University of Massachusetts Dartmouth: merit scholarships by ACT score
University of Massachusetts Dartmouth publishes merit aid criteria as a published grid crossing ACT score with GPA. Awards start at an ACT of 20. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.
Read this first
UMass Dartmouth publishes the thresholds for all three awards and no dollar amount for any of them — the figures commonly quoted for these scholarships come from third-party sites rather than UMassD, so they are not carried here. The page also promises automatic consideration rather than a guaranteed award. Falling below the renewal conditions forfeits the scholarship permanently, with no route back.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA
Chancellor's Scholarship — on a score
Four years — UMass Dartmouth publishes no amount for this award
There is no higher band to reach at this GPA — more points would not change the award here. They may still matter for admission, for honours programmes, or at other schools on the list.
Knowing where a score sits is the easy part. Moving it starts with knowing exactly which questions they're being missed, and why.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
Can you get merit aid at UMassD without an ACT score?
Yes. A 25 stands in for a 3.8, a 22 for a 3.4 and a 20 for a 2.7 — three ACT points for roughly four tenths of a grade point, published three times over.
Read the two columns in the grid below as a trade. The same award is reachable either way — with a score at a lower GPA, or with no score at a higher one. A score is worth real money to a student whose GPA sits under the test-optional line, and worth little to one comfortably above it.
“students must meet one of the following requirements:”
The published UMassD merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from University of Massachusetts Dartmouth’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
Admissions merit scholarships
Each award is reachable on a score or on a GPA — UMassD says students must meet one of the requirements, not both. Four years, and forfeited permanently if the renewal conditions are missed.
Four years — UMass Dartmouth publishes no amount for this award
Chancellor's Scholarship — on a score
ACT 25–36 · No GPA needed on the score route
Without a score: not available
Four years — UMass Dartmouth publishes no amount for this award
Chancellor's Scholarship — on GPA
No score needed · GPA 3.80
Four years — UMass Dartmouth publishes no amount for this award
Dean's Scholarship — on a score
ACT 22–36 · No GPA needed on the score route
Without a score: not available
Four years — UMass Dartmouth publishes no amount for this award
Dean's Scholarship — on GPA
No score needed · GPA 3.40
Four years — UMass Dartmouth publishes no amount for this award
Admissions Award — on a score
ACT 20–36 · No GPA needed on the score route
Without a score: not available
Four years — UMass Dartmouth publishes no amount for this award
Admissions Award — on GPA
No score needed · GPA 2.70
| Award | With a score | No score | Per year |
|---|---|---|---|
| Chancellor's Scholarship — on a score | ACT 25–36 · No GPA needed on the score route | not available | Four years — UMass Dartmouth publishes no amount for this award |
| Chancellor's Scholarship — on GPA | — | GPA 3.80 | Four years — UMass Dartmouth publishes no amount for this award |
| Dean's Scholarship — on a score | ACT 22–36 · No GPA needed on the score route | not available | Four years — UMass Dartmouth publishes no amount for this award |
| Dean's Scholarship — on GPA | — | GPA 3.40 | Four years — UMass Dartmouth publishes no amount for this award |
| Admissions Award — on a score | ACT 20–36 · No GPA needed on the score route | not available | Four years — UMass Dartmouth publishes no amount for this award |
| Admissions Award — on GPA | — | GPA 2.70 | Four years — UMass Dartmouth publishes no amount for this award |
Source: Admissions merit scholarships · verified 2026-10-24
Does UMassD superscore for scholarships?
Not stated on UMassD's own pages. A third-party summary says it superscores both tests, which is not carried here.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask UMassD’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from University of Massachusetts Dartmouth’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- Admissions merit scholarshipsverified 2026-10-24
- Scholarshipsverified 2026-10-24
- Admissions requirementsverified 2026-10-24
- Each award takes a score or a GPA — UMassD says one of the requirements, not both.
- A 25 stands in for a 3.8, a 22 for a 3.4, and a 20 for a 2.7.
- A 20 with nothing else reaches an award, which is a low bar for a state university.
- UMass Dartmouth publishes no dollar amount for any of the three awards.
- Figures quoted elsewhere for these scholarships come from third-party sites, not UMassD.
- Falling below the renewal conditions forfeits the award permanently.
- Renewal needs 24 day credits a year and a cumulative 3.0.
- The SAT alternatives are 1200, 1100 and 1000.
- The University Commonwealth Scholarship covering mandatory tuition and fees is for Massachusetts residents and needs a weighted 3.75 or top-5% rank plus a 32 ACT, and is not confirmed automatic, so it is not a band here.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with University of Massachusetts Dartmouth.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at UMassD?
Automatic merit aid at University of Massachusetts Dartmouth starts at an ACT composite of 20, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches four years — umass dartmouth publishes no amount for this award at the top. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.
Is UMassD test-optional?
And on this grid the score is a published alternative to the GPA rather than an extra requirement. For merit aid the answer is different: a 25 stands in for a 3.8, a 22 for a 3.4 and a 20 for a 2.7 — three ACT points for roughly four tenths of a grade point, published three times over. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
Does UMassD superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated on UMassD's own pages. A third-party summary says it superscores both tests, which is not carried here.
Is this UMassD scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from University of Massachusetts Dartmouth's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
You know what a score is worth at UMassD. The question is whether you can move it.
A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with University of Massachusetts Dartmouth