Oklahoma City University: merit scholarships by GPA

Verified Oct 24, 2026Current cycleACT not used for meritOklahoma City, OK

Oklahoma City University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 3.0 GPA and reach $13,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.

Read this first

The award depends on the MAJOR as much as the GPA — performing arts students receive roughly half the Arts & Sciences, Business and Nursing figure at every tier. OCU also recalculates the GPA with its own weighting, so the number that decides the award is not the one on the transcript.

Which grid applies?
29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — a 3.60 GPA

University Academic Award

$10,500 / year

About $42,000 over four years, if it renews.

Oklahoma City awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.

The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published Oklahoma City merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Oklahoma City University’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Arts & Sciences, Business and Nursing majors

OCU recalculates the GPA, weighting Pre-AP, Pre-IB and Honors courses on a 4.5 scale and AP, IB and concurrent courses on a 5.0 scale.

  • $13,000

    Presidential Academic Award

    No score needed

  • $10,500

    University Academic Award

    No score needed

  • $8,000

    Achievement Academic Award

    No score needed

Source: Automatic merit scholarships · verified 2026-10-24

Dance & Entertainment, Music and Theatre majors

Roughly half the academic ladder at every tier. Performing arts students are typically also considered for talent awards, which are separate from this grid.

  • $6,000

    Performing Arts Presidential Award

    No score needed

  • $5,000

    Performing Arts University Award

    No score needed

  • $3,000

    Performing Arts Achievement Award

    No score needed

Source: Automatic merit scholarships · verified 2026-10-24

Does Oklahoma City superscore for scholarships?

Not stated, and it cannot matter. Both ladders are keyed to GPA alone.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Oklahoma City’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Oklahoma City scholarship deadlines

Entry termDue
Scholarship deadlineMarch 1

Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Oklahoma City University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • A performing arts major receives roughly half the award of an Arts & Sciences, Business or Nursing major at the same GPA.
  • OCU recalculates the GPA with its own weighting — 4.5 for Pre-AP, Pre-IB and Honors, 5.0 for AP, IB and concurrent courses — so the deciding number is usually higher than the transcript figure.
  • An OKCPS Scholarship adds $3,000 to $5,000 a year for Oklahoma City Public Schools graduates in Arts & Sciences, Business or Nursing. It stacks and is restricted, so it is not a band here, and it may not be combined with the Clara Luper or American Indian scholarships.
  • OCU states that the application to OCU doubles as the scholarship application.
  • The renewal GPA is 3.0 UNWEIGHTED, which is a stricter measure than the recalculated weighted GPA used to win the award.
  • The award renews for seven semesters, not eight.
  • OCU's hub page advertises 'up to $13,000 per year', which is simply the top of the grid.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Oklahoma City University.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Oklahoma City?

Oklahoma City University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is Oklahoma City test-optional?

The merit scholarship page does not state the admission testing requirement, so nothing is claimed about it here. For merit aid the answer is different: oCU states that the academic merit scholarship is based on grade-point average. No tier on either ladder names a test score. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Oklahoma City?

On Oklahoma City's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Arts & Sciences, Business and Nursing majors — University Academic Award at $10,500 a year, about $42,000 over four years if it renews; Dance & Entertainment, Music and Theatre majors — Performing Arts University Award at $5,000 a year, about $20,000 over four years if it renews.

Does Oklahoma City superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated, and it cannot matter. Both ladders are keyed to GPA alone.

When are Oklahoma City scholarship deadlines?

Scholarship deadline: March 1. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.

Is this Oklahoma City scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Oklahoma City University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

Oklahoma City awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.

Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Oklahoma City is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Oklahoma City University