Grand Canyon University: merit scholarships by ACT score

Verified Oct 24, 2026Current cyclePhoenix, AZ

Grand Canyon University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid crossing ACT score with GPA. Awards start at an ACT of 19 and reach $7,250 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.

Read this first

Each tier below the top can be reached on GPA or on a score, and the score route carries a 2.5 unweighted GPA floor that GCU states in a footnote. The top Chancellor award has no score route at all. GCU also contradicts itself on weighting — the body text says awards are primarily on unweighted GPA while a footnote says Chancellor is the only level requiring one. The awards are for traditional undergraduates at the main campus, and Chancellor awards are first-come, first-served.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA

Provost's Scholarship — on ACT

$5,000 a year / year

About $20,000 over four years, if it renews.

What the next points are worth

2 more points (a 31) moves you to President's Scholarship — on ACT — $6,000 a year a year. That is $1,000 more a year, or $4,000 over four years.

The question isn't whether 2 points is worth having. It's whether they can move them — which starts with knowing exactly which questions they're missing, and why.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

Can you get merit aid at GCU without an ACT score?

Yes. A score is a full alternative route to every tier except the top one. A 2.6 GPA with a 27 reaches $5,000 a year, which no GPA route at that transcript pays. The score route needs a 2.5 unweighted GPA alongside it.

Read the two columns in the grid below as a trade. The same award is reachable either way — with a score at a lower GPA, or with no score at a higher one. A score is worth real money to a student whose GPA sits under the test-optional line, and worth little to one comfortably above it.

The published GCU merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Grand Canyon University’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Freshman academic scholarships

Awarded automatically once transcripts are submitted, with no separate application. Renewable annually for up to eight semesters.

  • $7,250 a year

    Chancellor Scholarship — on GPA

    No score needed · GPA 4.00

  • $6,000 a year

    President's Scholarship — on ACT

    ACT 31–36 · 2.50+ unweighted, the floor GCU sets for the score route

    Without a score: not available

  • $6,000 a year

    President's Scholarship — on GPA

    No score needed · GPA 3.90

  • $5,000 a year

    Provost's Scholarship — on ACT

    ACT 27–36 · 2.50+ unweighted, the floor GCU sets for the score route

    Without a score: not available

  • $5,000 a year

    Provost's Scholarship — on GPA

    No score needed · GPA 3.70

  • $4,000 a year

    Dean's Scholarship — on ACT

    ACT 22–36 · 2.50+ unweighted, the floor GCU sets for the score route

    Without a score: not available

  • $4,000 a year

    Dean's Scholarship — on GPA

    No score needed · GPA 3.30

  • $3,000 a year

    Faculty Scholarship — on ACT

    ACT 19–36 · 2.50+ unweighted, the floor GCU sets for the score route

    Without a score: not available

  • $3,000 a year

    Faculty Scholarship — on GPA

    No score needed · GPA 3.00

  • $1,000 a year

    Antelope Scholarship — on GPA

    No score needed · GPA 2.80

Source: Scholarships for incoming freshmen · verified 2026-10-24

Does GCU superscore for scholarships?

Not stated on GCU's own pages, and third-party sources disagree — so a student near a threshold should ask directly.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask GCU’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

GCU scholarship deadlines

Entry termDue
Chancellor awardsFirst-come, first-served — no date published

Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Grand Canyon University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • A 19 composite reaches $3,000 a year — the lowest score on the grid that pays anything.
  • A 2.6 GPA with a 27 reaches $5,000 a year, which no GPA route at that transcript would pay.
  • The score route requires a 2.5 unweighted GPA alongside it.
  • The top Chancellor award at $7,250 has no score route — only a 4.0 unweighted reaches it.
  • A separate Chancellor award pays $6,250 for an IB diploma, which is a credential rather than a threshold.
  • The lowest GPA rung, Antelope at $1,000, is also the only tier with no score route below the top.
  • GCU contradicts itself on whether the whole grid is unweighted or only the Chancellor level.
  • The awards are for traditional undergraduates at the main campus, and the student must graduate within a stated window before enrolling.
  • The Colangelo award replaces all other GCU institutional aid rather than stacking, so it is not a band here.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Grand Canyon University.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at GCU?

Automatic merit aid at Grand Canyon University starts at an ACT composite of 19, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches $7,250 a year at the top. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.

Is GCU test-optional?

A score is one of two routes in: a 3.0 alone, or a 2.5 with a qualifying score. For merit aid the answer is different: a score is a full alternative route to every tier except the top one. A 2.6 GPA with a 27 reaches $5,000 a year, which no GPA route at that transcript pays. The score route needs a 2.5 unweighted GPA alongside it. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at GCU?

On GCU's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Provost's Scholarship — on ACT at $5,000 a year, about $20,000 over four years if it renews.

How much is one more ACT point worth at GCU?

The most valuable single point on GCU's published grid is 18 to 19, at a 2.8 GPA: it moves the award by $2,000 a year, or $8,000 across a four-year degree. The same point is worth less at other GPAs, and most points move nothing at all — the grid steps rather than slopes, which is why the only score worth aiming at is the next threshold.

Does GCU superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated on GCU's own pages, and third-party sources disagree — so a student near a threshold should ask directly.

When are GCU scholarship deadlines?

Chancellor awards: First-come, first-served — no date published. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.

Is this GCU scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Grand Canyon University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

You know what a score is worth at GCU. The question is whether you can move it.

A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Grand Canyon University