Adams State University: merit scholarships by GPA

Verified Oct 24, 2026Current cycleACT not used for meritAlamosa, CO

Adams State University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 3.25 GPA and reach $3,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.

Read this first

Adams State's introduction says awards are based on "weighted or unweighted" GPA while both award rows specify a WEIGHTED GPA — read the grid, and confirm which scale applies if you are near 3.90. Students must enrol full-time in on-campus classes to receive these offers, and no renewal GPA is published.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — a 3.60 GPA

Vice President's Scholarship

$1,000/year / year

About $4,000 over four years, if it renews.

Adams State awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.

The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published Adams State merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Adams State University’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Automatic offers

Offered automatically to first-time students enrolling full-time in on-campus classes, on weighted high school GPA.

  • $3,000/year

    President's Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $1,000/year

    Vice President's Scholarship

    No score needed

Source: Automatic offers · verified 2026-10-24

Does Adams State superscore for scholarships?

Not stated, and it would not matter. Neither award reads a test score.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Adams State’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Adams State University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • There is no middle rung: $1,000 from a 3.25 and $3,000 from a 3.90, so the hundredth from 3.89 to 3.90 is worth $2,000 a year.
  • Sixty-five hundredths of a grade point, from 3.25 to 3.89, change nothing.
  • Below a 3.25 weighted the page publishes no automatic award.
  • The intro says "weighted or unweighted" and the grid says weighted. The two do not agree.
  • Students must enrol full-time in on-campus classes to receive these offers.
  • A valedictorian receives an additional $1,000 on top of a GPA rung, so it is not a band here.
  • No renewal GPA is published on the awards page.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Adams State University.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Adams State?

Adams State University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is Adams State test-optional?

Adams State is test-optional for admission. For merit aid the answer is different: both awards are keyed to cumulative high school GPA and the page never mentions a test score, so an ACT cannot move either. A student with no score reaches the $3,000 President's Scholarship at a 3.90 weighted. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Adams State?

On Adams State's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Vice President's Scholarship at $1,000 a year, about $4,000 over four years if it renews.

Does Adams State superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated, and it would not matter. Neither award reads a test score.

Is this Adams State scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Adams State University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

Adams State awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.

Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Adams State is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Adams State University