Alcorn State University: merit scholarships by ACT score
Alcorn State University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid crossing ACT score with GPA. Awards start at an ACT of 22 and reach $18,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.
Read this first
The two largest awards are published as "up to" figures AND are reduced when a student receives a Pell Grant, so they shrink for the families they would help most. A FAFSA is required. Only the $5,000 University Scholar award is a flat amount. An application must be on file by April 1, and every tier requires a test score — there is no GPA-only route.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA
President's Excellence Scholarship
Up to $18,000 per year / year
About $72,000 over four years, if it renews.
There is no higher band to reach at this GPA — more points would not change the award here. They may still matter for admission, for honours programmes, or at other schools on the list.
Knowing where a score sits is the easy part. Moving it starts with knowing exactly which questions they're being missed, and why.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published Alcorn merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from Alcorn State University’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
Freshman academic scholarships
Every tier needs a 3.0 GPA and a test score together. The score windows are printed as closed ranges, and the step from a 23 to a 24 is the largest on any grid in this dataset.
Up to $18,000 per year
President's Excellence Scholarship
ACT 28–36 · 3.00+ with the score
Up to $15,000 per year
Provost Scholar Scholarship
ACT 24–27 · 3.00+ with the score
$5,000 per year
University Scholar Scholarship
ACT 22–23 · 3.00+ with the score
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| President's Excellence Scholarship | ACT 28–36 · 3.00+ with the score | Up to $18,000 per year |
| Provost Scholar Scholarship | ACT 24–27 · 3.00+ with the score | Up to $15,000 per year |
| University Scholar Scholarship | ACT 22–23 · 3.00+ with the score | $5,000 per year |
Source: Scholarship requirements — freshman academic awards · verified 2026-10-24
Does Alcorn superscore for scholarships?
Not stated. Alcorn names composite windows but never addresses superscoring, which matters here because the windows are narrow and the steps between them are large.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Alcorn’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
Alcorn scholarship deadlines
| Entry term | Due |
|---|---|
| Application on file | April 1 |
Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from Alcorn State University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- Scholarship requirements — freshman academic awardsverified 2026-10-24
- Admissions requirementsverified 2026-10-24
- From a 23 to a 24 is worth $10,000 a year — the largest single-point step in this dataset.
- From a 27 to a 28 adds a further $3,000 a year.
- A score is mandatory at every tier. A 4.0 with no ACT reaches nothing.
- The President's Excellence and Provost Scholar awards are "up to" figures and are reduced when a student receives a Pell Grant.
- Only the $5,000 University Scholar award is a flat amount.
- The 24–27 and 22–23 windows are printed as closed ranges on the page, so they are not floors.
- SAT equivalents use reading and math only.
- A FAFSA and an application on file by April 1 are both required.
- The page says "on a 4.0 scale" but does not say whether the GPA is weighted.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Alcorn State University.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Alcorn?
Automatic merit aid at Alcorn State University starts at an ACT composite of 22, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches $18,000 a year at the top. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.
Is Alcorn test-optional?
Alcorn publishes several admission routes — one on the College Prep Curriculum with a 3.2 GPA, others requiring a 16 or 18 ACT — and never uses the phrase test-optional, so the policy is not claimed here. For merit aid the answer is different: every tier is defined by an ACT or SAT composite, and no tier publishes a GPA-only route. A student with a 4.0 and no score reaches nothing on this grid, and a single point from a 23 to a 24 moves the award by $10,000 a year. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Alcorn?
On Alcorn's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for President's Excellence Scholarship at $18,000 a year, about $72,000 over four years if it renews.
How much is one more ACT point worth at Alcorn?
The most valuable single point on Alcorn's published grid is 23 to 24, at a 3.0 GPA: it moves the award by $10,000 a year, or $40,000 across a four-year degree. The same point is worth less at other GPAs, and most points move nothing at all — the grid steps rather than slopes, which is why the only score worth aiming at is the next threshold.
Does Alcorn superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated. Alcorn names composite windows but never addresses superscoring, which matters here because the windows are narrow and the steps between them are large.
When are Alcorn scholarship deadlines?
Application on file: April 1. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.
Is this Alcorn scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from Alcorn State University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
You know what a score is worth at Alcorn. The question is whether you can move it.
A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Alcorn State University