Western Oregon University: merit scholarships by GPA
Western Oregon University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 2.75 GPA and reach $12,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.
Read this first
WOU's own page contradicts itself on the floor: one sentence says the award needs an unweighted 3.0 or higher, while the resident grid's bottom row is 2.75 to 3.10 at $1,000. The grid is modelled here. The GPA is unweighted, so honours coursework does not help cross these rungs, and WUE students read the resident column rather than a reduced one.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — a 3.60 GPA
Merit Award
$2,000 a year / year
About $8,000 over four years, if it renews.
WOU awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.
The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published WOU merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from Western Oregon University’s own pages for 2026-27 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
Oregon residents and WUE students
WOU gives WUE students the same figures as Oregon residents, which is unusual among western publics.
$4,000 a year
Merit Award
No score needed
$2,000 a year
Merit Award
No score needed
$1,500 a year
Merit Award
No score needed
$1,000 a year
Merit Award
No score needed
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Merit Award | — | $4,000 a year |
| Merit Award | — | $2,000 a year |
| Merit Award | — | $1,500 a year |
| Merit Award | — | $1,000 a year |
Source: Merit scholarship — 2026-2027 · verified 2026-10-24
Non-residents
Larger figures against a larger sticker, and a higher floor — the non-resident column starts at a 3.00, not a 2.75.
$12,000 a year
Merit Award
No score needed
$10,000 a year
Merit Award
No score needed
$8,000 a year
Merit Award
No score needed
$5,000 a year
Merit Award
No score needed
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Merit Award | — | $12,000 a year |
| Merit Award | — | $10,000 a year |
| Merit Award | — | $8,000 a year |
| Merit Award | — | $5,000 a year |
Source: Merit scholarship — 2026-2027 · verified 2026-10-24
Does WOU superscore for scholarships?
Not stated, and it would not matter — the grid reads no score.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask WOU’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from Western Oregon University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- Merit scholarship — 2026-2027verified 2026-10-24
- Undergraduate admissions (catalog)verified 2026-10-24
- A 3.0 is worth $1,000 a year as a resident and $5,000 as a non-resident.
- WUE students read the resident column, not a reduced one — unusual among western publics.
- The resident grid opens at a 2.75, below the 3.0 that a sentence on the same page states as the minimum.
- The non-resident column has a higher floor: 3.00, with nothing published below it.
- The GPA is unweighted, so honours and AP coursework do not help cross the rungs.
- No rung reads an ACT score.
- Renewal needs a 3.0 WOU GPA and 36 credits a year, which is stricter than the award's own entry floor.
- Merit awards cannot be applied to study-abroad aid, and OHSU students are not eligible.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Western Oregon University.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at WOU?
Western Oregon University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.
Is WOU test-optional?
WOU states that submitting ACT or SAT scores is optional for freshman applicants. For merit aid the answer is different: neither column names a score. The only number that moves this award is the unweighted high school GPA. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at WOU?
On WOU's published grid for 2026-27 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Oregon residents and WUE students — Merit Award at $2,000 a year, about $8,000 over four years if it renews; Non-residents — Merit Award at $8,000 a year, about $32,000 over four years if it renews.
Does in-state or out-of-state change merit aid at WOU?
Yes. WOU publishes separate grids: Oregon residents and WUE students run $1,000 to $4,000 a year, and Non-residents run $5,000 to $12,000 — a difference of $8,000 a year at the top. Check which grid applies to you before planning around a figure.
Does WOU superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated, and it would not matter — the grid reads no score.
Is this WOU scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from Western Oregon University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
WOU awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.
Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though WOU is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Western Oregon University