Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College: merit scholarships by GPA

Verified Oct 25, 20262026-27 entryACT not used for meritSaint Mary-of-the-Woods, IN

Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 3.0 GPA and reach $12,500 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.

Read this first

Every amount is worded "Up to", and the page adds that other awards may reduce or replace it, so the printed figure is not a floor. The page does not say the figures are annual, though the awards last up to eight semesters. Campus students only, not online. Whether the GPA is weighted is not stated. The Indiana Resident Scholarship, up to 50% of tuition at a 2.5, cannot be combined with these awards and so replaces rather than supplements them.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — a 3.60 GPA

Presidential Scholarship

Up to $10,500 — renews at a 3.0 / year

About $42,000 over four years, if it renews.

SMWC awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.

The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published SMWC merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College’s own pages for 2026-27 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Campus first-year scholarships

Awarded at admission to full-time, degree-seeking campus students. Awards last up to eight semesters.

  • Up to $12,500 — renews at a 3.0

    Trustee Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 4.00

  • Up to $10,500 — renews at a 3.0

    Presidential Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.50

  • Up to $8,000 — renews at a 2.5

    Dean Scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.00

Source: 2026-27 campus scholarships · verified 2026-10-25

Does SMWC superscore for scholarships?

Not stated, and no score is read for these awards.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask SMWC’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • Three rungs: up to $12,500 at a 4.0, $10,500 from a 3.5, $8,000 from a 3.0.
  • Every amount is worded "Up to", and other awards may reduce or replace it.
  • No rung reads an ACT score.
  • The Indiana Resident Scholarship pays up to 50% of tuition at a 2.5 but cannot be combined with these awards, so for an Indiana resident the grid is an alternative rather than the ceiling.
  • Renewal diverges by rung: a 3.0 for Trustee and Presidential, a 2.5 for Dean.
  • The top rung therefore asks for more in college as well as in high school.
  • Campus students only — online students are not eligible.
  • 21st Century Scholars can reach full tuition on campus, or up to $18,000 commuting, through the state programme.
  • The Saint Mother Theodore Guerin Scholarship needs a 3.2 and an application, so it is not a band.
  • The page does not say whether the GPA is weighted.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at SMWC?

Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is SMWC test-optional?

SMWC does not state an admission test policy on this page. For merit aid the answer is different: the ACT appears nowhere in the scholarship grid; it reads GPA alone. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at SMWC?

On SMWC's published grid for 2026-27 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Presidential Scholarship at $10,500 a year, about $42,000 over four years if it renews.

Does SMWC superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated, and no score is read for these awards.

Is this SMWC scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-25. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

SMWC awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.

Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though SMWC is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College