admits, and that turns on the admission plan rather than on any score.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA

Merit-Based Scholarship

$15,000 to $33,000 a year, with a guaranteed minimum of $20,000 for Early Decision and Early Action admits

There is no higher band to reach at this GPA — more points would not change the award here. They may still matter for admission, for honours programmes, or at other schools on the list.

Knowing where a score sits is the easy part. Moving it starts with knowing exactly which questions they're being missed, and why.

Who's this for?
New Haven’s complete application for spring is January 1. The next ACT is 12/12 and scores take up to four weeks, so they would arrive after that date. The score they has now is the one this deadline uses.
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published New Haven merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from University of New Haven’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Merit-based scholarship

No thresholds are published. Applying Early Decision or Early Action is what fixes a floor under the award.

  • $15,000 to $33,000 a year, with a guaranteed minimum of $20,000 for Early Decision and Early Action admits

    Merit-Based Scholarship

    No score needed

Source: Merit scholarships, main campus · verified 2026-10-24

Does New Haven superscore for scholarships?

Not stated. Since scores are used only when they help, the practical effect is close to a superscore, but New Haven does not say so.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask New Haven’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

New Haven scholarship deadlines

Entry termDue
Complete application for fallMay 1
Complete application for springJanuary 1

Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from University of New Haven’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • No ACT or GPA thresholds are published — the award is a reviewed range, not a grid.
  • Early Decision and Early Action admits are guaranteed at least $20,000 a year, which is the only firm figure on the page.
  • A submitted score is used only when it helps, so sending one cannot reduce the award.
  • The published range tops out at $33,000 a year.
  • The figures apply to the main campus and to full-time applicants only.
  • The renewal GPA is referenced but never stated.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with University of New Haven.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at New Haven?

University of New Haven publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is New Haven test-optional?

Some programs and applicant populations are treated differently, so a student in a specific major should confirm. For merit aid the answer is different: a submitted score can raise the merit award and cannot lower it. That one-way reading is why sending a reasonable score is worth doing here, even though no threshold is published. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

Does New Haven superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated. Since scores are used only when they help, the practical effect is close to a superscore, but New Haven does not say so.

When are New Haven scholarship deadlines?

Complete application for fall: May 1. Complete application for spring: January 1. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.

Is this New Haven scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from University of New Haven's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

You know what a score is worth at New Haven. The question is whether you can move it.

A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with University of New Haven