University of Alaska Fairbanks: merit scholarships by GPA

Verified Oct 24, 2026Fall 2027 (residents); Fall 2025 (non-residents, as published) entry · prior cycleACT not used for meritFairbanks, AK

University of Alaska Fairbanks awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 3.0 GPA and reach $12,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.

Read this first

UAF's resident and non-resident pages are from different cycles — the resident grid is marked effective Fall 2027 and the non-resident grid Fall 2025. The non-resident figures are therefore the older claim. Both pages were live when read, and neither states that it supersedes the other.

Which grid applies?
29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — a 3.60 GPA

Nanook Pledge Scholarship

$3,000 / year

About $12,000 over four years, if it renews.

UAF awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.

The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published UAF merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from University of Alaska Fairbanks’s own pages for Fall 2027 (residents); Fall 2025 (non-residents, as published) entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Alaska residents

Recipients are notified at the time of admission, with no separate application.

  • $4,000

    Nanook Pledge Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $3,000

    Nanook Pledge Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $2,000

    Nanook Pledge Scholarship

    No score needed

Source: Scholarships for Alaska residents · verified 2026-10-24

Non-residents on the non-resident tuition rate

Three times the resident award at the top of the grid, because it is discounting a non-resident tuition rate. This page is from an earlier cycle than the resident one.

  • $12,000

    Nanook Pledge Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $8,000

    Nanook Pledge Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $5,000

    Nanook Pledge Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $3,000

    Alaska Adventure Award

    No score needed

  • $1,000

    Alaska Adventure Award

    No score needed

Source: Scholarships for non-residents · verified 2026-10-24

Non-residents on the Western Undergraduate Exchange rate

Two-thirds of the full non-resident figure at each rung, because the WUE tuition rate is already reduced.

  • $8,000

    Nanook Pledge Scholarship (WUE)

    No score needed

  • $5,000

    Nanook Pledge Scholarship (WUE)

    No score needed

  • $3,000

    Nanook Pledge Scholarship (WUE)

    No score needed

  • $1,000

    Nanook Pledge Scholarship (WUE)

    No score needed

Source: Scholarships for non-residents · verified 2026-10-24

Does UAF superscore for scholarships?

Not stated, and it would not matter. The grid uses no test score at all, so there is nothing for a superscore to improve.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask UAF’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from University of Alaska Fairbanks’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • A non-resident at a 3.80 is paid $12,000 and an Alaska resident at the same GPA $4,000. The non-resident award is discounting a higher tuition rate, not rewarding a stronger application.
  • The WUE track pays two-thirds of the full non-resident figure at each rung.
  • The non-resident page was published for an earlier cycle than the resident page, so those figures are the older claim.
  • The Alaska Performance Scholarship — worth up to $7,000 a year — appears on UAF's resident page but is STATE money with its own thresholds, not a UAF award. It is deliberately not a band here.
  • The non-resident track is the only one that pays anything below a 3.00 GPA, at $1,000 a year under the Alaska Adventure Award.
  • Recipients are notified at the time of admission, so there is no separate scholarship application.
  • UAF publishes a four-year total beside each annual figure, but does not publish the renewal condition that would make that total reliable.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with University of Alaska Fairbanks.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at UAF?

University of Alaska Fairbanks publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is UAF test-optional?

UAF's scholarship pages do not state an admission testing requirement, so nothing is claimed about it here. For merit aid the answer is different: every rung of the Nanook Pledge and the Alaska Adventure Award is keyed to high school GPA alone. No band on either page names a test score, so raising an ACT cannot move this money. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at UAF?

On UAF's published grid for Fall 2027 (residents); Fall 2025 (non-residents, as published) entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Alaska residents — Nanook Pledge Scholarship at $3,000 a year, about $12,000 over four years if it renews; Non-residents on the non-resident tuition rate — Nanook Pledge Scholarship at $8,000 a year, about $32,000 over four years if it renews; Non-residents on the Western Undergraduate Exchange rate — Nanook Pledge Scholarship (WUE) at $5,000 a year, about $20,000 over four years if it renews.

Does in-state or out-of-state change merit aid at UAF?

Yes. UAF publishes separate grids: Non-residents on the Western Undergraduate Exchange rate run $1,000 to $8,000 a year, and Non-residents on the non-resident tuition rate run $1,000 to $12,000 — a difference of $4,000 a year at the top. Check which grid applies to you before planning around a figure.

Does UAF superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated, and it would not matter. The grid uses no test score at all, so there is nothing for a superscore to improve.

Is this UAF scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from University of Alaska Fairbanks's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

UAF awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.

Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though UAF is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with University of Alaska Fairbanks