Oregon Institute of Technology: merit scholarships by ACT score
Oregon Institute of Technology awards automatic merit aid from a published grid crossing ACT score with GPA. Awards start at an ACT of 23 and reach $10,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.
Read this first
Each tier can be reached three ways — on an unweighted GPA, on an SAT score or on an ACT score — and Oregon Tech does not say which route wins when the GPA and the score point at different tiers; the higher one is shown here. The ACT cells are printed as single numbers with no plus sign and are read as floors, since they step upward with the award. The amounts are not labelled per year, though the award renews for up to four.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA
Winston Purvine Scholarship — on ACT
$5,000 a year / year
About $20,000 over four years, if it renews.
There is no higher band to reach at this GPA — more points would not change the award here. They may still matter for admission, for honours programmes, or at other schools on the list.
Knowing where a score sits is the easy part. Moving it starts with knowing exactly which questions they're being missed, and why.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published Oregon Tech merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from Oregon Institute of Technology’s own pages for 2027-28 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
Oregon residents
Automatic for first-year students admitted before March 1. Each tier is reachable on GPA or on a score.
$5,000 a year
Winston Purvine Scholarship — on ACT
ACT 26–36 · No GPA required on the score route
$5,000 a year
Winston Purvine Scholarship — on GPA
No score needed
$4,500 a year
Jesse Crabtree Scholarship — on ACT
ACT 25–36 · No GPA required on the score route
$4,500 a year
Jesse Crabtree Scholarship — on GPA
No score needed
$4,000 a year
Fred Foulon Scholarship — on ACT
ACT 24–36 · No GPA required on the score route
$4,000 a year
Fred Foulon Scholarship — on GPA
No score needed
$2,000 a year
Jim Owens Scholarship — on ACT
ACT 23–36 · No GPA required on the score route
$2,000 a year
Jim Owens Scholarship — on GPA
No score needed
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Winston Purvine Scholarship — on ACT | ACT 26–36 · No GPA required on the score route | $5,000 a year |
| Winston Purvine Scholarship — on GPA | — | $5,000 a year |
| Jesse Crabtree Scholarship — on ACT | ACT 25–36 · No GPA required on the score route | $4,500 a year |
| Jesse Crabtree Scholarship — on GPA | — | $4,500 a year |
| Fred Foulon Scholarship — on ACT | ACT 24–36 · No GPA required on the score route | $4,000 a year |
| Fred Foulon Scholarship — on GPA | — | $4,000 a year |
| Jim Owens Scholarship — on ACT | ACT 23–36 · No GPA required on the score route | $2,000 a year |
| Jim Owens Scholarship — on GPA | — | $2,000 a year |
Source: Presidential Scholarship — 2027-28 · verified 2026-10-24
Non-residents
The largest column, because it discounts the largest sticker. Same thresholds throughout.
$10,000 a year
Winston Purvine Scholarship — on ACT
ACT 26–36 · No GPA required on the score route
$10,000 a year
Winston Purvine Scholarship — on GPA
No score needed
$9,000 a year
Jesse Crabtree Scholarship — on ACT
ACT 25–36 · No GPA required on the score route
$9,000 a year
Jesse Crabtree Scholarship — on GPA
No score needed
$8,000 a year
Fred Foulon Scholarship — on ACT
ACT 24–36 · No GPA required on the score route
$8,000 a year
Fred Foulon Scholarship — on GPA
No score needed
$6,000 a year
Jim Owens Scholarship — on ACT
ACT 23–36 · No GPA required on the score route
$6,000 a year
Jim Owens Scholarship — on GPA
No score needed
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Winston Purvine Scholarship — on ACT | ACT 26–36 · No GPA required on the score route | $10,000 a year |
| Winston Purvine Scholarship — on GPA | — | $10,000 a year |
| Jesse Crabtree Scholarship — on ACT | ACT 25–36 · No GPA required on the score route | $9,000 a year |
| Jesse Crabtree Scholarship — on GPA | — | $9,000 a year |
| Fred Foulon Scholarship — on ACT | ACT 24–36 · No GPA required on the score route | $8,000 a year |
| Fred Foulon Scholarship — on GPA | — | $8,000 a year |
| Jim Owens Scholarship — on ACT | ACT 23–36 · No GPA required on the score route | $6,000 a year |
| Jim Owens Scholarship — on GPA | — | $6,000 a year |
Source: Presidential Scholarship — 2027-28 · verified 2026-10-24
Western Undergraduate Exchange residents
Smaller figures, because WUE tuition is already reduced. Same thresholds throughout.
$4,000 a year
Winston Purvine Scholarship — on ACT
ACT 26–36 · No GPA required on the score route
$4,000 a year
Winston Purvine Scholarship — on GPA
No score needed
$3,500 a year
Jesse Crabtree Scholarship — on ACT
ACT 25–36 · No GPA required on the score route
$3,500 a year
Jesse Crabtree Scholarship — on GPA
No score needed
$3,000 a year
Fred Foulon Scholarship — on ACT
ACT 24–36 · No GPA required on the score route
$3,000 a year
Fred Foulon Scholarship — on GPA
No score needed
$2,000 a year
Jim Owens Scholarship — on ACT
ACT 23–36 · No GPA required on the score route
$2,000 a year
Jim Owens Scholarship — on GPA
No score needed
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Winston Purvine Scholarship — on ACT | ACT 26–36 · No GPA required on the score route | $4,000 a year |
| Winston Purvine Scholarship — on GPA | — | $4,000 a year |
| Jesse Crabtree Scholarship — on ACT | ACT 25–36 · No GPA required on the score route | $3,500 a year |
| Jesse Crabtree Scholarship — on GPA | — | $3,500 a year |
| Fred Foulon Scholarship — on ACT | ACT 24–36 · No GPA required on the score route | $3,000 a year |
| Fred Foulon Scholarship — on GPA | — | $3,000 a year |
| Jim Owens Scholarship — on ACT | ACT 23–36 · No GPA required on the score route | $2,000 a year |
| Jim Owens Scholarship — on GPA | — | $2,000 a year |
Source: Presidential Scholarship — 2027-28 · verified 2026-10-24
Does Oregon Tech superscore for scholarships?
Not stated. Since the score is a full route to a tier, a student with two sittings should ask whether the better composite is the one read.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Oregon Tech’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
Oregon Tech scholarship deadlines
| Entry term | Due |
|---|---|
| First-year — admitted before | March 1 |
| Transfer — admitted before | August 15 |
Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from Oregon Institute of Technology’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- Presidential Scholarship — 2027-28verified 2026-10-24
- First-year admission criteriaverified 2026-10-24
- A 26 reaches the top tier with no GPA requirement at all — the ACT is a complete route here, not a tiebreaker.
- A 23 is the lowest score on the grid and reaches $2,000 a year as a resident, $6,000 as a non-resident.
- The same tier pays $5,000 resident, $4,000 WUE and $10,000 non-resident.
- The ACT cells are single numbers with no plus sign; they are read as floors because they rise with the award.
- Oregon Tech does not say which route wins when the GPA and the score point at different tiers.
- The GPA is unweighted and cumulative on core courses.
- Being admitted before March 1 is what makes consideration automatic.
- The posted grid is for 2027-28 entry; Oregon Tech publishes no 2026-27 version.
- Transfer tiers reuse these award names with different amounts.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Oregon Institute of Technology.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Oregon Tech?
Automatic merit aid at Oregon Institute of Technology starts at an ACT composite of 23, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches $10,000 a year at the top of the 3 grids it publishes. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.
Is Oregon Tech test-optional?
Oregon Tech also says submitting a score can improve Presidential Scholarship consideration, which the grid bears out. For merit aid the answer is different: a score is a complete alternative route, not a tiebreaker: a 23 reaches the Jim Owens award with no GPA requirement, and a 26 reaches the top Winston Purvine award — the same amount a 3.91 GPA reaches. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Oregon Tech?
On Oregon Tech's published grid for 2027-28 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Oregon residents — Winston Purvine Scholarship — on ACT at $5,000 a year, about $20,000 over four years if it renews; Non-residents — Winston Purvine Scholarship — on ACT at $10,000 a year, about $40,000 over four years if it renews; Western Undergraduate Exchange residents — Winston Purvine Scholarship — on ACT at $4,000 a year, about $16,000 over four years if it renews.
How much is one more ACT point worth at Oregon Tech?
The most valuable single point on Oregon Tech's published grid is 23 to 24, on the row where it is largest: it moves the award by $2,000 a year, or $8,000 across a four-year degree on the Oregon residents grid. The same point is worth less at other GPAs, and most points move nothing at all — the grid steps rather than slopes, which is why the only score worth aiming at is the next threshold.
Does in-state or out-of-state change merit aid at Oregon Tech?
Yes. Oregon Tech publishes separate grids: Oregon residents run $2,000 to $5,000 a year, and Non-residents run $6,000 to $10,000 — a difference of $5,000 a year at the top. Check which grid applies to you before planning around a figure.
Does Oregon Tech superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated. Since the score is a full route to a tier, a student with two sittings should ask whether the better composite is the one read.
When are Oregon Tech scholarship deadlines?
First-year — admitted before: March 1. Transfer — admitted before: August 15. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.
Is this Oregon Tech scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from Oregon Institute of Technology's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
You know what a score is worth at Oregon Tech. The question is whether you can move it.
A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Oregon Institute of Technology