Nichols College: merit scholarships by GPA
Nichols College awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 2.0 GPA and reach $27,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.
Read this first
Nichols never says these awards are automatic, and introduces them as recognising academic talent, leadership and extracurricular involvement — so placement may consider more than the GPA windows it publishes. The page also does not say whether the amounts are per year, though the awards are renewable, nor whether the GPA is weighted.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — a 3.60 GPA
President's Scholarship
$27,000 a year / year
About $108,000 over four years, if it renews.
Nichols awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.
The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published Nichols merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from Nichols College’s own pages for Fall 2027 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
First-year merit awards
No FAFSA is needed to qualify. Every award is renewable at a 2.0 with full-time enrolment.
$27,000 a year
President's Scholarship
No score needed
$25,000 a year
Provost's Scholarship
No score needed
$22,000 a year
Dean's Scholarship
No score needed
$20,000 a year
Faculty Award
No score needed
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| President's Scholarship | — | $27,000 a year |
| Provost's Scholarship | — | $25,000 a year |
| Dean's Scholarship | — | $22,000 a year |
| Faculty Award | — | $20,000 a year |
Source: Scholarships and grants · verified 2026-10-24
Does Nichols superscore for scholarships?
Not stated, and the published rungs read no score.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Nichols’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
Nichols scholarship deadlines
| Entry term | Due |
|---|---|
| Admission | Rolling — a decision within about 10 days |
Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from Nichols College’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- A 2.0 reaches $20,000 a year, so the floor is most of the offer.
- The whole ladder spans $7,000 a year — less than a third of what the bottom rung pays.
- The steps are even and small: $2,000, $3,000, then $2,000.
- Below a 2.0 nothing is published.
- The awards do not require a FAFSA.
- Renewal needs only a 2.0, which is the same as the lowest entry rung.
- Nichols never uses the word automatic, and frames the awards as recognising leadership and activities as well as grades.
- The page does not say whether the amounts are per year.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Nichols College.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Nichols?
Nichols College publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.
Is Nichols test-optional?
A submitted score is read as part of the application review, which is an admission matter rather than a scholarship one. For merit aid the answer is different: the scholarship page names no test at all, so nothing is claimed about whether a submitted score can move a rung. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Nichols?
On Nichols's published grid for Fall 2027 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for President's Scholarship at $27,000 a year, about $108,000 over four years if it renews.
Does Nichols superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated, and the published rungs read no score.
When are Nichols scholarship deadlines?
Admission: Rolling — a decision within about 10 days. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.
Is this Nichols scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from Nichols College's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
Nichols awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.
Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Nichols is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Nichols College