West Texas A&M University: merit scholarships by ACT score and class rank

Verified Oct 21, 2026Current cycleCompetitive, not guaranteedCanyon, TX

West Texas A&M University publishes merit aid criteria as a published grid crossing ACT score with GPA. Awards start at an ACT of 22 and reach $8,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.

Read this first

West Texas A&M awards on CLASS RANK crossed with a score, not GPA, so the GPA slider does not affect the result here. The top three levels require BOTH — a 30 ACT alone, or a top-5% rank alone, earns nothing above $1,500. It is also not automatic: a separate university scholarship application is required by December 1 or February 1, and again EVERY year to renew, with awards 'based on availability of funds'. The grid page carries no cycle year, and its companion page still says 'Beginning Fall 2021'.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA

Provost's Level

$4,000 per year / year

About $16,000 over four years, if it renews.

What the next points are worth

1 more point (a 30) moves you to President's Level — $8,000 per year a year. That is $4,000 more a year, or $16,000 over four years.

The question isn't whether a point is worth having. It's whether they can move it — which starts with knowing exactly which questions they're missing, and why.

Who's this for?
West Texas A&M’s early action date for the scholarship application is December 1 — 34 days. The next ACT is 12/12 and scores take up to four weeks, so they would arrive after that date. The score they has now is the one this deadline uses.
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

Is West Texas A&M test-optional?

For admission, largely yes. A score is one of three alternative routes in, alongside a top-35% rank or a 3.0 GPA. West Texas A&M never uses the phrase test-optional, and applicants who miss the published routes are reviewed competitively with weighted consideration of rank and scores.

For money, no. Required. West Texas A&M says no award is made until an ACT or SAT score and a transcript showing class rank have been submitted. A family that reads “test-optional” and skips the ACT can be admitted and still walk away from every dollar on the grid below.

“21 ACT Composite Score / 1060 SAT Composite Score / 47 CLT”
— Scholarship Opportunities for New Freshmen

The published West Texas A&M merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from West Texas A&M University’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

WT Merit Scholarships

West Texas A&M prints the operator as a column in its own table: AND on the top three levels, OR on the fourth. A student receives only one level, the highest they qualify for.

  • $8,000 per year

    President's Level

    ACT 30–36 · Top 5% of class

  • $4,000 per year

    Provost's Level

    ACT 26–36 · Top 10% of class

  • $3,000 per year

    Honor Level

    ACT 24–36 · Top 15% of class

  • $1,500 per year

    Academic Level (score route)

    ACT 22–36 · A 22 ACT OR a top 25% class rank — the row prints OR

Source: Scholarship Opportunities for New Freshmen · verified 2026-10-21

Does West Texas A&M superscore for scholarships?

Not stated. The word appears on no West Texas A&M page checked, so no position is recorded.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask West Texas A&M’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

West Texas A&M scholarship deadlines

Entry termDue
Early action date for the scholarship applicationDecember 1
Priority date for the scholarship applicationFebruary 1
Awards made no later thanMay 1

Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from West Texas A&M University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • The AND on the top three levels is the binding constraint: a 36 outside the top 15% is worth $1,500.
  • The scholarship application must be resubmitted annually — missing it loses the renewal, not just the first year.
  • Home-schooled applicants and those from non-ranking high schools are reviewed case by case, with no published rank substitute.
  • The international grid is separate, GPA-keyed rather than rank-keyed, explicitly competitive, and its $12,000 waiver column is labelled 'ESTIMATE ONLY' in capitals — so it is not modelled.
  • West Texas A&M warns that a scholarship may reduce other financial aid, or be reduced by it.
  • The asterisk on its 'ACT or SAT Score*' column header has no footnote anywhere on the page.
  • West Texas A&M is silent on the Enhanced ACT.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with West Texas A&M University.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at West Texas A&M?

Automatic merit aid at West Texas A&M University starts at an ACT composite of 22, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches $8,000 a year at the top. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.

Is West Texas A&M test-optional?

A score is one of three alternative routes in, alongside a top-35% rank or a 3.0 GPA. West Texas A&M never uses the phrase test-optional, and applicants who miss the published routes are reviewed competitively with weighted consideration of rank and scores. For merit aid the answer is different: required. West Texas A&M says no award is made until an ACT or SAT score and a transcript showing class rank have been submitted. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at West Texas A&M?

On West Texas A&M's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for President's Level at $8,000 a year, about $32,000 over four years if it renews.

How much is one more ACT point worth at West Texas A&M?

The most valuable single point on West Texas A&M's published grid is 29 to 30, at a GPA of top 5% of class and a 30 act: it moves the award by $4,000 a year, or $16,000 across a four-year degree. The same point is worth less at other GPAs, and most points move nothing at all — the grid steps rather than slopes, which is why the only score worth aiming at is the next threshold.

Does West Texas A&M superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated. The word appears on no West Texas A&M page checked, so no position is recorded.

When are West Texas A&M scholarship deadlines?

Early action date for the scholarship application: December 1. Priority date for the scholarship application: February 1. Awards made no later than: May 1. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.

Is this West Texas A&M scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from West Texas A&M University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-21. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

You know what a score is worth at West Texas A&M. The question is whether you can move it.

A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with West Texas A&M University