Lander University: merit scholarships by ACT score
Lander University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid crossing ACT score with GPA. Awards start at an ACT of 20 and reach $6,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.
Read this first
A test score is REQUIRED for these scholarships even though Lander is test-optional for admission. The 3.5 GPA is a flat gate — nothing above it pays more, so the score decides everything. Out-of-state students receive less cash but also a separate tuition abatement of $4,000 to $8,000, which is a discount rather than a payment and is not added into the figures here.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA
Trustee's Award
$4,500 / year
About $18,000 over four years, if it renews.
What the next points are worth
1 more point (a 30) moves you to President's Award — $6,000 a year. That is $1,500 more a year, or $6,000 over four years.
The question isn't whether a point is worth having. It's whether they can move it — which starts with knowing exactly which questions they're missing, and why.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
Is Lander test-optional?
For admission, largely yes. Lander is test-optional for admission but not for money — the same sentence that makes the score optional makes it mandatory for scholarships.
For money, no. Every tier names an ACT or SAT range and Lander publishes no GPA-only route. A student admitted without a score reaches none of these awards however high their GPA. A family that reads “test-optional” and skips the ACT can be admitted and still walk away from every dollar on the grid below.
“SAT and/or ACT test scores (test optional; required for Lander academic scholarships)”
The published Lander merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from Lander University’s own pages for 2026-27 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
South Carolina residents
Students who apply by May 1 of their senior year are considered automatically. Every tier needs a 3.5 GPA alongside the score.
$6,000
President's Award
ACT 30–36 · 3.50+ weighted
$4,500
Trustee's Award
ACT 26–29 · 3.50+ weighted
$3,000
Provost's Award
ACT 22–25 · 3.50+ weighted
$1,000
Dean's Award
ACT 20–21 · 3.50+ weighted
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| President's Award | ACT 30–36 · 3.50+ weighted | $6,000 |
| Trustee's Award | ACT 26–29 · 3.50+ weighted | $4,500 |
| Provost's Award | ACT 22–25 · 3.50+ weighted | $3,000 |
| Dean's Award | ACT 20–21 · 3.50+ weighted | $1,000 |
Source: Scholarships — 2026-27 academic scholarships · verified 2026-10-24
Non-residents
Less cash than the in-state ladder, but each tier also carries a separate out-of-state tuition abatement — $8,000 at the top two tiers, $6,000 at the Provost's and $4,000 at the Dean's. The abatement reduces the non-resident rate rather than paying the student, so it is not added into these figures.
$4,000
President's Award
ACT 30–36 · 3.50+ weighted
$3,000
Trustee's Award
ACT 26–29 · 3.50+ weighted
$2,000
Provost's Award
ACT 22–25 · 3.50+ weighted
$500
Dean's Award
ACT 20–21 · 3.50+ weighted
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| President's Award | ACT 30–36 · 3.50+ weighted | $4,000 |
| Trustee's Award | ACT 26–29 · 3.50+ weighted | $3,000 |
| Provost's Award | ACT 22–25 · 3.50+ weighted | $2,000 |
| Dean's Award | ACT 20–21 · 3.50+ weighted | $500 |
Source: Scholarships — 2026-27 academic scholarships · verified 2026-10-24
Does Lander superscore for scholarships?
Not stated. That matters more here than at most schools — the whole grid moves on the score, so a student sitting near a 20, 22, 26 or 30 should ask in writing whether sittings can be combined.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Lander’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
Lander scholarship deadlines
| Entry term | Due |
|---|---|
| Apply by this date to be considered automatically | May 1 |
Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from Lander University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- A test score is required for these scholarships even though Lander is test-optional for admission.
- The 3.5 GPA is a flat gate. Above it, a higher GPA is worth nothing — only the ACT moves the award.
- In-state, the span from a 20 to a 30 is worth $5,000 a year.
- Out-of-state students receive less cash but also a tuition abatement of $4,000 to $8,000 depending on tier. The abatement is a discount on the non-resident rate, not a payment, so it is not added into the band figures.
- Students must apply by May 1 of their senior year to be considered automatically.
- Renewal needs 24 semester hours a year, which is above a twelve-credit full-time load each term.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Lander University.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Lander?
Automatic merit aid at Lander University starts at an ACT composite of 20, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches $6,000 a year at the top of the 2 grids it publishes. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.
Is Lander test-optional?
Lander is test-optional for admission but not for money — the same sentence that makes the score optional makes it mandatory for scholarships. For merit aid the answer is different: every tier names an ACT or SAT range and Lander publishes no GPA-only route. A student admitted without a score reaches none of these awards however high their GPA. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Lander?
On Lander's published grid for 2026-27 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for South Carolina residents — President's Award at $6,000 a year, about $24,000 over four years if it renews; Non-residents — President's Award at $4,000 a year, about $16,000 over four years if it renews.
How much is one more ACT point worth at Lander?
The most valuable single point on Lander's published grid is 21 to 22, at a 3.5 GPA: it moves the award by $2,000 a year, or $8,000 across a four-year degree on the South Carolina residents grid. The same point is worth less at other GPAs, and most points move nothing at all — the grid steps rather than slopes, which is why the only score worth aiming at is the next threshold.
Does in-state or out-of-state change merit aid at Lander?
Yes. Lander publishes separate grids: South Carolina residents run $1,000 to $6,000 a year, and Non-residents run $500 to $4,000 — a difference of $2,000 a year at the top. Check which grid applies to you before planning around a figure.
Does Lander superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated. That matters more here than at most schools — the whole grid moves on the score, so a student sitting near a 20, 22, 26 or 30 should ask in writing whether sittings can be combined.
When are Lander scholarship deadlines?
Apply by this date to be considered automatically: May 1. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.
Is this Lander scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from Lander University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
You know what a score is worth at Lander. The question is whether you can move it.
A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Lander University