George Fox University: merit scholarships by GPA

Verified Oct 23, 2026Fall 2027 entryACT not used for meritNewberg, OR

George Fox University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 3.0 GPA and reach $24,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.

Read this first

An ACT score is worth nothing toward merit money at George Fox. The published table has one axis — "High School GPA (weighted or unweighted)" — and no test score appears anywhere on the scholarship pages. The better of a student's weighted and unweighted GPA is the one that counts, which is unusually generous. Below a 3.0 George Fox says a merit scholarship still applies but publishes no figure, so no band is listed there.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — a 3.60 GPA

George Fox merit scholarship

$22,000 / year

About $88,000 over four years, if it renews.

George Fox awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.

The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published George Fox merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from George Fox University’s own pages for Fall 2027 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Freshman merit scholarship

Awarded on the admission application with no separate scholarship application, and read off the better of the student's weighted and unweighted GPA. A 4.0 or straight A's adds a further $1,000 a year through the Academic Excellence Scholarship, which stacks on top of these figures rather than replacing them.

  • $24,000

    George Fox merit scholarship

    No score needed

  • $22,000

    George Fox merit scholarship

    No score needed

  • $21,000

    George Fox merit scholarship

    No score needed

  • $20,000

    George Fox merit scholarship

    No score needed

Source: Scholarships and Financial Aid — Merit Scholarships, Fall 2027 Applicants · verified 2026-10-23

Does George Fox superscore for scholarships?

Not stated, and at George Fox the question does not arise: superscoring combines section scores across test dates, and no test score of any kind enters the merit calculation. The word does not appear on the scholarship or freshman application pages.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask George Fox’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

George Fox scholarship deadlines

Entry termDue
Early Action — qualifies for additional scholarship opportunities, including the larger Scholarship Summit awardNov. 1, 2026
Priority Decision — qualifies for secondary scholarship opportunities; later applications still consideredFeb. 1, 2027
Honors Fellowship Day consideration — steps completed by the early application deadline as the additional-scholarships page words itNov. 5
First deposit deadline — first wave of self-selecting housingFeb. 15, 2027
Second deposit deadline — second wave of self-selecting housingMarch 15, 2027
Enrollment deposit deadline (fall)May 1, 2027
Spring semester application deadlineNov. 1, 2026

Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from George Fox University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • An ACT score cannot increase a George Fox merit award. The one axis is high school GPA, and George Fox reads the better of the weighted and unweighted figure.
  • A 4.0 GPA or straight A's adds $1,000 a year on top of the base merit award through the Academic Excellence Scholarship — up to $4,000 over four years. It is additive, not an alternative, so a 3.75+ student with a 4.0 reaches $25,000 a year.
  • Applying by November 1 rather than February 1 is worth real money: Scholarship Summit pays $1,000-$3,000 a year to Early Action applicants but only $1,000-$2,000 a year to Priority Decision applicants.
  • Two pages give two different early deadlines. The freshman application page publishes Early Action as Nov. 1, 2026; the additional-scholarships page says Honors Fellowship Day consideration requires the steps completed by "the early application deadline (Nov. 5)". Treat November 1 as the one to hit.
  • University-funded scholarships beyond the academic merit award are capped at $5,000 a year in total — Scholarship Summit, the Visit Experience Scholarship and the rest all count against that cap. Honors students who take part in Honors Fellowship Day may reach $6,000, and George Fox says the extra is "not guaranteed".
  • The Visit Experience Scholarship is $1,000 a year for simply applying, taking a tour, meeting a counsellor and attending a Campus Connection. It counts against the $5,000 cap.
  • The Oregon Opportunity Grant and Oregon Promise are state of Oregon money, not George Fox's, and are awarded by the state on need and residency rather than by this grid. They are deliberately excluded here; a student should expect them in addition to the merit award, not instead of it.
  • Students admitted with a GPA below 3.0 "still qualify for a merit scholarship" according to George Fox, but no amount is published for them, so no band is listed. Contact admissions for the figure.
  • The transfer grid is a different and lower table keyed to college GPA — $18,000 at 3.75+, $17,000 at 3.25-3.74, $13,000 at 3.00-3.24, $10,000 at 2.75-2.99 and $9,000 under 2.75 — and must not be read as the freshman grid. Transfers from an Oregon community college with a 3.0 add $5,000 a year.
  • George Fox publishes a 2027-28 sticker price of $62,988 a year against an average net price of $24,387 for a first-year student, so the merit award is being set against a published list price roughly two and a half times it.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with George Fox University.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at George Fox?

George Fox University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is George Fox test-optional?

Test-optional, and George Fox is emphatic about it — the application asks for no score, no references and no essay. Most admitted students enter with a 3.0 or higher and the 2025-26 freshman average was a 3.8; below a 3.0 George Fox recommends adding an academic reference rather than a score. For merit aid the answer is different: the merit table has a single axis and no test column, and no George Fox scholarship page mentions a score. Read carefully, the quote below is what George Fox actually publishes — GPA and the FAFSA are the two things named as lowering the price. George Fox never writes the sentence "test scores are not used for scholarships" in those words, so this is read off the published table rather than quoted from a policy statement. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at George Fox?

On George Fox's published grid for Fall 2027 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for George Fox merit scholarship at $22,000 a year, about $88,000 over four years if it renews.

Does George Fox superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated, and at George Fox the question does not arise: superscoring combines section scores across test dates, and no test score of any kind enters the merit calculation. The word does not appear on the scholarship or freshman application pages.

When are George Fox scholarship deadlines?

Early Action — qualifies for additional scholarship opportunities, including the larger Scholarship Summit award: Nov. 1, 2026. Priority Decision — qualifies for secondary scholarship opportunities; later applications still considered: Feb. 1, 2027. Honors Fellowship Day consideration — steps completed by the early application deadline as the additional-scholarships page words it: Nov. 5. First deposit deadline — first wave of self-selecting housing: Feb. 15, 2027. Second deposit deadline — second wave of self-selecting housing: March 15, 2027. Enrollment deposit deadline (fall): May 1, 2027. Spring semester application deadline: Nov. 1, 2026. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.

Is this George Fox scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from George Fox University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-23. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

George Fox awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.

Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though George Fox is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with George Fox University