Eastern Illinois University: merit scholarships by GPA
Eastern Illinois University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 3.0 GPA and reach $4,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.
Read this first
No test score is used. EIU's automatic merit runs on the high school GPA alone, and EIU says in so many words that a student can be admitted and qualify for these scholarships without test scores. The figures below are EIU's own annual amounts; the four-year totals it prints beside them are those amounts over eight consecutive fall and spring semesters.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — a 3.60 GPA
High Achieving Merit Scholarship
$3,500 annually / year
About $14,000 over four years, if it renews.
Eastern Illinois awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.
The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published Eastern Illinois merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from Eastern Illinois University’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
Automatic Merit Scholarships
Offered at the time of admission with no separate application. Every band here is reachable with no test score, because EIU uses none. International undergraduates on F1 or J1 visas are excluded.
$4,000 annually
Distinguished Merit Scholarship
No score needed · GPA 3.75
$3,500 annually
High Achieving Merit Scholarship
No score needed · GPA 3.50
$3,000 annually
Academic Merit Scholarship
No score needed · GPA 3.00
| Award | With a score | No score | Per year |
|---|---|---|---|
| Distinguished Merit Scholarship | — | GPA 3.75 | $4,000 annually |
| High Achieving Merit Scholarship | — | GPA 3.50 | $3,500 annually |
| Academic Merit Scholarship | — | GPA 3.00 | $3,000 annually |
Source: Automatic Merit Scholarships — GPA and award table · verified 2026-10-23
Does Eastern Illinois superscore for scholarships?
Not stated. The word does not appear on EIU's automatic-merit page or its admission-requirements page — and it is moot, because no EIU merit band uses a score for anything.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Eastern Illinois’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
Eastern Illinois scholarship deadlines
| Entry term | Due |
|---|---|
| Admitted by this date to qualify for the Fall term | August 1 |
| Transcripts can be updated through this point, to qualify or to qualify for a higher amount (terms other than Fall) | The first day of class |
| Accept your award offer — offers with limited funding are cancelled after this date | June 1 |
Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from Eastern Illinois University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- Automatic Merit Scholarships — GPA and award tableverified 2026-10-23
- First-year Student Scholarshipsverified 2026-10-23
- First Year & Transfer Admission Requirementsverified 2026-10-23
- Scholarship Timelines — institutional scholarships and aidverified 2026-10-23
- No ACT or SAT score affects these awards. A 36 and a 20 are worth exactly the same at EIU; only the GPA moves the money.
- The renewal GPA is lower than the GPA that earned the award, and it drops with the tier — 3.0, 2.75, 2.5 — so the awards are easier to keep than most in this dataset.
- Admission by August 1 is the gate for the Fall term. For other terms a transcript can be updated through the first day of class, and a better transcript can move a student to a higher amount.
- International undergraduates on current F1 or J1 visas are not eligible for freshman merit scholarships at all, whatever the GPA.
- The award may appear split across several line items on the aid letter; EIU says the pieces add up to the full annual value.
- A student who misses the merit GPA but shows leadership and involvement can be given the $4,000 Student Success & Engagement Award instead — a separate award, not a fourth tier of this grid.
- Illinois residents with a 3.3 GPA also receive $300 a year for four years as a Textbook Rental Grant, and a 4.0 student living on campus receives a $2,000 Residential Scholar Award. Both sit outside the merit grid.
- EIU Promise, Panther Promise and Local Scholars are need- or county-based last-dollar programmes rather than merit awards, and the Illinois state aid behind some of them is not EIU's money.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Eastern Illinois University.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Eastern Illinois?
Eastern Illinois University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.
Is Eastern Illinois test-optional?
Optional, with two published routes. Without a score, a 2.8 GPA plus the college-preparatory course list meets EIU's guaranteed admission criteria, and 2.5 to 2.79 goes to review. With a score, the standard route is a 2.5 GPA and an 18 ACT. For merit aid the answer is different: not used at all. The merit table has one criterion, the high school GPA, and EIU's admissions page states outright that a student can qualify for Merit Scholarships without test scores. A score can only affect which admission route is used, never the award amount. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Eastern Illinois?
On Eastern Illinois's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for High Achieving Merit Scholarship at $3,500 a year, about $14,000 over four years if it renews.
Does Eastern Illinois superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated. The word does not appear on EIU's automatic-merit page or its admission-requirements page — and it is moot, because no EIU merit band uses a score for anything.
When are Eastern Illinois scholarship deadlines?
Admitted by this date to qualify for the Fall term: August 1. Transcripts can be updated through this point, to qualify or to qualify for a higher amount (terms other than Fall): The first day of class. Accept your award offer — offers with limited funding are cancelled after this date: June 1. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.
Is this Eastern Illinois scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from Eastern Illinois University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-23. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
Eastern Illinois awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.
Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Eastern Illinois is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Eastern Illinois University