Central Connecticut State University: merit scholarships by GPA

Verified Oct 24, 2026Current cycleACT not used for meritNew Britain, CT

Central Connecticut State University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 2.5 GPA and reach $3,500 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.

Read this first

CCSU does not say whether these amounts are annual or one-time, and its renewal language covers only "many of these scholarships" without naming a threshold — so the figures are clear and their duration is not. The page also does not say whether the GPA is weighted, and prints no residency, housing or full-time condition.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — a 3.60 GPA

Admission-based Merit Scholarship

$2,500 / year

About $10,000 over four years, if it renews.

CCSU awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.

The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.

Who's this for?
CCSU’s preferred application date, spring entry is December 1 — 34 days. The next ACT is 12/12 and scores take up to four weeks, so they would arrive after that date. The score they has now is the one this deadline uses.
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published CCSU merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Central Connecticut State University’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Admission-based merit scholarships

No scholarship application is needed. Five closed GPA windows with flat amounts and no qualifying wording.

  • $3,500

    Admission-based Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $2,500

    Admission-based Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $2,000

    Admission-based Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $1,500

    Admission-based Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $1,000

    Admission-based Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

Source: Scholarship offers and application information — the merit grid · verified 2026-10-24

Does CCSU superscore for scholarships?

Not stated, and it would not matter. The grid reads no test score.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask CCSU’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

CCSU scholarship deadlines

Entry termDue
Preferred application date, fall entryMay 1
Preferred application date, spring entryDecember 1

Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Central Connecticut State University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • The grid is unusually unqualified: flat amounts, no "up to", no residency split, no housing or full-time condition, and no separate application.
  • What it omits is the duration — CCSU never says whether the amounts are annual or one-time.
  • Its renewal sentence covers only "many" of the scholarships and names no threshold.
  • The whole ladder spans $2,500, from $1,000 at a 2.50 to $3,500 at a 3.80.
  • The GPA windows are printed as closed ranges and the top one stops at 4.00. It is modelled open here, so a weighted transcript above 4.00 still clears it.
  • Below a 2.50 the grid publishes no award.
  • No test score appears in the merit criteria.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Central Connecticut State University.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at CCSU?

Central Connecticut State University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is CCSU test-optional?

CCSU lists SAT or ACT scores as optional application material. For merit aid the answer is different: the merit grid carries no test criterion at any rung, so a score cannot move it. A student with no ACT reaches the $3,500 top rung at a 3.80 exactly as one with a 36 would. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at CCSU?

On CCSU's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Admission-based Merit Scholarship at $2,500 a year, about $10,000 over four years if it renews.

Does CCSU superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated, and it would not matter. The grid reads no test score.

When are CCSU scholarship deadlines?

Preferred application date, fall entry: May 1. Preferred application date, spring entry: December 1. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.

Is this CCSU scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Central Connecticut State University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

CCSU awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.

Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though CCSU is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Central Connecticut State University