University of Maine at Presque Isle: merit scholarships by ACT score

Verified Oct 24, 2026Current cyclePresque Isle, ME

University of Maine at Presque Isle awards automatic merit aid from a published grid crossing ACT score with GPA. Awards start at an ACT of 25 and reach $5,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.

Read this first

UMPI prints $5,000 without saying whether it is annual or one-time, and publishes no duration or renewal condition, so the period is unknown. Students in its competency-based Your Pace programme are excluded. UMPI also publishes a Canadian route at a 90 average, which is not a band here because this track reads a 4.0-scale GPA.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA

Merit Award (score route)

$5,000 (UMPI does not state the period) / year

About $20,000 over four years, if it renews.

There is no higher band to reach at this GPA — more points would not change the award here. They may still matter for admission, for honours programmes, or at other schools on the list.

Knowing where a score sits is the easy part. Moving it starts with knowing exactly which questions they're being missed, and why.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

Can you get merit aid at UMPI without an ACT score?

Yes. A score is one of two routes to the same award, and it lowers the GPA required from a 3.70 to a 3.30 — worth four tenths of a grade point. Because UMPI publishes only one amount, a score above a 25 adds nothing.

Read the two columns in the grid below as a trade. The same award is reachable either way — with a score at a lower GPA, or with no score at a higher one. A score is worth real money to a student whose GPA sits under the test-optional line, and worth little to one comfortably above it.

“These scholarships are awarded at the time of acceptance.”

The published UMPI merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from University of Maine at Presque Isle’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Merit Award for traditional students

Awarded at the time of acceptance. One amount, reachable with a score at a lower GPA or on the GPA alone.

  • $5,000 (UMPI does not state the period)

    Merit Award (score route)

    ACT 25–36 · 3.30+

    Without a score: not available

  • $5,000 (UMPI does not state the period)

    Merit Award (GPA route)

    No score needed · GPA 3.70

Source: Scholarships — merit awards · verified 2026-10-24

Does UMPI superscore for scholarships?

Not stated. UMPI names a single 25 ACT threshold and never addresses superscoring, so a student one point short should confirm in writing.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask UMPI’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from University of Maine at Presque Isle’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • A 25 ACT is worth four tenths of a GPA point here — a 3.30 with the score reaches the same award as a 3.70 without it.
  • There is only one amount, so a score above a 25 adds nothing.
  • UMPI does not say whether the $5,000 is annual or one-time, and publishes no renewal condition.
  • UMPI publishes a third route for Canadian applicants at a 90 average, which this 4.0-scale track cannot represent.
  • Students in the competency-based Your Pace programme are not eligible.
  • A separate $2,000 transfer award exists and is not part of this first-year grid.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with University of Maine at Presque Isle.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at UMPI?

Automatic merit aid at University of Maine at Presque Isle starts at an ACT composite of 25, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches $5,000 a year at the top. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.

Is UMPI test-optional?

Scores are optional for admission, and UMPI says they can be used to establish eligibility for the Merit Award. For merit aid the answer is different: a score is one of two routes to the same award, and it lowers the GPA required from a 3.70 to a 3.30 — worth four tenths of a grade point. Because UMPI publishes only one amount, a score above a 25 adds nothing. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at UMPI?

On UMPI's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Merit Award (score route) at $5,000 a year, about $20,000 over four years if it renews.

Does UMPI superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated. UMPI names a single 25 ACT threshold and never addresses superscoring, so a student one point short should confirm in writing.

Is this UMPI scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from University of Maine at Presque Isle's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

You know what a score is worth at UMPI. The question is whether you can move it.

A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with University of Maine at Presque Isle