Alabama A&M University: merit scholarships by ACT score
Alabama A&M University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid crossing ACT score with GPA. Awards start at an ACT of 23. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.
Read this first
Both awards pay a benefit rather than a dollar figure, so no annual amount is recorded — the Presidential covers tuition, room, board and fees plus a $1,000 book allowance each semester, and the Merit covers tuition. Both criteria are required on each. The renewal is the part to plan around: 30 credit hours per ACADEMIC YEAR counting fall and spring only, which two 15-hour semesters exactly meets and a single dropped course breaks. The Merit renewal GPA is 3.10 rather than the usual 3.0. AAMU's application links are dated 2026-2027.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA
AAMU Merit Scholarship
Covers the cost of tuition
There is no higher band to reach at this GPA — more points would not change the award here. They may still matter for admission, for honours programmes, or at other schools on the list.
Knowing where a score sits is the easy part. Moving it starts with knowing exactly which questions they're being missed, and why.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published Alabama A&M merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from Alabama A&M University’s own pages for 2026-2027 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
Academic scholarships
AAMU says it offers seven levels of academic scholarship to in-state and out-of-state students. The two with both a published GPA and a published ACT floor are modelled here.
Covers the cost of tuition, room, board and fees, plus a $1,000 book allowance per semester
AAMU Presidential Scholarship
ACT 28–36 · High School GPA of 3.75 or above
Covers the cost of tuition
AAMU Merit Scholarship
ACT 23–36 · High School GPA of 3.25 or above
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| AAMU Presidential Scholarship | ACT 28–36 · High School GPA of 3.75 or above | Covers the cost of tuition, room, board and fees, plus a $1,000 book allowance per semester |
| AAMU Merit Scholarship | ACT 23–36 · High School GPA of 3.25 or above | Covers the cost of tuition |
Source: Scholarships — academic scholarship grid and criteria · verified 2026-10-21
Does Alabama A&M superscore for scholarships?
Not stated. The criteria are written as single ACT scores with no indication of whether sittings may be combined.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Alabama A&M’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from Alabama A&M University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- Neither award is a dollar figure: one covers tuition, room, board and fees; the other covers tuition.
- 30 credit hours a year across fall and spring only means 15 and 15, so there is no slack in the renewal.
- The Merit renewal GPA is 3.10, slightly above the 3.0 most schools in this dataset use.
- The Presidential adds a $1,000 book allowance per semester on top of the cost it covers.
- AAMU says it offers seven levels of academic scholarship; only the two with both a GPA and an ACT floor published are modelled here.
- The Normalite Opportunity Scholarship pays $8,610 a year to students from outside Alabama, and the Academic Recognition Scholarship pays $4,000 in-state or $5,000 out-of-state.
- Application links on the page are dated 2026-2027.
- Alabama A&M is silent on the Enhanced ACT.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Alabama A&M University.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Alabama A&M?
Automatic merit aid at Alabama A&M University starts at an ACT composite of 23, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches covers the cost of tuition, room, board and fees, plus a $1,000 book allowance per semester at the top. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.
Is Alabama A&M test-optional?
Not stated on the scholarship page. Both modelled awards require a score alongside the GPA. For merit aid the answer is different: required for both automatic awards: the Presidential needs a 28 and the Merit a 23, each on top of a GPA floor. No test-optional route to either is published. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
Does Alabama A&M superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated. The criteria are written as single ACT scores with no indication of whether sittings may be combined.
Is this Alabama A&M scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from Alabama A&M University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-21. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
You know what a score is worth at Alabama A&M. The question is whether you can move it.
A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Alabama A&M University