State University of New York at New Paltz: merit scholarships by GPA
State University of New York at New Paltz awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 89.0 GPA and reach $6,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.
Read this first
The GPA is a WEIGHTED 100-point high school average, not a 4.0, and it is read at the time of admission — a stronger senior spring cannot move the rung. The amount depends on residency, and New Jersey residents have their own award that pays more than the New York one at a lower average.
Out of 100, the way New York high schools report it — which is how this school publishes its grid.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — a 3.60 GPA
No automatic award at this combination
A 29 with a 3.60 GPA does not reach the published grid under New York residents. That is not a verdict on admission — only on automatic merit.
SUNY New Paltz awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.
The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published SUNY New Paltz merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from State University of New York at New Paltz’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
New York residents
Reviewed automatically on the Common Application or SUNY Application, with no separate scholarship form. The highest bar of the three tracks.
$5,000 a year
Presidential Scholarship
No score needed
$3,000 a year
Orange & Blue Scholarship
No score needed
$2,000 a year
Hawk Scholarship
No score needed
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Presidential Scholarship | — | $5,000 a year |
| Orange & Blue Scholarship | — | $3,000 a year |
| Hawk Scholarship | — | $2,000 a year |
Source: Merit-based scholarships — the three residency tracks · verified 2026-10-24
New Jersey residents
The most generous of the three — $6,000 at an 89, where a New York resident needs a 96 for $5,000.
$6,000 a year
Garden State Rising Scholars Award
No score needed
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Garden State Rising Scholars Award | — | $6,000 a year |
Source: Merit-based scholarships — the three residency tracks · verified 2026-10-24
Out-of-state, excluding New Jersey
One award, reached at a 90 — six points below the New York Presidential threshold for the same money.
$5,000 a year
State Line Presidential Scholarship
No score needed
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| State Line Presidential Scholarship | — | $5,000 a year |
Source: Merit-based scholarships — the three residency tracks · verified 2026-10-24
Does SUNY New Paltz superscore for scholarships?
Not stated, and it would not matter for these awards, which read no test score.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask SUNY New Paltz’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
SUNY New Paltz scholarship deadlines
| Entry term | Due |
|---|---|
| Early action | November 15 |
| Fall general freshman | May 1 |
Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from State University of New York at New Paltz’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- Merit-based scholarships — the three residency tracksverified 2026-10-24
- Freshmen admission — test policy and deadlinesverified 2026-10-24
- A New Jersey resident reaches $6,000 at an 89 average; a New York resident needs a 96 for $5,000.
- An out-of-state student from outside New Jersey reaches $5,000 at a 90 — six points below the New York bar for the same money.
- New York residents have the highest threshold of the three tracks.
- The GPA is a weighted 100-point average and is read at the time of admission.
- The New York track is the only one with more than one rung.
- No test score is used for any of the three awards.
- The 3+4 Osteopathic Medicine and Optometry programmes do require an SAT or ACT for admission, with a January 15 deadline.
- New Paltz does not publish the GPA needed to renew.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with State University of New York at New Paltz.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at SUNY New Paltz?
State University of New York at New Paltz publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.
Is SUNY New Paltz test-optional?
New Paltz is test-optional, except for its 3+4 Osteopathic Medicine and Optometry programmes, which require an SAT or ACT. For merit aid the answer is different: awards are based on the weighted high school GPA at the time of admission and no test is mentioned, so a score cannot move any of the three tracks. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
Does in-state or out-of-state change merit aid at SUNY New Paltz?
Yes. SUNY New Paltz publishes separate grids: New Jersey residents run $6,000 to $6,000 a year, and Out-of-state, excluding New Jersey run $5,000 to $5,000 — a difference of $1,000 a year at the top. Check which grid applies to you before planning around a figure.
Does SUNY New Paltz superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated, and it would not matter for these awards, which read no test score.
When are SUNY New Paltz scholarship deadlines?
Early action: November 15. Fall general freshman: May 1. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.
Is this SUNY New Paltz scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from State University of New York at New Paltz's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
SUNY New Paltz awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.
Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though SUNY New Paltz is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with State University of New York at New Paltz