Coker University: merit scholarships by GPA
Coker University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 2.5 GPA and reach $14,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.
Read this first
Every amount is published as "up to", so the figures are ceilings. The GPA floors appear in Coker's academic catalog rather than on its scholarship page, and the two pages disagree about a fourth award — Founders is $10,000 a year on one and $7,500 on the other. Coker's scholarship page does not state that the awards are granted automatically on admission, so confirm in writing.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — a 3.60 GPA
President's Scholarship
Up to $14,000 a year / year
About $56,000 over four years, if it renews.
Coker awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.
The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published Coker merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from Coker University’s own pages for 2026-27 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
Named scholarships
Keyed to cumulative high school GPA. The floors overlap, so a student receives the best award they clear.
Up to $14,000 a year
President's Scholarship
No score needed
Up to $13,000 a year
Dean's Scholarship
No score needed
Up to $11,000 a year
Bell Tower Grant
No score needed
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| President's Scholarship | — | Up to $14,000 a year |
| Dean's Scholarship | — | Up to $13,000 a year |
| Bell Tower Grant | — | Up to $11,000 a year |
Source: 2026-27 academic catalog — the GPA thresholds · verified 2026-10-24
Does Coker superscore for scholarships?
Not stated, and it would not matter. Coker's own awards read no test score.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Coker’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
Coker scholarship deadlines
| Entry term | Due |
|---|---|
| FAFSA for South Carolina residents | June 30 |
Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from Coker University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- Scholarships and grants — amountsverified 2026-10-24
- 2026-27 academic catalog — the GPA thresholdsverified 2026-10-24
- Traditional student admissions — test policyverified 2026-10-24
- The GPA floors overlap, so a 3.6 clears all three awards and receives the President's Scholarship.
- Every amount is "up to", so the figures are ceilings rather than promises.
- The spread across the ladder is only $3,000 a year, from $11,000 to $14,000.
- The thresholds are in Coker's catalog while the amounts are on its scholarship page, so neither page alone answers the question.
- The two pages disagree about the Founders award: $10,000 a year on one, $7,500 on the other. It has no published GPA threshold either, so it is not a band here.
- The Trustee's Scholarship ($15,000) is for out-of-state students only and publishes no GPA floor.
- Local students in seven nearby counties with a 3.0+ GPA are guaranteed at least $2,500 off tuition under "Coker Within Reach", which is residency-limited.
- The scholarship page prints no entry year; the catalog used here is the 2026-27 edition.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Coker University.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Coker?
Coker University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.
Is Coker test-optional?
Coker states it is not requiring the SAT or ACT for admission. For merit aid the answer is different: no ACT appears in any Coker merit criterion — all three awards are keyed to cumulative high school GPA. The only test scores on the page belong to South Carolina's LIFE and Palmetto Fellows state awards, which Coker does not control. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Coker?
On Coker's published grid for 2026-27 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for President's Scholarship at $14,000 a year, about $56,000 over four years if it renews.
Does Coker superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated, and it would not matter. Coker's own awards read no test score.
When are Coker scholarship deadlines?
FAFSA for South Carolina residents: June 30. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.
Is this Coker scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from Coker University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
Coker awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.
Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Coker is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Coker University