State University of New York at Brockport: merit scholarships by GPA
State University of New York at Brockport awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 85.0 GPA and reach $5,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.
Read this first
The GPA is a 100-POINT high school average, not a 4.0. Brockport says the thresholds "represent the typical applications who receive each award" rather than guaranteeing one. Two of its awards are ONE-TIME rather than annual — the NYS Eagle and the out-of-state Eagle — and the Residential Scholars Award is a single year of free housing, explicitly non-renewable.
Out of 100, the way New York high schools report it — which is how this school publishes its grid.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — a 3.60 GPA
No automatic award at this combination
A 29 with a 3.60 GPA does not reach the published grid under New York residents. That is not a verdict on admission — only on automatic merit.
SUNY Brockport awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.
The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published SUNY Brockport merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from State University of New York at Brockport’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
New York residents
Open floors rather than windows. Brockport's one-time awards are described in the notes rather than shown here, because this grid's figures are annual.
$4,500 a year
Gold Scholarship
No score needed
$2,500 a year
Green Scholarship
No score needed
$1,500 a year
Collegiate Scholarship
No score needed
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Gold Scholarship | — | $4,500 a year |
| Green Scholarship | — | $2,500 a year |
| Collegiate Scholarship | — | $1,500 a year |
Source: First-year and transfer scholarships · verified 2026-10-24
Non-residents
One annual award, and it pays more at an 88 than any New York rung pays at a 93.
$5,000 a year
Empire Scholarship
No score needed
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Empire Scholarship | — | $5,000 a year |
Source: First-year and transfer scholarships · verified 2026-10-24
Does SUNY Brockport superscore for scholarships?
Not stated, and it would not matter. No Brockport merit threshold reads a test score.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask SUNY Brockport’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
SUNY Brockport scholarship deadlines
| Entry term | Due |
|---|---|
| Final high school transcript | no later than two weeks before the semester of enrolment |
Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from State University of New York at Brockport’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- First-year and transfer scholarshipsverified 2026-10-24
- First-year scholarship terms — renewalverified 2026-10-24
- A non-resident with an 88 average receives $5,000 a year; a New York resident with the same 88 receives $2,500.
- Even a New York resident at a 93 receives $4,500 — less than the non-resident award at an 88.
- Brockport also publishes one-time awards that are not on this annual grid: the NYS Eagle at $1,000 and the out-of-state Eagle at $4,000, both single payments, and the Residential Scholars Award at a 96+ average, which is one year of free housing and explicitly non-renewable.
- Over four years a recurring $2,500 Green award is worth more than the one-time $4,000 Eagle, which is why the two are not ranked against each other here.
- The GPA is a 100-point average and the thresholds are open floors — 93+, 88+, 85+.
- Renewal requires a 3.25 college GPA, which is stricter than most grids in this dataset.
- The $6,000 Prometheus award is keyed to Honors College admission rather than an average, so it is not a band here.
- Brockport describes the thresholds as the typical profile of recipients rather than a guarantee.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with State University of New York at Brockport.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at SUNY Brockport?
State University of New York at Brockport publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.
Is SUNY Brockport test-optional?
Students may choose to submit SAT or ACT scores, and Brockport states that applicants without either remain eligible for these merit scholarships. For merit aid the answer is different: brockport states directly that students who apply without either exam are still eligible for these merit scholarships, and no score appears in any threshold. A score cannot move this grid. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
Does in-state or out-of-state change merit aid at SUNY Brockport?
Yes. SUNY Brockport publishes separate grids: New York residents run $1,500 to $4,500 a year, and Non-residents run $5,000 to $5,000 — a difference of $500 a year at the top. Check which grid applies to you before planning around a figure.
Does SUNY Brockport superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated, and it would not matter. No Brockport merit threshold reads a test score.
When are SUNY Brockport scholarship deadlines?
Final high school transcript: no later than two weeks before the semester of enrolment. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.
Is this SUNY Brockport scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from State University of New York at Brockport's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
SUNY Brockport awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.
Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though SUNY Brockport is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with State University of New York at Brockport