University of Alaska Southeast: merit scholarships by GPA

Verified Oct 24, 2026Current cycleACT not used for meritJuneau, AK

University of Alaska Southeast awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 3.5 GPA. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.

Read this first

This is UAS's only published GPA-keyed award, it covers PARTIAL on-campus housing rather than a dollar amount, and it applies to a new student's FIRST YEAR ONLY — it does not renew. UAS publishes no figure for it and no other merit tier, so a 4.0 and a 3.5 reach the same single award.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — a 3.60 GPA

Chancellor's Award

The award covers partial costs of on-campus housing for a new student's first year at UAS.

UAS awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.

The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published UAS merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from University of Alaska Southeast’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Chancellor's Award

Applied to the student account automatically with no additional application, for the first year only.

  • The award covers partial costs of on-campus housing for a new student's first year at UAS.

    Chancellor's Award

    No score needed

Source: Scholarship information — Chancellor's Award · verified 2026-10-24

Does UAS superscore for scholarships?

Not stated, and it would not matter. The award reads no test score.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask UAS’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from University of Alaska Southeast’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • This is the thinnest grid in the dataset: one threshold, one award, no dollar figure, and no renewal.
  • The award covers partial on-campus housing rather than cash, so its value depends on the housing rate.
  • It is explicitly for a new student's first year at UAS and does not renew.
  • A 4.0 and a 3.5 reach the same award, because UAS publishes no tier above it.
  • No test score affects it, and UAS publishes no second merit award keyed to one.
  • It is applied to the student account automatically with no application.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with University of Alaska Southeast.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at UAS?

University of Alaska Southeast publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is UAS test-optional?

The scholarship page does not state the admission testing requirement, so nothing is claimed about it here. For merit aid the answer is different: uAS publishes one GPA threshold and no test criterion, so an ACT cannot affect this award. A student with no score reaches it at a 3.50 exactly as one with a 36 would — and no score or GPA reaches anything beyond it, because there is nothing beyond it. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

Does UAS superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated, and it would not matter. The award reads no test score.

Is this UAS scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from University of Alaska Southeast's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

UAS awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.

Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though UAS is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with University of Alaska Southeast