University of Maine at Farmington: merit scholarships by GPA

Verified Oct 24, 2026Current cycleACT not used for meritFarmington, ME

University of Maine at Farmington awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 2.75 GPA and reach $4,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.

Read this first

UMF publishes one GPA bar at 2.75 and then a RANGE per residency group, saying the amount varies with GPA without giving the cutoffs — the figures here are each range's assured low end. Applying by MAY 1 is part of the eligibility rule rather than a suggestion. UMF's page does not state that the award is granted automatically, so confirm in writing.

Which grid applies?
29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — a 3.60 GPA

UMF Success Merit Scholarship

$1,000–$3,000 a year, based on GPA / year

About $4,000 over four years, if it renews.

UMF awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.

The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.

Who's this for?
UMF’s early action is December 1 — 34 days. The next ACT is 12/12 and scores take up to four weeks, so they would arrive after that date. The score they has now is the one this deadline uses.
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published UMF merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from University of Maine at Farmington’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Maine residents

One eligibility bar at a 2.75, with the amount varying by GPA inside a published range.

  • $1,000–$3,000 a year, based on GPA

    UMF Success Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

Source: UMF Success merit scholarships · verified 2026-10-24

Other New England residents

The same bar, paid roughly double the Maine range.

  • $2,000–$5,000 a year, based on GPA

    UMF Success Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

Source: UMF Success merit scholarships · verified 2026-10-24

Outside New England

The same bar again — and this floor is higher than the Maine ceiling.

  • $4,000–$8,000 a year, based on GPA

    UMF Success Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

Source: UMF Success merit scholarships · verified 2026-10-24

Does UMF superscore for scholarships?

Not stated, and it would not matter. The merit criteria read no test score.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask UMF’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

UMF scholarship deadlines

Entry termDue
Apply by this date to be eligible for the merit awardMay 1
Early actionDecember 1

Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from University of Maine at Farmington’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • Geography decides more than the transcript here: a non-New Englander's floor of $4,000 is higher than a Maine resident's ceiling of $3,000.
  • There is one GPA bar — 2.75 — and no published tiers inside any of the three ranges.
  • The figures used here are each range's low end, the part a qualifying student is assured of.
  • Applying by May 1 is part of the eligibility rule, in the same sentence as the GPA.
  • Older copies of this page showed Maine tiers at 3.5+, 3.25–3.49 and 2.75–3.24. Those are not on the current page and are not used.
  • Recipients who continue into a UMF graduate programme may be able to apply the award to graduate tuition.
  • No test score appears in the merit criteria.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with University of Maine at Farmington.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at UMF?

University of Maine at Farmington publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is UMF test-optional?

UMF does not require an SAT or ACT score, and will consider one if submitted. For merit aid the answer is different: the merit page names GPA as its only academic criterion and mentions no test, so a score cannot move any of the three ranges. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at UMF?

On UMF's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Maine residents — UMF Success Merit Scholarship at $1,000 a year, about $4,000 over four years if it renews; Other New England residents — UMF Success Merit Scholarship at $2,000 a year, about $8,000 over four years if it renews; Outside New England — UMF Success Merit Scholarship at $4,000 a year, about $16,000 over four years if it renews.

Does UMF superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated, and it would not matter. The merit criteria read no test score.

When are UMF scholarship deadlines?

Apply by this date to be eligible for the merit award: May 1. Early action: December 1. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.

Is this UMF scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from University of Maine at Farmington's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

UMF awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.

Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though UMF is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with University of Maine at Farmington