Jackson State University: merit scholarships by ACT score

Verified Oct 25, 2026Current cycleCompetitive, not guaranteedJackson, MS

Jackson State University publishes merit aid criteria as a published grid crossing ACT score with GPA. Awards start at an ACT of 23 and reach Tuition only. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.

Read this first

These awards are not automatic. Jackson State says they are limited based on availability of funding, each has an application window of November 1 to February 1, and the Tuition Award requires a supplemental application — so clearing a threshold starts a process rather than producing an award. The GPA is a College Preparatory Curriculum GPA recalculated by Admissions, not the transcript average. Jackson State's catalogue contradicts its scholarships page on the top two tiers, putting Presidential at a 28 and giving Provost room and board; the scholarships page is followed here. The Tuition Award listing is dated 2020. Jackson State prints it as a closed 23-to-24 window, but the Provost award above it needs a 3.25 — so a student at a 3.0 with a 25 falls between the two published rows. It is read as a floor here, which keeps a higher score from paying less.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA

Provost Academic Scholarship

Tuition only

There is no higher band to reach at this GPA — more points would not change the award here. They may still matter for admission, for honours programmes, or at other schools on the list.

Knowing where a score sits is the easy part. Moving it starts with knowing exactly which questions they're being missed, and why.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published Jackson State merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Jackson State University’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Academic scholarships

Application window November 1 to February 1, with notification by February 15 and seven business days to respond. Renewable with a 3.0 institutional GPA and 30 credit hours a year.

  • Full tuition, fees, room and board

    Presidential Academic Scholarship

    ACT 32–36 · 3.50+ College Preparatory Curriculum GPA with a 32 or better

  • Tuition only

    Provost Academic Scholarship

    ACT 25–36 · 3.25+ College Preparatory Curriculum GPA with a 25 or better

  • $1,000 toward tuition, excluding non-resident fees

    First Time Freshman Tuition Award

    ACT 23–36 · 3.00+ College Preparatory Curriculum GPA with a 23 or better

Source: Financial aid scholarships · verified 2026-10-25

Does Jackson State superscore for scholarships?

Not stated. With thresholds at 32, 25 and 23, a student near any of them should ask directly.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Jackson State’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Jackson State scholarship deadlines

Entry termDue
Application windowNovember 1 to February 1
Notification, with seven business days to respondBy February 15

Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Jackson State University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • These awards are not automatic — each has an application window and they are limited by funding.
  • A 23 with a 3.0 is $1,000; a 25 with a 3.25 is tuition; a 32 with a 3.5 is tuition, fees, room and board.
  • Seven ACT points separate a thousand dollars from a full ride.
  • The GPA is a College Preparatory Curriculum GPA recalculated by Admissions.
  • Missing the February 1 window forfeits the award regardless of score.
  • Notification comes by February 15, with seven business days to respond.
  • Jackson State's catalogue contradicts its scholarships page on the top two tiers.
  • The Tuition Award excludes non-resident fees, and its listing is dated 2020.
  • Jackson State prints that award as a closed 23-to-24 window while the tier above it needs a 3.25, so a 3.0 with a 25 falls in a gap; it is read as a floor here.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Jackson State University.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Jackson State?

Automatic merit aid at Jackson State University starts at an ACT composite of 23, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches tuition only at the top. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.

Is Jackson State test-optional?

Jackson State's admission testing requirement is not stated on the scholarship pages, so nothing is claimed about it here. For merit aid the answer is different: every tier names an ACT floor, so a student with no score reaches none of them. Seven ACT points separate the $1,000 award from one covering tuition, fees, room and board. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

Does Jackson State superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated. With thresholds at 32, 25 and 23, a student near any of them should ask directly.

When are Jackson State scholarship deadlines?

Application window: November 1 to February 1. Notification, with seven business days to respond: By February 15. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.

Is this Jackson State scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Jackson State University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-25. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

You know what a score is worth at Jackson State. The question is whether you can move it.

A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Jackson State University