Stockton University: merit scholarships by GPA
Stockton University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 2.75 GPA and reach $8,760 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.
Read this first
Stockton's academic merit awards publish no amounts and are read on academic and extracurricular achievement with an essay and recommendation letters, so they are competitive rather than a grid. The two awards shown here are the ones Stockton publishes with figures: both need a 2.75, both require living on campus, and which one applies is decided entirely by residency. Whether Stockton requires a score for other institutional scholarships is not stated on a current page.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — a 3.60 GPA
Out-of-State Tuition Scholarship
$8,760 a year, split evenly between fall and spring / year
About $35,040 over four years, if it renews.
Stockton awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.
The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published Stockton merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from Stockton University’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
Students with a permanent address outside New Jersey
Renewable for up to eight semesters with continuous full-time enrolment and a 2.75 cumulative Stockton GPA. Puerto Rico counts as out of state.
$8,760 a year, split evenly between fall and spring
Out-of-State Tuition Scholarship
No score needed
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Out-of-State Tuition Scholarship | — | $8,760 a year, split evenly between fall and spring |
Source: Admissions scholarships · verified 2026-10-24
New Jersey residents living on campus
Requires keeping New Jersey residency, full-time status over consecutive semesters, a 2.75 cumulative GPA and continuing to live on campus.
$2,000 a year, split evenly between fall and spring
Housing Scholarship
No score needed
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Housing Scholarship | — | $2,000 a year, split evenly between fall and spring |
Source: Admissions scholarships · verified 2026-10-24
Does Stockton superscore for scholarships?
Not stated, and it would not matter — the published awards read no score.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Stockton’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
Stockton scholarship deadlines
| Entry term | Due |
|---|---|
| Foundation scholarships | March 20, 2026, 11:50 p.m. |
Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from Stockton University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- The out-of-state award is $8,760 a year; the New Jersey housing award is $2,000. Both need the same 2.75.
- The two are mutually exclusive by residency, so the only question is which one applies.
- Both require living on campus, and the award ends if the student moves off.
- The 2.75 is both the entry bar and the renewal bar, so there is no cushion.
- Amounts are split evenly between the fall and spring semesters.
- Neither award reads an ACT score.
- Stockton's academic merit awards publish no amounts and are competitive.
- Whether the GPA is weighted is not stated.
- An international student award of $8,760 at a 2.75, renewing at a 3.0, sits alongside these but is outside this page's scope.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Stockton University.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Stockton?
Stockton University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.
Is Stockton test-optional?
Stockton moved to test-optional freshman admission for Fall 2019 for most majors. No current official page restates it, so nothing further is claimed. For merit aid the answer is different: neither published award names a score — both are keyed to a 2.75 GPA and to residency. Stockton's competitive academic merit awards read a transcript, activities, an essay and letters, but publish no score threshold either. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Stockton?
On Stockton's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Students with a permanent address outside New Jersey — Out-of-State Tuition Scholarship at $8,760 a year, about $35,040 over four years if it renews; New Jersey residents living on campus — Housing Scholarship at $2,000 a year, about $8,000 over four years if it renews.
Does Stockton superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated, and it would not matter — the published awards read no score.
When are Stockton scholarship deadlines?
Foundation scholarships: March 20, 2026, 11:50 p.m.. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.
Is this Stockton scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from Stockton University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
Stockton awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.
Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Stockton is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Stockton University