Colorado Mesa University: merit scholarships by GPA
Colorado Mesa University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 3.2 GPA and reach $7,500 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.
Read this first
No score is used — the three automatic bands are keyed to GPA alone. Colorado Mesa also publishes each award as a percentage of in-state tuition (74%, 49%, 30%), which is unusually honest framing and the better number to plan with. The awards stack with reduced out-of-state tuition rates, and a student must ACCEPT the award in MAVzone or it is not applied. The page carries no cycle year.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — a 3.60 GPA
Presidential Scholarship
$5,000 / year
About $20,000 over four years, if it renews.
Colorado Mesa awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.
The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published Colorado Mesa merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from Colorado Mesa University’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
Automatic renewable merit scholarships
Students are automatically considered. The award must then be accepted in MAVzone through the financial aid offer, so an unaccepted scholarship is not applied.
$7,500
Trustee Scholarship
No score needed · GPA 3.90
$5,000
Presidential Scholarship
No score needed · GPA 3.50
$3,000
Academic Achievement Award
No score needed · GPA 3.20
| Award | With a score | No score | Per year |
|---|---|---|---|
| Trustee Scholarship | — | GPA 3.90 | $7,500 |
| Presidential Scholarship | — | GPA 3.50 | $5,000 |
| Academic Achievement Award | — | GPA 3.20 | $3,000 |
Source: Scholarships for freshmen — renewable merit scholarships · verified 2026-10-21
Does Colorado Mesa superscore for scholarships?
Not stated, and moot — no merit band here uses a score.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Colorado Mesa’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from Colorado Mesa University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- Colorado Mesa publishes each award as a share of in-state tuition — 74%, 49% and 30% — which is the number that actually tells a family what it covers.
- The awards stack with reduced out-of-state tuition rates, so a non-resident may combine the two.
- The scholarship must be accepted in MAVzone; an offer left unaccepted is not applied.
- The page carries no cycle year.
- Colorado Mesa is silent on the Enhanced ACT.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Colorado Mesa University.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Colorado Mesa?
Colorado Mesa University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.
Is Colorado Mesa test-optional?
Not stated on the scholarship page. No merit band here uses a score. For merit aid the answer is different: not used. Every band is published against a high school GPA and no ACT threshold appears in the criteria. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Colorado Mesa?
On Colorado Mesa's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Presidential Scholarship at $5,000 a year, about $20,000 over four years if it renews.
Does Colorado Mesa superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated, and moot — no merit band here uses a score.
Is this Colorado Mesa scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from Colorado Mesa University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-21. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
Colorado Mesa awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.
Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Colorado Mesa is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Colorado Mesa University