Fort Lewis College: merit scholarships by GPA

Verified Oct 24, 20262026 entryACT not used for meritDurango, CO

Fort Lewis College awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 3.0 GPA and reach $8,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.

Read this first

In state, the $8,000 Colorado Scholars figure is the $5,000 Presidential plus a $3,000 addition, and that addition needs a 3.0 at Fort Lewis to renew where everything else needs a 2.0. These are tuition scholarships and Fort Lewis says merit tuition awards do not stack. The out-of-state top band is printed closed at 4.0 and is modelled open, because as printed a weighted GPA above 4.0 would clear no non-resident band at all.

Which grid applies?
29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — a 3.60 GPA

Provost's Tuition Scholarship

$4,000 a year / year

About $16,000 over four years, if it renews.

Fort Lewis awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.

The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published Fort Lewis merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Fort Lewis College’s own pages for 2026 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Colorado residents

Five brackets, with no separate application. The top figure is the Presidential award plus the Colorado Scholars addition.

  • $8,000 a year

    Colorado Scholars (Presidential plus $3,000)

    No score needed

  • $5,000 a year

    Presidential Tuition Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $4,000 a year

    Provost's Tuition Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $3,000 a year

    Dean's Tuition Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $2,000 a year

    Professor's Tuition Scholarship

    No score needed

Source: Scholarships for first-year students — 2026 tables · verified 2026-10-24

Non-residents

Three brackets rather than five, with a wider middle band — a 3.3 and a 3.7 are paid the same here, where in state they are not.

  • $8,000 a year

    Presidential Tuition Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $6,000 a year

    Provost's Tuition Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $4,000 a year

    Professor's Tuition Scholarship

    No score needed

Source: Scholarships for first-year students — 2026 tables · verified 2026-10-24

Does Fort Lewis superscore for scholarships?

Not stated, and it would not matter. Neither ladder reads a test score.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Fort Lewis’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Fort Lewis College’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • The out-of-state ladder has three brackets where the resident ladder has five, so an out-of-state 3.3 and 3.7 are paid identically at $6,000.
  • At a 3.8 and above, a non-resident receives $8,000 and a resident $5,000 — before the Colorado Scholars addition closes the gap at a 4.0.
  • The in-state $8,000 is two awards: the $5,000 Presidential plus $3,000, and only the addition needs a 3.0 at Fort Lewis to renew.
  • Everything else renews on a 2.00 cumulative GPA, which is unusually forgiving.
  • Fort Lewis publishes a 4.0+ row in state and none out of state, so the non-resident top band is modelled open here.
  • These are tuition scholarships, and Fort Lewis says merit tuition awards do not stack with each other.
  • GED holders are explicitly included in automatic consideration.
  • The page does not say whether the GPA is weighted or unweighted.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Fort Lewis College.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Fort Lewis?

Fort Lewis College publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is Fort Lewis test-optional?

Admission to Fort Lewis is ACT and SAT score optional. For merit aid the answer is different: these awards are based on cumulative GPA and no score appears anywhere on the scholarship page, so an ACT cannot move either ladder. A student with no score reaches the top band on GPA alone. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Fort Lewis?

On Fort Lewis's published grid for 2026 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Colorado residents — Provost's Tuition Scholarship at $4,000 a year, about $16,000 over four years if it renews; Non-residents — Provost's Tuition Scholarship at $6,000 a year, about $24,000 over four years if it renews.

Does in-state or out-of-state change merit aid at Fort Lewis?

Yes. Fort Lewis publishes separate grids: Colorado residents run $2,000 to $8,000 a year, and Non-residents run $4,000 to $8,000. Check which grid applies to you before planning around a figure.

Does Fort Lewis superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated, and it would not matter. Neither ladder reads a test score.

Is this Fort Lewis scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Fort Lewis College's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

Fort Lewis awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.

Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Fort Lewis is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Fort Lewis College