Longwood University: merit scholarships by GPA

Verified Oct 22, 2026Fall 2027 entryACT not used for meritFarmville, VA

Longwood University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 3.0 GPA and reach $7,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.

Read this first

No score is used; these run on the GPA alone. The thing to act on is the DATE: applying by December 1, 2026 makes the award GUARANTEED, and applying after drops the same GPA by $1,000 a year and downgrades it to 'potential'. Both columns are shown below as separate tracks. Every figure is written as 'Up to', so the amounts are ceilings even in the guaranteed column. These are the Fall 2027 figures.

Which grid applies?
29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — a 3.60 GPA

Dean's Scholarship

Up to $5,000 / year

About $20,000 over four years, if it renews.

Longwood awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.

The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published Longwood merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Longwood University’s own pages for Fall 2027 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Early Action — guaranteed, applying by Dec. 1, 2026

Longwood calls this column a guaranteed award for applicants who meet the Early Action deadline.

  • Up to $7,000

    Presidential Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 4.00

  • Up to $6,000

    Provost's Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.75

  • Up to $5,000

    Dean's Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.50

  • Up to $3,000

    Rotunda Award

    No score needed · GPA 3.25

  • Up to $2,000

    Lancer Distinction Award

    No score needed · GPA 3.00

Source: Merit Scholarships for Fall 2027 Freshman Applicants · verified 2026-10-22

Regular Admission — potential, applying after Dec. 1, 2026

The same GPA bands, $1,000 a year lower, and described as a potential rather than a guaranteed award.

  • Up to $6,000

    Presidential Scholarship (regular admission)

    No score needed · GPA 4.00

  • Up to $5,000

    Provost's Scholarship (regular admission)

    No score needed · GPA 3.75

  • Up to $4,000

    Dean's Scholarship (regular admission)

    No score needed · GPA 3.50

  • Up to $2,000

    Rotunda Award (regular admission)

    No score needed · GPA 3.25

  • Up to $1,000

    Lancer Distinction Award (regular admission)

    No score needed · GPA 3.00

Source: Merit Scholarships for Fall 2027 Freshman Applicants · verified 2026-10-22

Does Longwood superscore for scholarships?

Not stated, and moot — no Longwood merit band uses a score.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Longwood’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Longwood scholarship deadlines

Entry termDue
Early Action — required for the guaranteed awardDec. 1, 2026

Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Longwood University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • The deadline is worth $1,000 a year at every GPA band — $4,000 over four years for applying on time.
  • It also changes the award from guaranteed to merely potential, which is the larger difference.
  • Every figure is 'Up to', so the amounts are ceilings in both columns.
  • The Cormier Honors College carries additional scholarships not modelled here.
  • Longwood is silent on the Enhanced ACT.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Longwood University.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Longwood?

Longwood University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is Longwood test-optional?

Not stated on the scholarship page. No merit band here uses a score. For merit aid the answer is different: not used. Both columns are published against the high school GPA alone, with the application date as the only other variable. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Longwood?

On Longwood's published grid for Fall 2027 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Early Action — guaranteed, applying by Dec. 1, 2026 — Dean's Scholarship at $5,000 a year, about $20,000 over four years if it renews; Regular Admission — potential, applying after Dec. 1, 2026 — Dean's Scholarship (regular admission) at $4,000 a year, about $16,000 over four years if it renews.

Does Longwood superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated, and moot — no Longwood merit band uses a score.

When are Longwood scholarship deadlines?

Early Action — required for the guaranteed award: Dec. 1, 2026. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.

Is this Longwood scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Longwood University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-22. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

Longwood awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.

Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Longwood is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Longwood University