Eastern Michigan University: merit scholarships by ACT score
Eastern Michigan University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid crossing ACT score with GPA. Awards start at an ACT of 22 and reach $8,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.
Read this first
The figures below are the TUITION half of EMU's fall 2027 Emerald Scholarship. EMU splits each row into a tuition scholarship and a housing award, and the housing half — $1,000 to $4,000 a year — only reaches a student living in on-campus double-occupancy housing. A commuter gets the tuition column alone. EMU's winter 2027 tab prints the two halves combined as a single figure, which is why the same grid can appear to pay $12,000 at the top on one tab and $8,000 on the other.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA
Emerald Scholarship
$5,000 / year
About $20,000 over four years, if it renews.
There is no higher band to reach at this GPA — more points would not change the award here. They may still matter for admission, for honours programmes, or at other schools on the list.
Knowing where a score sits is the easy part. Moving it starts with knowing exactly which questions they're being missed, and why.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
Can you get merit aid at Eastern Michigan without an ACT score?
Yes. Test-optional to get in, and partly test-priced once you are. Five of the seven Emerald rows print "n/a" under Test Scores Required, so between a 2.75 and a 3.74 GPA a score cannot change the award at all. It matters at the two ends: a 3.75+ transcript is worth $6,000 a year with no score, $7,000 with a 25 and $8,000 with a 28, and a 2.50–2.74 GPA earns nothing from this grid unless you post a 22. EMU's own framing is that "Some award amounts require a test score in addition to a cumulative GPA."
Read the two columns in the grid below as a trade. The same award is reachable either way — with a score at a lower GPA, or with no score at a higher one. A score is worth real money to a student whose GPA sits under the test-optional line, and worth little to one comfortably above it.
“Eligibility: Must be a traditional first-year student with U.S. residency and have a cumulative high school GPA (GPA on a 4.0 scale). Some award amounts require a test score in addition to a cumulative GPA.”
The published Eastern Michigan merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from Eastern Michigan University’s own pages for fall 2027 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
Emerald Scholarship, fall 2027 — tuition portion
Automatic: every admitted student is considered, with no separate application. EMU pairs each tuition figure below with a housing award that requires living in an on-campus double — $4,000 a year at the top of the grid, $3,000 at a 25+ ACT and through the 3.00-3.49 row, $2,000 at 2.75-2.99 and $1,000 at 2.50-2.74. Awards are per year and are open to traditional (under 21) first-year students with U.S. residency.
$8,000
Emerald Scholarship
ACT 28–36 · 3.75+ or higher
Without a score: not available
$7,000
Emerald Scholarship
ACT 25–27 · 3.75+ or higher
Without a score: not available
$6,000
Emerald Scholarship
No score needed · GPA 3.75
$5,000
Emerald Scholarship
No score needed · GPA 3.50
$4,000
Emerald Scholarship
No score needed · GPA 3.00
$3,000
Emerald Scholarship
No score needed · GPA 2.75
$2,000
Emerald Scholarship
ACT 22–36 · 2.50–2.74 or higher
Without a score: not available
| Award | With a score | No score | Per year |
|---|---|---|---|
| Emerald Scholarship | ACT 28–36 · 3.75+ or higher | not available | $8,000 |
| Emerald Scholarship | ACT 25–27 · 3.75+ or higher | not available | $7,000 |
| Emerald Scholarship | — | GPA 3.75 | $6,000 |
| Emerald Scholarship | — | GPA 3.50 | $5,000 |
| Emerald Scholarship | — | GPA 3.00 | $4,000 |
| Emerald Scholarship | — | GPA 2.75 | $3,000 |
| Emerald Scholarship | ACT 22–36 · 2.50–2.74 or higher | not available | $2,000 |
Competitive awards — not automatic
Meeting these makes you eligible to be reviewed, not to receive the award, so they are kept out of the calculator above.
- Presidential Scholarship (competitive, separate application and interview) — ACT 25+ with 3.50–3.84 with a 25 ACT — the ACT route only; EMU also awards this to a 3.85+ GPA with no score at all: Full tuition, room and board
Source: Scholarship Opportunities at EMU — Emerald Scholarship award tables for fall 2027 and winter 2027 · verified 2026-10-23
Does Eastern Michigan superscore for scholarships?
Not stated. The word "superscore" appears nowhere on EMU's scholarship page, its Presidential Scholarship page, its first-year admission page or its application FAQ — the pages say only that awards are verified against "official transcripts or test scores (if applicable)". Because the Emerald thresholds are single numbers (22, 25, 28) rather than section minimums, the practical question is whether EMU will read your best composite from several sittings, and it has not published an answer. Ask admissions before deciding not to send an earlier attempt.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Eastern Michigan’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
Eastern Michigan scholarship deadlines
| Entry term | Due |
|---|---|
| Priority admission application, fall start | July 1 |
| Priority admission application, winter start | November 1 |
| Priority admission application, summer start | April 1 |
| Presidential Scholarship application, transcripts and test scores — no exceptions | December 15, 2026 |
| Presidential Scholarship interview-round notifications | January 15, 2027 |
| Presidential Scholarship second-round interviews | February 6, 2027 |
| Legacy Scholarship application | June 1, 2027 |
Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from Eastern Michigan University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- Scholarship Opportunities at EMU — Emerald Scholarship award tables for fall 2027 and winter 2027verified 2026-10-23
- The Presidential Scholarship — criteria, deadline and interview roundsverified 2026-10-23
- Apply to EMU — undergraduate priority deadlines and the test-optional FAQverified 2026-10-23
- First-Year Admission — rolling admission and test-optional statementverified 2026-10-23
- Between a 2.75 and a 3.74 GPA your ACT score is worth nothing at EMU. Those three rows print "n/a" in the Test Scores Required column, so a 36 and a blank score line pay the same $3,000, $4,000 or $5,000. The score only buys money above a 3.75 or below a 2.75.
- The housing half of the award is conditional, and it is the larger lever at the top of the grid. EMU's fall 2027 table pairs the $8,000 tuition scholarship with a $4,000 housing award, and says awards "apply to tuition and/or on campus housing for double occupancy residency halls only". Live off campus or in a single room and that $4,000 a year is at risk — ask before signing a lease.
- Below a 2.75 GPA the ACT is the whole award. A 2.50–2.74 transcript earns $2,000 of tuition plus $1,000 of housing with a 22, and nothing from this grid without one. For a student in that band the test is not an optimisation, it is the entry ticket.
- The Presidential Scholarship is the big one and it is competitive, not guaranteed. EMU values it at approximately $100,000 — full tuition, room and board for four years — and says plainly that "Only the Presidential Scholarship is competitive" while the Emerald is not. It needs a separate application after you have applied for admission, closes December 15 with "No exceptions", notifies interview candidates by January 15 and interviews on February 6. Recipients join The Honors College.
- The Presidential Scholarship's score requirement disappears at a 3.85 GPA: EMU writes that "SAT/ACT requirements are waived for those with a GPA of 3.85 or higher". Below that you need a 3.5 and a 25. The band above models the ACT route only, because a band is an AND and these are alternatives.
- The Michigan Achievement Scholarship is STATE money, not EMU's, and it is not in the grid — but EMU's Eagle Guarantee is built on it. The Guarantee requires a 3.0 GPA, federal Pell eligibility, Michigan Achievement Scholarship eligibility and family assets under $60,000, and EMU describes the stack — Pell plus Michigan Achievement plus Emerald plus the Guarantee — as covering tuition with an extra $2,000 toward on-campus housing. Families routinely read the state award as part of EMU's offer; it is not, and no ACT score affects it.
- EMU charges every undergraduate in-state tuition. Its Global Tuition Rate "eliminates out-of-state fees for undergraduate students", so there is no separate non-resident grid here and no out-of-state penalty to scholarship your way out of — unusual among the publics in this dataset.
- Two awards stack on top of the grid without any score requirement: a $1,000-a-year Legacy Scholarship for a student whose parent, step-parent or grandparent graduated from EMU (3.0 GPA, applications due June 1, 2027), and, from fall 2027, a $1,000 annual marching band scholarship — $4,000 total — for any major who joins the band.
- Award amounts are per year unless stated otherwise, and EMU reserves the right to change them: "All scholarships are subject to change based on federal and state regulations, verification, enrollment, additional financial assistance, and/or administrative error." Every award is also contingent on official transcripts and a high school diploma arriving.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Eastern Michigan University.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Eastern Michigan?
Automatic merit aid at Eastern Michigan University starts at an ACT composite of 22, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches $8,000 a year at the top. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.
Is Eastern Michigan test-optional?
EMU admits on a rolling basis and does not require a score to get in. Transfer applicants need a 2.0 college GPA and 12 transferable credits; there is no published test requirement at any level of undergraduate admission. For merit aid the answer is different: test-optional to get in, and partly test-priced once you are. Five of the seven Emerald rows print "n/a" under Test Scores Required, so between a 2.75 and a 3.74 GPA a score cannot change the award at all. It matters at the two ends: a 3.75+ transcript is worth $6,000 a year with no score, $7,000 with a 25 and $8,000 with a 28, and a 2.50–2.74 GPA earns nothing from this grid unless you post a 22. EMU's own framing is that "Some award amounts require a test score in addition to a cumulative GPA." Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Eastern Michigan?
On Eastern Michigan's published grid for fall 2027 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Emerald Scholarship at $5,000 a year, about $20,000 over four years if it renews.
How much is one more ACT point worth at Eastern Michigan?
The most valuable single point on Eastern Michigan's published grid is 24 to 25, at a 3.75 GPA: it moves the award by $1,000 a year, or $4,000 across a four-year degree. The same point is worth less at other GPAs, and most points move nothing at all — the grid steps rather than slopes, which is why the only score worth aiming at is the next threshold.
Does Eastern Michigan superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated. The word "superscore" appears nowhere on EMU's scholarship page, its Presidential Scholarship page, its first-year admission page or its application FAQ — the pages say only that awards are verified against "official transcripts or test scores (if applicable)". Because the Emerald thresholds are single numbers (22, 25, 28) rather than section minimums, the practical question is whether EMU will read your best composite from several sittings, and it has not published an answer. Ask admissions before deciding not to send an earlier attempt.
When are Eastern Michigan scholarship deadlines?
Priority admission application, fall start: July 1. Priority admission application, winter start: November 1. Priority admission application, summer start: April 1. Presidential Scholarship application, transcripts and test scores — no exceptions: December 15, 2026. Presidential Scholarship interview-round notifications: January 15, 2027. Presidential Scholarship second-round interviews: February 6, 2027. Legacy Scholarship application: June 1, 2027. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.
Is this Eastern Michigan scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from Eastern Michigan University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-23. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
You know what a score is worth at Eastern Michigan. The question is whether you can move it.
A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Eastern Michigan University