Huntingdon College: merit scholarships by ACT score
Huntingdon College awards automatic merit aid from a published grid crossing ACT score with GPA. Awards start at an ACT of 21 and reach $16,500 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.
Read this first
Huntingdon's page is headed 2026-27 and the next entering class is Fall 2027, so these are the published prior-cycle figures. Awards do not stack — a student receives one institutional award, with only the Montgomery Public Schools Investment Scholarship exempt. The page states that transfer awards are automatic but says nothing of the kind about freshman merit, so confirm in writing.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA
President A.A. Lipscomb Scholarship
$14,000 a year / year
About $56,000 over four years, if it renews.
There is no higher band to reach at this GPA — more points would not change the award here. They may still matter for admission, for honours programmes, or at other schools on the list.
Knowing where a score sits is the easy part. Moving it starts with knowing exactly which questions they're being missed, and why.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published Huntingdon merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from Huntingdon College’s own pages for 2026-27 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
Freshman merit scholarships
Every award except the Wilson is reachable two ways — with a score at a lower GPA, or with no score at a GPA about 0.20 higher. A student receives one award, not both routes.
$16,500 a year
James W. Wilson Jr. Scholarship
ACT 25–36 · 3.75+ with a score
$14,000 a year
President A.A. Lipscomb Scholarship
ACT 24–36 · 3.50+ with a score
$14,000 a year
President A.A. Lipscomb Scholarship (no test score)
No score needed
$13,500 a year
President Walter D. Agnew Scholarship
ACT 23–36 · 3.40+ with a score
$13,500 a year
President Walter D. Agnew Scholarship (no test score)
No score needed
$13,000 a year
Wynton M. and Carolyn Blount Scholarship
ACT 22–36 · 3.30+ with a score
$13,000 a year
Wynton M. and Carolyn Blount Scholarship (no test score)
No score needed
$12,500 a year
President John Massey Scholarship
ACT 21–36 · 3.20+ with a score
$12,500 a year
President John Massey Scholarship (no test score)
No score needed
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| James W. Wilson Jr. Scholarship | ACT 25–36 · 3.75+ with a score | $16,500 a year |
| President A.A. Lipscomb Scholarship | ACT 24–36 · 3.50+ with a score | $14,000 a year |
| President A.A. Lipscomb Scholarship (no test score) | — | $14,000 a year |
| President Walter D. Agnew Scholarship | ACT 23–36 · 3.40+ with a score | $13,500 a year |
| President Walter D. Agnew Scholarship (no test score) | — | $13,500 a year |
| Wynton M. and Carolyn Blount Scholarship | ACT 22–36 · 3.30+ with a score | $13,000 a year |
| Wynton M. and Carolyn Blount Scholarship (no test score) | — | $13,000 a year |
| President John Massey Scholarship | ACT 21–36 · 3.20+ with a score | $12,500 a year |
| President John Massey Scholarship (no test score) | — | $12,500 a year |
Source: 2026-27 undergraduate scholarships · verified 2026-10-24
Does Huntingdon superscore for scholarships?
Not stated. Huntingdon names ACT composites but never addresses superscoring, so a student planning a retake should confirm in writing.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Huntingdon’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from Huntingdon College’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- The exchange rate between a score and a transcript is printed outright: a qualifying ACT is worth about 0.20 of a GPA point at every award that offers both routes.
- The top award — the $16,500 Wilson — has no no-score route. A student who does not test cannot reach it at any GPA.
- Awards do not stack. Only the Montgomery Public Schools Investment Scholarship is exempt from that rule.
- The Presidential Scholars award pays $20,000 on a 3.0 with a 23, or a 3.75 with no score — but it requires campus residency, the Honors Program and an academic cohort, and excludes NCAA-III athletes, Kingswood, Esports, band, dance and cheer participants. It is a programme, not a grid rung.
- A Hawk Award of $12,000 goes to students admitted unconditionally, and a Huntingdon Grant is published as "varies, up to $9,000". Neither has a numeric criterion, so neither is a band here.
- Only the ACT is named on the page; the SAT is not mentioned.
- Full-time enrolment in the traditional undergraduate programme is required.
- The page does not say whether the GPA is weighted or unweighted.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Huntingdon College.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Huntingdon?
Automatic merit aid at Huntingdon College starts at an ACT composite of 21, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches $16,500 a year at the top. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.
Is Huntingdon test-optional?
A score is not needed to be admitted, and Huntingdon says in the same sentence that it may help for merit. For merit aid the answer is different: four of the five awards publish a no-score route at a GPA about 0.20 higher, so a score lowers the GPA needed rather than unlocking money a GPA cannot reach. The exception is the top award: the $16,500 Wilson requires a 25, and no GPA reaches it without one. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Huntingdon?
On Huntingdon's published grid for 2026-27 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for President A.A. Lipscomb Scholarship at $14,000 a year, about $56,000 over four years if it renews.
How much is one more ACT point worth at Huntingdon?
The most valuable single point on Huntingdon's published grid is 24 to 25, at a 3.75 GPA: it moves the award by $2,500 a year, or $10,000 across a four-year degree. The same point is worth less at other GPAs, and most points move nothing at all — the grid steps rather than slopes, which is why the only score worth aiming at is the next threshold.
Does Huntingdon superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated. Huntingdon names ACT composites but never addresses superscoring, so a student planning a retake should confirm in writing.
Is this Huntingdon scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from Huntingdon College's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
You know what a score is worth at Huntingdon. The question is whether you can move it.
A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Huntingdon College