University of Saint Joseph: merit scholarships and what the school publishes

Verified Oct 24, 2026Current cycleACT not used for meritHolistic reviewWest Hartford, CT

University of Saint Joseph publishes merit aid criteria as published criteria. Awards start at a 3.0 GPA and reach $25,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.

Read this first

Only one Saint Joseph award has a published threshold, and it is limited to students who spent three or more years at and graduated from a regionally accredited Catholic high school. Every other applicant reads a $15,000 to $25,000 range decided on a holistic review with no criteria attached. Whether the two stack is not stated, and the GPA used is unweighted.

Which grid applies?
29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — a 3.60 GPA

USJ Catholic Promise Scholarship

$25,000 a year, $100,000 over four / year

About $100,000 over four years, if it renews.

USJ awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.

The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published USJ merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from University of Saint Joseph’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Catholic high school graduates — Catholic Promise Scholarship

Requires three or more years at, and graduation from, a regionally accredited Catholic high school, with a 3.0 unweighted GPA. Saint Joseph also publishes a $100,000 four-year total.

  • $25,000 a year, $100,000 over four

    USJ Catholic Promise Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.00

Source: Scholarships and grants · verified 2026-10-24

Everyone else — Academic Merit Scholarship

A holistic review of the academic record, accomplishments and activities, the admission essay and academic letters of recommendation. No thresholds are published.

  • $15,000 to $25,000 a year, by holistic review

    Academic Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

Source: Scholarships and grants · verified 2026-10-24

Does USJ superscore for scholarships?

Not stated, and neither published award reads a score.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask USJ’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from University of Saint Joseph’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • Catholic Promise pays $25,000 a year at a 3.0 unweighted — a low bar for that much money.
  • It requires three or more years at, and graduation from, a regionally accredited Catholic high school, which a senior cannot change.
  • Academic Merit reaches the same $25,000 at its top, but only through a holistic review with no published criteria.
  • The GPA used is unweighted, so honours and AP coursework do not help clear the 3.0.
  • Whether the two awards stack is not stated.
  • Neither award reads an ACT score.
  • A $2,000 a year campus-visit award requires an official visit.
  • CORE, Honors, Mercy Values, Independent Scholars and Dean's awards exist, but Saint Joseph publishes no criteria for them.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with University of Saint Joseph.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at USJ?

University of Saint Joseph publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is USJ test-optional?

Saint Joseph is described as test-optional for all academic programs and scholarships. The catalogue page would not load, so the wording is not quoted here. For merit aid the answer is different: neither award names a score. The Catholic Promise threshold is an unweighted GPA, and Academic Merit is a holistic review with no criteria published. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at USJ?

On USJ's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Catholic high school graduates — Catholic Promise Scholarship — USJ Catholic Promise Scholarship at $25,000 a year, about $100,000 over four years if it renews.

Does USJ superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated, and neither published award reads a score.

Is this USJ scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from University of Saint Joseph's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

USJ awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.

Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though USJ is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with University of Saint Joseph