LSU New Orleans: merit scholarships by ACT score
LSU New Orleans awards automatic merit aid from a published grid crossing ACT score with GPA. Awards start at an ACT of 20 and reach $5,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.
Read this first
Every figure on this page is a FOUR-YEAR TOTAL as the school publishes it; the annual amount is that divided by four. LSU New Orleans does not publish an entry year for the grid, and does not publish the renewal condition that would make the four-year total reliable. Spring entrants are not eligible for institutional scholarships.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA
Provost Scholarship
$16,000 over four years ($4,000 a year) / year
About $16,000 over four years, if it renews.
What the next points are worth
1 more point (a 30) moves you to President Scholarship — $20,000 over four years ($5,000 a year) a year. That is $1,000 more a year, or $4,000 over four years.
The question isn't whether a point is worth having. It's whether they can move it — which starts with knowing exactly which questions they're missing, and why.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
Can you get merit aid at LSU New Orleans without an ACT score?
Yes. Every tier publishes a GPA-only alternative to its score route, so a student with no test score can still reach the top award at a 3.90. A score lowers the GPA needed rather than unlocking anything a GPA cannot.
Read the two columns in the grid below as a trade. The same award is reachable either way — with a score at a lower GPA, or with no score at a higher one. A score is worth real money to a student whose GPA sits under the test-optional line, and worth little to one comfortably above it.
“30 ACT/1360 SAT and 3.0 GPA (OR) 3.90 - 4.00, Non-weighted, Cumulative GPA only”
The published LSU New Orleans merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from LSU New Orleans’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
First-year scholarships
Each tier is reachable either with a score and a GPA, or on a non-weighted cumulative GPA alone. The higher of the two is what a student receives; they do not stack.
$20,000 over four years ($5,000 a year)
President Scholarship
ACT 30–36 · 3.00+ with a score
Without a score: GPA 3.90
$20,000 over four years ($5,000 a year)
President Scholarship (no test score)
No score needed
$16,000 over four years ($4,000 a year)
Provost Scholarship
ACT 26–36 · 3.00+ with a score
Without a score: GPA 3.60
$16,000 over four years ($4,000 a year)
Provost Scholarship (no test score)
No score needed
$12,000 over four years ($3,000 a year)
Dean Scholarship
ACT 24–36 · 2.75+ with a score
Without a score: GPA 3.30
$12,000 over four years ($3,000 a year)
Dean Scholarship (no test score)
No score needed
$4,000 over four years ($1,000 a year)
Academic Scholarship
ACT 20–36 · 2.75+ with a score
Without a score: GPA 3.00
$4,000 over four years ($1,000 a year)
Academic Scholarship (no test score)
No score needed
| Award | With a score | No score | Per year |
|---|---|---|---|
| President Scholarship | ACT 30–36 · 3.00+ with a score | GPA 3.90 | $20,000 over four years ($5,000 a year) |
| President Scholarship (no test score) | — | not available | $20,000 over four years ($5,000 a year) |
| Provost Scholarship | ACT 26–36 · 3.00+ with a score | GPA 3.60 | $16,000 over four years ($4,000 a year) |
| Provost Scholarship (no test score) | — | not available | $16,000 over four years ($4,000 a year) |
| Dean Scholarship | ACT 24–36 · 2.75+ with a score | GPA 3.30 | $12,000 over four years ($3,000 a year) |
| Dean Scholarship (no test score) | — | not available | $12,000 over four years ($3,000 a year) |
| Academic Scholarship | ACT 20–36 · 2.75+ with a score | GPA 3.00 | $4,000 over four years ($1,000 a year) |
| Academic Scholarship (no test score) | — | not available | $4,000 over four years ($1,000 a year) |
Source: Scholarships and awards · verified 2026-10-24
Does LSU New Orleans superscore for scholarships?
Not stated. Neither the scholarship page nor the admissions page addresses superscoring, so a student planning a retake should ask in writing before relying on one.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask LSU New Orleans’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
LSU New Orleans scholarship deadlines
| Entry term | Due |
|---|---|
| Admissions application and acceptance deadline for the merit tiers | July 15 |
| Homer Hitt Scholarship — final application | February 1 |
Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from LSU New Orleans’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- Every amount is published as a four-year total. The annual figure is that divided by four.
- The GPA used on the no-test route is a NON-WEIGHTED cumulative GPA, which is not the weighted GPA most high schools report.
- Score thresholds are floors, not windows — a 30 with a 3.0 reaches President, not Provost.
- The Out-of-State Promise award has criteria identical to Provost and is also worth $16,000 over four years. The page does not say whether a non-resident receives it instead of, or in addition to, Provost, so it is not modelled as a band.
- The Homer Hitt Scholarship, at a 32 ACT and a 3.5 GPA, requires an interview and is not automatic, so it is not a band on this grid.
- Spring entrants are not eligible for institutional scholarships.
- LSU New Orleans was formerly the University of New Orleans, and the scholarship page now sits on lsuneworleans.edu.
- The renewal rules are published in a separate document that could not be read, so no renewal condition is recorded.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with LSU New Orleans.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at LSU New Orleans?
Automatic merit aid at LSU New Orleans starts at an ACT composite of 20, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches $5,000 a year at the top. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.
Is LSU New Orleans test-optional?
In-state freshmen can be admitted on GPA alone against the Louisiana Core 4. The page does not state the out-of-state admission policy. For merit aid the answer is different: every tier publishes a GPA-only alternative to its score route, so a student with no test score can still reach the top award at a 3.90. A score lowers the GPA needed rather than unlocking anything a GPA cannot. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at LSU New Orleans?
On LSU New Orleans's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for President Scholarship at $5,000 a year, about $20,000 over four years if it renews.
How much is one more ACT point worth at LSU New Orleans?
The most valuable single point on LSU New Orleans's published grid is 23 to 24, at a 2.75 GPA: it moves the award by $2,000 a year, or $8,000 across a four-year degree. The same point is worth less at other GPAs, and most points move nothing at all — the grid steps rather than slopes, which is why the only score worth aiming at is the next threshold.
Does LSU New Orleans superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated. Neither the scholarship page nor the admissions page addresses superscoring, so a student planning a retake should ask in writing before relying on one.
When are LSU New Orleans scholarship deadlines?
Admissions application and acceptance deadline for the merit tiers: July 15. Homer Hitt Scholarship — final application: February 1. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.
Is this LSU New Orleans scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from LSU New Orleans's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
You know what a score is worth at LSU New Orleans. The question is whether you can move it.
A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with LSU New Orleans