Linfield University: merit scholarships by GPA

Verified Oct 24, 20262027-28 entryACT not used for meritMcMinnville, OR

Linfield University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 2.9 GPA and reach $32,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.

Read this first

Linfield says these awards are based on GPA "and standardized test scores, when provided", but publishes no score thresholds at all — so a submitted ACT can move a student between rungs in a way this grid cannot show. The figures apply to the McMinnville campus only, and the rungs leave a hole between 3.09 and 3.10.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — a 3.60 GPA

Francis R. Linfield Scholarship

$29,000 a year / year

About $116,000 over four years, if it renews.

Linfield awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.

The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.

Who's this for?
Linfield’s competitive scholarship application is December 1, 2026 — 34 days. The next ACT is 12/12 and scores take up to four weeks, so they would arrive after that date. The score they has now is the one this deadline uses.
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published Linfield merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Linfield University’s own pages for 2027-28 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

First-year academic scholarships, McMinnville campus

Awarded automatically at the time of admission, regardless of financial need. The awards do not increase from year to year.

  • $32,000 a year

    Presidential Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $31,000 a year

    Trustee Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $29,000 a year

    Francis R. Linfield Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $27,000 a year

    Faculty Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $26,000 a year

    Linfield Recognition Award

    No score needed

Source: Academic scholarships for first-year students — 2027-2028 · verified 2026-10-24

Does Linfield superscore for scholarships?

Not stated. Since scores are read but not quantified, a student with two sittings should ask how they are combined.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Linfield’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Linfield scholarship deadlines

Entry termDue
Competitive scholarship applicationDecember 1, 2026

Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Linfield University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • The top rung opens at a 4.15, which only makes sense on a weighted transcript — nearly every other grid in this dataset stops at a 4.00.
  • The floor is a 2.9 and still pays $26,000 a year.
  • The whole ladder spans $6,000 a year across more than a full grade point, so the floor matters far more than the climb.
  • Linfield says scores are read when provided but publishes no thresholds for them.
  • A 3.095 falls between the Recognition and Faculty rungs.
  • These figures are for the McMinnville campus; the online and continuing-education programs have separate pages.
  • The award does not increase from year to year.
  • Whether the GPA is weighted is never stated outright, though the 4.15 rung implies it.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Linfield University.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Linfield?

Linfield University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is Linfield test-optional?

The grid's own column header reads "GPA (Test Optional)". Linfield's costs page was unreachable, so nothing further is claimed. For merit aid the answer is different: a score is read when it is submitted, but Linfield publishes no score thresholds — so the effect is real and unquantified. Every published rung is reachable on GPA alone. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Linfield?

On Linfield's published grid for 2027-28 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Francis R. Linfield Scholarship at $29,000 a year, about $116,000 over four years if it renews.

Does Linfield superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated. Since scores are read but not quantified, a student with two sittings should ask how they are combined.

When are Linfield scholarship deadlines?

Competitive scholarship application: December 1, 2026. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.

Is this Linfield scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Linfield University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

Linfield awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.

Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Linfield is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Linfield University