Caldwell University: merit scholarships by GPA
Caldwell University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 3.0 GPA and reach $27,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.
Read this first
This published ladder appears on Caldwell's international scholarships page. Its domestic page says only that awards typically range from $20,000 to $30,000 a year, on academic credentials and overall strength of application, with no thresholds — so a US applicant should treat these tiers as the shape to expect and confirm their own rung with admissions. Caldwell also does not say whether the GPA is weighted.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — a 3.60 GPA
Academic Scholarship
$24,000 a year / year
About $96,000 over four years, if it renews.
Caldwell awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.
The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published Caldwell merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from Caldwell University’s own pages for Fall 2027 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
Academic Scholarship — the published GPA table
New first-year and transfer students are automatically reviewed for merit scholarships as part of the admissions process. Renewable for up to four years of continuous full-time enrolment.
$27,000 a year
Academic Scholarship
No score needed
$24,000 a year
Academic Scholarship
No score needed
$23,000 a year
Academic Scholarship
No score needed
$21,000 a year
Academic Scholarship
No score needed
$20,000 a year
Academic Scholarship
No score needed
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Academic Scholarship | — | $27,000 a year |
| Academic Scholarship | — | $24,000 a year |
| Academic Scholarship | — | $23,000 a year |
| Academic Scholarship | — | $21,000 a year |
| Academic Scholarship | — | $20,000 a year |
Source: International scholarship opportunities — the page carrying the published table · verified 2026-10-24
Does Caldwell superscore for scholarships?
Not stated. With the Aquinas award turning on a 23, a student near it should ask whether the better composite is read.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Caldwell’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
Caldwell scholarship deadlines
| Entry term | Due |
|---|---|
| Biology and medicine 3/4 programs | November 1 |
| Early action | November 15 |
| Rolling admission opens | January 1 |
Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from Caldwell University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- Scholarships and grants for incoming studentsverified 2026-10-24
- International scholarship opportunities — the page carrying the published tableverified 2026-10-24
- Admissions requirementsverified 2026-10-24
- The published ladder is on Caldwell's international scholarships page; the domestic page gives only a $20,000 to $30,000 range.
- There is no GPA floor: under a 3.00 the award is still $20,000 a year.
- The whole ladder spans $7,000 a year, so the floor is nearly the whole award.
- The 3.74-to-3.75 step is worth $3,000 a year, the only large step on the grid.
- A 23 ACT with a 3.25 average reaches the St. Thomas Aquinas award, $1,000 to $3,000 a year, automatically on admission for students who submit official scores — a stacking add-on rather than a rung.
- Other stacking add-ons: $2,500 a year for Catholic high school graduates, $2,000 for alumni families, $1,000 with Honors Program admission, and a $2,000 residential grant for students living on campus.
- Whether the GPA is weighted is not stated.
- The Caldwell Commitment, covering full tuition, needs Pell and New Jersey TAG eligibility, so it is need-based rather than a merit band.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Caldwell University.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Caldwell?
Caldwell University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.
Is Caldwell test-optional?
The medical-affiliated programs are the exception and do require an SAT or ACT score. For merit aid the answer is different: the GPA ladder reads no score. A score does reach separate money: the St. Thomas Aquinas award is given automatically to freshmen who submit official scores with a 3.25 average and a 23 ACT or 1100 SAT, at $1,000 to $3,000 a year. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Caldwell?
On Caldwell's published grid for Fall 2027 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Academic Scholarship at $24,000 a year, about $96,000 over four years if it renews.
Does Caldwell superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated. With the Aquinas award turning on a 23, a student near it should ask whether the better composite is read.
When are Caldwell scholarship deadlines?
Biology and medicine 3/4 programs: November 1. Early action: November 15. Rolling admission opens: January 1. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.
Is this Caldwell scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from Caldwell University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
Caldwell awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.
Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Caldwell is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Caldwell University