Indiana University Southeast: merit scholarships by GPA

Verified Oct 24, 20262027–28 (Fall 2027 and Spring 2028 only) entryACT not used for meritNew Albany, IN

Indiana University Southeast awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 3.25 GPA and reach $1,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.

Read this first

The automatic award is for INDIANA RESIDENTS only. Kentucky students must apply for a KEES match whose amount varies, and students from other states have no automatic award here. The GPA is unweighted.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — a 3.60 GPA

Indiana Merit Scholarship

$500 / year

About $2,000 over four years, if it renews.

IU Southeast awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.

The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.

Who's this for?
IU Southeast’s chancellor's merit scholarship application (competitive, five per year) is December 1 — 34 days. The next ACT is 12/12 and scores take up to four weeks, so they would arrive after that date. The score they has now is the one this deadline uses.
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published IU Southeast merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Indiana University Southeast’s own pages for 2027–28 (Fall 2027 and Spring 2028 only) entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Indiana residents

IU Southeast labels this an auto award for qualifying Indiana residents. The admission deadline is the whole process.

  • $1,000

    Indiana Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $500

    Indiana Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

Source: Scholarships · verified 2026-10-24

Does IU Southeast superscore for scholarships?

Not stated, and it would not matter. The automatic grid uses no test score at all.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask IU Southeast’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

IU Southeast scholarship deadlines

Entry termDue
Admission deadline for the Indiana Merit ScholarshipJuly 31
Chancellor's Merit Scholarship application (competitive, five per year)December 1

Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Indiana University Southeast’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • The automatic award is for Indiana residents only.
  • Renewal is harder than qualifying: a student can win the award at a 3.25 and then needs a 3.0 college GPA and 30 credits a year to keep it. Thirty credits is a fifteen-hour load each semester, not the twelve that counts as full time.
  • The GPA is unweighted.
  • Kentucky residents can apply for a KEES match, but the amount varies and it is not automatic.
  • The Chancellor's Merit Scholarship pays $2,500 but is competitive — five awarded a year — and needs an application by December 1.
  • The amounts are modest compared with flagship grids, which is a real finding rather than missing data.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Indiana University Southeast.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at IU Southeast?

Indiana University Southeast publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is IU Southeast test-optional?

The scholarship page does not state the admission testing requirement, so nothing is claimed about it here. For merit aid the answer is different: neither rung names a test score. The published criteria are an unweighted high school GPA and Indiana residency, so an ACT cannot move this award. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at IU Southeast?

On IU Southeast's published grid for 2027–28 (Fall 2027 and Spring 2028 only) entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Indiana Merit Scholarship at $500 a year, about $2,000 over four years if it renews.

Does IU Southeast superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated, and it would not matter. The automatic grid uses no test score at all.

When are IU Southeast scholarship deadlines?

Admission deadline for the Indiana Merit Scholarship: July 31. Chancellor's Merit Scholarship application (competitive, five per year): December 1. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.

Is this IU Southeast scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Indiana University Southeast's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

IU Southeast awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.

Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though IU Southeast is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Indiana University Southeast