Westfield State University: merit scholarships by GPA
Westfield State University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 2.5 GPA and reach $5,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.
Read this first
Westfield State's largest award, the Tsongas Scholarship, requires an SAT of 1300 and publishes NO ACT equivalent — so it is unreachable with an ACT at any score, and it is described in the notes rather than shown as a row. Every figure on the grid is published as "up to". The amount depends on residency and, for Massachusetts students, on living on campus.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — a 3.60 GPA
Owl Scholarship
Up to $4,000 a year / year
About $16,000 over four years, if it renews.
Westfield State awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.
The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published Westfield State merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from Westfield State University’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
Massachusetts residents living on campus
The only track that reaches the Presidential award. Considered automatically from the admission application.
Up to $5,000 a year
Presidential Merit Scholarship
No score needed
Up to $4,000 a year
Owl Scholarship
No score needed
Up to $3,000 a year
Blue & White Scholarship
No score needed
Up to $2,000 a year
Leadership Scholarship
No score needed
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Presidential Merit Scholarship | — | Up to $5,000 a year |
| Owl Scholarship | — | Up to $4,000 a year |
| Blue & White Scholarship | — | Up to $3,000 a year |
| Leadership Scholarship | — | Up to $2,000 a year |
Source: Merit scholarships — the residency and housing tracks · verified 2026-10-24
Massachusetts residents commuting
The Presidential award requires living on campus, so a commuter's ceiling is the Owl Scholarship however high the GPA.
Up to $4,000 a year
Owl Scholarship
No score needed
Up to $3,000 a year
Blue & White Scholarship
No score needed
Up to $2,000 a year
Leadership Scholarship
No score needed
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Owl Scholarship | — | Up to $4,000 a year |
| Blue & White Scholarship | — | Up to $3,000 a year |
| Leadership Scholarship | — | Up to $2,000 a year |
Source: Merit scholarships — the residency and housing tracks · verified 2026-10-24
New England Regional Rate students
The smallest of the three offers — its ceiling is below what a Massachusetts commuter receives at the same GPA.
Up to $2,000 a year
Leadership Scholarship
No score needed
Up to $1,000 a year
Dean Scholarship
No score needed
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Leadership Scholarship | — | Up to $2,000 a year |
| Dean Scholarship | — | Up to $1,000 a year |
Source: Merit scholarships — the residency and housing tracks · verified 2026-10-24
Out-of-state, not eligible for the Regional Rate
One award, reached at a 2.50 — the same $5,000 a Massachusetts resident needs a 3.75 and campus housing for.
Up to $5,000 a year
Out-of-State Scholarship
No score needed
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Out-of-State Scholarship | — | Up to $5,000 a year |
Source: Merit scholarships — the residency and housing tracks · verified 2026-10-24
Does Westfield State superscore for scholarships?
Not stated. It would not affect the grid, which reads no score — and the one award that does read a score accepts only the SAT.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Westfield State’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from Westfield State University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- Merit scholarships — the residency and housing tracksverified 2026-10-24
- Test-optional admissionverified 2026-10-24
- The Tsongas Scholarship covers the annual cost of tuition and fees and requires an SAT of 1300. Westfield State publishes no ACT equivalent, so it is the one award in this dataset an ACT cannot reach at any score.
- That makes the choice of test, rather than the score, the thing that decides whether Westfield State's largest award exists for a given student.
- An out-of-state student at a 2.50 receives up to $5,000 — the same as a Massachusetts resident needs a 3.75 and campus housing to reach.
- A New England Regional Rate student tops out at $2,000, which is less than a Massachusetts commuter receives at the same GPA.
- Commuting costs the top rung outright: the Presidential award requires living on campus.
- Every figure is published as "up to", so each is a ceiling.
- Below a 2.50 none of the four tracks publishes an award.
- The page prints no entry year and does not say whether the GPA is weighted.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Westfield State University.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Westfield State?
Westfield State University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.
Is Westfield State test-optional?
Westfield State does not require SAT or ACT scores for a first-year admission decision. For merit aid the answer is different: every award on the grid is score-free, and Westfield State says students can be considered for merit scholarships without submitting scores. The exception is the Tsongas Scholarship, which covers tuition and fees and requires an SAT of 1300 — with no ACT equivalent published, so an ACT cannot reach it at any score. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Westfield State?
On Westfield State's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Massachusetts residents living on campus — Owl Scholarship at $4,000 a year, about $16,000 over four years if it renews; Massachusetts residents commuting — Owl Scholarship at $4,000 a year, about $16,000 over four years if it renews; New England Regional Rate students — Leadership Scholarship at $2,000 a year, about $8,000 over four years if it renews; Out-of-state, not eligible for the Regional Rate — Out-of-State Scholarship at $5,000 a year, about $20,000 over four years if it renews.
Does in-state or out-of-state change merit aid at Westfield State?
Yes. Westfield State publishes separate grids: Massachusetts residents living on campus run $2,000 to $5,000 a year, and Out-of-state, not eligible for the Regional Rate run $5,000 to $5,000. Check which grid applies to you before planning around a figure.
Does Westfield State superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated. It would not affect the grid, which reads no score — and the one award that does read a score accepts only the SAT.
Is this Westfield State scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from Westfield State University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
Westfield State awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.
Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Westfield State is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Westfield State University