Huntington University: merit scholarships by GPA

Verified Oct 23, 20262026-27 entryACT not used for meritHuntington, IN

Huntington University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 2.9 GPA and reach $15,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.

Read this first

An ACT score is worth nothing toward Huntington's Freshman Academic Award — the table has one axis, high school GPA, and HU states that all full-time students are eligible for academic scholarships regardless of test scores. The grid is automatic with no application. Note the cycle: HU labels these figures as applying to incoming freshmen in the 2026-27 academic year, while its Scholars Day registration is already running for Fall 2027 entry, so a student applying now should confirm the amounts have not moved.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — a 3.60 GPA

Dean's Scholarship

$13,000 / year

About $52,000 over four years, if it renews.

Huntington awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.

The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published Huntington merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Huntington University’s own pages for 2026-27 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Freshman Academic Awards

Every regularly admitted freshman receives exactly one of these five, chosen by high school GPA, with no application and no score. Huntington's Forester Fund grants — out-of-state, alumni, United Brethren, hometown — add on top of whichever row you land on.

  • $15,000

    President's Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.95

  • $13,000

    Dean's Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.60

  • $12,000

    Faculty Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.30

  • $10,000

    Trustee Grant

    No score needed · GPA 2.90

  • $6,000

    Merillat Grant

    No score needed · GPA 0.00

Source: Undergraduate Financial Aid — Freshman Academic Awards table · verified 2026-10-23

Does Huntington superscore for scholarships?

Not stated, and at Huntington it is close to moot. The word superscore appears nowhere on HU's financial aid page, its test-optional FAQ or its Scholars Day page — and since the academic award is decided on GPA alone, a higher combined score would have nothing to attach to.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Huntington’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Huntington scholarship deadlines

Entry termDue
Test scores submitted or updated, if you are sending them at allMarch 1 of your senior year
FAFSA, for need-based aid and Indiana state grantsApril 15
Global Christian Leadership Scholarship application (international and mission-oriented students)March 1
Matching Church Grant commitment submittedAugust 1
Huntington Scholars Day, one of three dates, for Fall 2027 entryFriday, November 6, 2026, Friday, February 5, 2027, or Friday, March 19, 2027

Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Huntington University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • Huntington Scholars Day is the only ACT-adjacent money at HU, and it is not ACT-keyed either: the invitation needs a 3.6 high school GPA and admission, the award is decided from a recorded video interview, and "15 scholarships, including 1 full-tuition scholarship, will be awarded to participants". A limited number decided by committee is not a lookup, so it is not in the grid.
  • Scholars Day money does stack: "scholarships awarded from this event will stack with academic & athletic scholarships."
  • The $2,000 Out of State Grant is additive to the academic award but is explicitly "not stackable with athletic aid", and Indiana and international students are excluded.
  • Denominational money is real here. The Huntington University United Brethren Grant is $4,000 a year for a student who "regularly attends and is involved with a United Brethren in Christ Church", and the Church Service Grant is $1,000 for a dependent of a full-time minister or missionary.
  • The Matching Church Grant is capped at "up to $1,000 per school year" and needs the church's commitment by August 1 — a date that falls after most families have committed to a college.
  • Transfer students get a separate three-rung ladder keyed to cumulative college GPA — $14,000 at 3.5, $12,000 at 2.8–3.49, $10,000 at 2.0–2.79 — capped at $14,000, and it requires sending official college transcripts. Do not read the freshman rows across.
  • Indiana state grants are state money, not Huntington money: HU lists Indiana State Grants at $700–$10,600, determined by the FAFSA and filed by April 15. The Frank O'Bannon Grant and 21st Century Scholars programs run through the state, and neither is part of this grid.
  • HU's own total investment figure for 2026-27 is $46,000 — $34,170 tuition plus $11,830 room and board, with basic fees at $0 — which is the number the $15,000 top band is set against.
  • Huntington is silent on the Enhanced ACT.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Huntington University.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Huntington?

Huntington University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is Huntington test-optional?

Optional for everyone, and HU offers a substitute rather than a penalty: an applicant without scores submits a 250-word essay on the supplemental application instead. Homeschooled and non-graded applicants apply the same way with a transcript showing a 2.3 GPA equivalent. For merit aid the answer is different: not used for the Freshman Academic Award. HU states the award is based on high school GPA and that eligibility for academic scholarships does not depend on scores. The one hedge worth knowing is that HU says submitting scores "may help identify additional scholarship opportunities" — it names none of them and publishes no amount, so nothing here depends on a score. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Huntington?

On Huntington's published grid for 2026-27 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Dean's Scholarship at $13,000 a year, about $52,000 over four years if it renews.

Does Huntington superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated, and at Huntington it is close to moot. The word superscore appears nowhere on HU's financial aid page, its test-optional FAQ or its Scholars Day page — and since the academic award is decided on GPA alone, a higher combined score would have nothing to attach to.

When are Huntington scholarship deadlines?

Test scores submitted or updated, if you are sending them at all: March 1 of your senior year. FAFSA, for need-based aid and Indiana state grants: April 15. Global Christian Leadership Scholarship application (international and mission-oriented students): March 1. Matching Church Grant commitment submitted: August 1. Huntington Scholars Day, one of three dates, for Fall 2027 entry: Friday, November 6, 2026, Friday, February 5, 2027, or Friday, March 19, 2027. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.

Is this Huntington scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Huntington University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-23. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

Huntington awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.

Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Huntington is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Huntington University