Fitchburg State University: merit scholarships by GPA
Fitchburg State University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 3.0 GPA and reach $5,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.
Read this first
The out-of-state Falcon Tuition Scholarship publishes NO GPA threshold — Fitchburg State names only the amount, the residency condition and the admissions priority deadline — so it is carried with no floor because that is what the page says. Fitchburg State also states that a FAFSA is required for some awards without saying which. The priority deadline itself is referenced without a date.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — a 3.60 GPA
Presidential Scholarship
$1,500 a year / year
About $6,000 over four years, if it renews.
Fitchburg State awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.
The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published Fitchburg State merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from Fitchburg State University’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
Massachusetts residents
No separate scholarship application. Both awards are small because a Massachusetts public has little in-state tuition left to discount.
$1,500 a year
Presidential Scholarship
No score needed
$1,000 a year
Fitchburg Freshmen Scholarship
No score needed
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Presidential Scholarship | — | $1,500 a year |
| Fitchburg Freshmen Scholarship | — | $1,000 a year |
Source: Merit aid programmes · verified 2026-10-24
Non-residents
Worth more than both resident awards combined, and published with no GPA criterion — only the residency condition and the admissions priority deadline.
$5,000 a year
Falcon Tuition Scholarship
No score needed
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Falcon Tuition Scholarship | — | $5,000 a year |
Source: Merit aid programmes · verified 2026-10-24
Does Fitchburg State superscore for scholarships?
Not stated, and it would not matter. No Fitchburg State merit award reads a test score.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Fitchburg State’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
Fitchburg State scholarship deadlines
| Entry term | Due |
|---|---|
| Falcon Tuition Scholarship — apply by the admissions priority deadline | priority deadline, no date published |
Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from Fitchburg State University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- A non-resident receives $5,000 a year; the best a Massachusetts resident can reach is $1,500.
- Even combined, the two resident awards come to $2,500 — the widest resident-to-non-resident inversion in this dataset.
- The Falcon Tuition Scholarship publishes no GPA threshold at all, only the residency condition and the priority deadline.
- That means an out-of-state student with a modest transcript may still be looking at the largest award on the page.
- The Presidential award renews on a 3.2 GPA, stricter than the 3.0 it took to qualify at a 3.5.
- Fitchburg State says a FAFSA is required for some awards without specifying which.
- The admissions priority deadline is referenced without a date being published.
- No test score appears in any merit criterion.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Fitchburg State University.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Fitchburg State?
Fitchburg State University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.
Is Fitchburg State test-optional?
Applicants choose whether to submit standardized test scores, and identify on the application how they wish to be considered. For merit aid the answer is different: the merit page prints no SAT or ACT criteria for any award, so a score cannot move either track. A student with no ACT reaches the same award as one with a 36. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Fitchburg State?
On Fitchburg State's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Massachusetts residents — Presidential Scholarship at $1,500 a year, about $6,000 over four years if it renews; Non-residents — Falcon Tuition Scholarship at $5,000 a year, about $20,000 over four years if it renews.
Does in-state or out-of-state change merit aid at Fitchburg State?
Yes. Fitchburg State publishes separate grids: Massachusetts residents run $1,000 to $1,500 a year, and Non-residents run $5,000 to $5,000 — a difference of $3,500 a year at the top. Check which grid applies to you before planning around a figure.
Does Fitchburg State superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated, and it would not matter. No Fitchburg State merit award reads a test score.
When are Fitchburg State scholarship deadlines?
Falcon Tuition Scholarship — apply by the admissions priority deadline: priority deadline, no date published. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.
Is this Fitchburg State scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from Fitchburg State University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
Fitchburg State awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.
Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Fitchburg State is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Fitchburg State University