Minnesota State University, Mankato: merit scholarships by GPA

Verified Oct 23, 2026Current cycle · prior cycleACT not used for meritMankato, MN

Minnesota State University, Mankato awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 3.5 GPA and reach $1,250 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.

Read this first

Maverick Scholarships are one-year and non-renewable — the figures below are the whole award, not an annual rate. Mankato's page still prints a March 1, 2025 deadline, two cycles behind, so confirm the current date before planning around it.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — a 3.60 GPA

Maverick Scholarship

$750, one year only / year

About $3,000 over four years, if it renews.

Minnesota State Mankato awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.

The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published Minnesota State Mankato merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Minnesota State University, Mankato’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

All first-year students

Maverick Scholarships are automatic on admission and awarded on high school GPA. They are one-year awards and do not renew.

  • $1,250, one year only

    Maverick Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $1,000, one year only

    Maverick Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $750, one year only

    Maverick Scholarship

    No score needed

Source: High School Student Scholarships — Academic Scholarships for First-Year Students · verified 2026-10-23

Does Minnesota State Mankato superscore for scholarships?

Not stated. The word does not appear on Mankato's scholarship page, which follows from a cash award that uses no score.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Minnesota State Mankato’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Minnesota State Mankato scholarship deadlines

Entry termDue
Admission deadline for automatic Maverick consideration, as printedMarch 1, 2025
Presidential Scholarship applicationJanuary 15
Meredith Scholarship applicationJanuary 15

Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Minnesota State University, Mankato’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • A 25 ACT is worth more here than any Maverick band, but it is not a scholarship: it is one of four routes to the in-state tuition rate, alongside a top-15% class rank, a 3.8 GPA, or a 1200 SAT.
  • That tuition route is worth nothing to a student from North Dakota or Wisconsin, who are on reciprocity instead — Mankato states the exclusion explicitly.
  • Maverick awards are one year. The figures above are the entire award, not a per-year rate.
  • Two larger awards are competitive and need an application by January 15: the Presidential at $20,000 over four years, and the Meredith at $32,000, which goes to a single student in maths or natural sciences.
  • The page still prints a March 1, 2025 admission deadline — two cycles stale. Treat the date as unconfirmed and check with the school.
  • Minnesota's North Star Promise covers tuition for residents under an $80,000 family income. It is a state programme, not a Mankato award, and is not in the grid above.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Minnesota State University, Mankato.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Minnesota State Mankato?

Minnesota State University, Mankato publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is Minnesota State Mankato test-optional?

Mankato's admissions pages do not state a test requirement either way. What the scholarship page does make clear is that no cash award depends on a score. For merit aid the answer is different: the Maverick Scholarship is awarded on high school GPA alone. A 25 ACT does matter here, but it buys the in-state tuition rate rather than a scholarship — see the notes. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Minnesota State Mankato?

On Minnesota State Mankato's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Maverick Scholarship at $750 a year, about $3,000 over four years if it renews.

Does Minnesota State Mankato superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated. The word does not appear on Mankato's scholarship page, which follows from a cash award that uses no score.

When are Minnesota State Mankato scholarship deadlines?

Admission deadline for automatic Maverick consideration, as printed: March 1, 2025. Presidential Scholarship application: January 15. Meredith Scholarship application: January 15. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.

Is this Minnesota State Mankato scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Minnesota State University, Mankato's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-23. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

Minnesota State Mankato awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.

Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Minnesota State Mankato is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Minnesota State University, Mankato