University of Nevada, Reno: merit scholarships by ACT score

Verified Oct 23, 2026Fall 2027 entryReno, NV

University of Nevada, Reno awards automatic merit aid from a published grid crossing ACT score with GPA. Awards start at an ACT of 18 and reach $10,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.

Read this first

UNR publishes the resident grid three ways on one page and the three disagree in three cells. The 209-cell matrix is used here; its own per-tier summary lists contradict it for Alphie at a 3.5 and a 3.3 GPA and for Pack Pride at a 3.1, and in two of those the summary's paired SAT figure agrees with the matrix rather than with its own ACT figure. If your score sits on one of those edges, confirm with UNR before counting on it.

Which grid applies?
29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA

Pack Pride

$2,000/year / year

About $8,000 over four years, if it renews.

What the next points are worth

2 more points (a 31) moves you to Nevada Scholars — $3,000/year a year. That is $1,000 more a year, or $4,000 over four years.

The question isn't whether 2 points is worth having. It's whether they can move them — which starts with knowing exactly which questions they're missing, and why.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

Is Nevada Reno test-optional?

For admission, largely yes. A score is not required to get in — admission runs on a 3.0 WEIGHTED academic-core GPA. Note the mismatch: admission weights the GPA, the scholarship matrix does not, so a student admitted on honours and AP weighting can still land below the matrix's 3.0 unweighted floor.

For money, no. Required for every four-year award. Both matrices are headed 'ACT OR SAT IS REQUIRED' and UNR's stated floor is an 18 ACT. A student who submits nothing is off the grid entirely and falls back to a one-year, non-stackable GPA-only award of $500 to $3,000. A family that reads “test-optional” and skips the ACT can be admitted and still walk away from every dollar on the grid below.

“No. Undergraduate applications do not require standardized test scores (e.g., ACT/SAT) for admission to the University of Nevada, Reno. However, the University recommends submitting ACT and SAT scores to be considered for first-year scholarships and class placement in first-year courses.”
— Freshman Admissions — requirements and test-score FAQ

The published Nevada Reno merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from University of Nevada, Reno’s own pages for Fall 2027 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Nevada residents — four-year renewable scholarships

The matrix is headed 'ACT OR SAT REQUIRED' and runs on the UNWEIGHTED cumulative high school GPA. Rows are tenths, so a 3.95 reads on the 3.9 row and only a 4.00 reads on the top row. Nothing below a 3.0 GPA or an 18 ACT is priced. Awards run up to four consecutive years or graduation, whichever comes first.

  • $10,000/year

    Presidential Level

    ACT 32–36 · 4.0

  • $5,000/year

    Provost Level

    ACT 30–31 · 4.0

  • $3,000/year

    Nevada Scholars

    ACT 27–29 · 4.0

  • $2,000/year

    Pack Pride

    ACT 24–26 · 4.0

  • $1,500/year

    Alphie

    ACT 18–23 · 4.0

  • $10,000/year

    Presidential Level

    ACT 33–36 · 3.9

  • $5,000/year

    Provost Level

    ACT 31–32 · 3.9

  • $3,000/year

    Nevada Scholars

    ACT 28–30 · 3.9

  • $2,000/year

    Pack Pride

    ACT 25–27 · 3.9

  • $1,500/year

    Alphie

    ACT 18–24 · 3.9

  • $10,000/year

    Presidential Level

    ACT 34–36 · 3.8

  • $5,000/year

    Provost Level

    ACT 32–33 · 3.8

Show the other 41 published rows
  • $3,000/year

    Nevada Scholars

    ACT 29–31 · 3.8

  • $2,000/year

    Pack Pride

    ACT 26–28 · 3.8

  • $1,500/year

    Alphie

    ACT 19–25 · 3.8

  • $750/year

    Luna

    ACT 18 · 3.8

  • $10,000/year

    Presidential Level

    ACT 35–36 · 3.7

  • $5,000/year

    Provost Level

    ACT 33–34 · 3.7

  • $3,000/year

    Nevada Scholars

    ACT 30–32 · 3.7

  • $2,000/year

    Pack Pride

    ACT 27–29 · 3.7

  • $1,500/year

    Alphie

    ACT 20–26 · 3.7

  • $750/year

    Luna

    ACT 18–19 · 3.7

  • $10,000/year

    Presidential Level

    ACT 36 · 3.6

  • $5,000/year

    Provost Level

    ACT 34–35 · 3.6

  • $3,000/year

    Nevada Scholars

    ACT 31–33 · 3.6

  • $2,000/year

    Pack Pride

    ACT 28–30 · 3.6

  • $1,500/year

    Alphie

    ACT 21–27 · 3.6

  • $750/year

    Luna

    ACT 18–20 · 3.6

  • $5,000/year

    Provost Level

    ACT 35–36 · 3.5

  • $3,000/year

    Nevada Scholars

    ACT 32–34 · 3.5

  • $2,000/year

    Pack Pride

    ACT 29–31 · 3.5

  • $1,500/year

    Alphie

    ACT 22–28 · 3.5

  • $750/year

    Luna

    ACT 18–21 · 3.5

  • $5,000/year

    Provost Level

    ACT 36 · 3.4

  • $3,000/year

    Nevada Scholars

    ACT 33–35 · 3.4

  • $2,000/year

    Pack Pride

    ACT 30–32 · 3.4

  • $1,500/year

    Alphie

    ACT 23–29 · 3.4

  • $750/year

    Luna

    ACT 18–22 · 3.4

  • $3,000/year

    Nevada Scholars

    ACT 34–36 · 3.3

  • $2,000/year

    Pack Pride

    ACT 31–33 · 3.3

  • $1,500/year

    Alphie

    ACT 24–30 · 3.3

  • $750/year

    Luna

    ACT 18–23 · 3.3

  • $3,000/year

    Nevada Scholars

    ACT 35–36 · 3.2

  • $2,000/year

    Pack Pride

    ACT 32–34 · 3.2

  • $1,500/year

    Alphie

    ACT 25–31 · 3.2

  • $750/year

    Luna

    ACT 18–24 · 3.2

  • $3,000/year

    Nevada Scholars

    ACT 36 · 3.1

  • $2,000/year

    Pack Pride

    ACT 33–35 · 3.1

  • $1,500/year

    Alphie

    ACT 26–32 · 3.1

  • $750/year

    Luna

    ACT 18–25 · 3.1

  • $2,000/year

    Pack Pride

    ACT 34–36 · 3.0

  • $1,500/year

    Alphie

    ACT 27–33 · 3.0

  • $750/year

    Luna

    ACT 18–26 · 3.0

Source: Freshman Scholarships for Nevada Students — Nevada freshman scholarship matrix · verified 2026-10-23

WUE recipients — four-year merit stacked on the WUE tuition rate

Same ACT and GPA windows as the resident matrix, different awards and less money in the middle tiers. You must already hold WUE to be on this grid, and WUE itself is a separate test: a 3.0 weighted academic GPA OR a 22 ACT OR an 1120 SAT. Transfer students are excluded from these stackable merit awards.

  • $10,000/year

    Presidential Level

    ACT 32–36 · 4.0

  • $4,000/year

    Silver State Level

    ACT 30–31 · 4.0

  • $2,000/year

    Comstock Level

    ACT 27–29 · 4.0

  • $1,500/year

    Mt. Rose Level

    ACT 24–26 · 4.0

  • $1,250/year

    Battle Born Level

    ACT 18–23 · 4.0

  • $10,000/year

    Presidential Level

    ACT 33–36 · 3.9

  • $4,000/year

    Silver State Level

    ACT 31–32 · 3.9

  • $2,000/year

    Comstock Level

    ACT 28–30 · 3.9

  • $1,500/year

    Mt. Rose Level

    ACT 25–27 · 3.9

  • $1,250/year

    Battle Born Level

    ACT 18–24 · 3.9

  • $10,000/year

    Presidential Level

    ACT 34–36 · 3.8

  • $4,000/year

    Silver State Level

    ACT 32–33 · 3.8

Show the other 41 published rows
  • $2,000/year

    Comstock Level

    ACT 29–31 · 3.8

  • $1,500/year

    Mt. Rose Level

    ACT 26–28 · 3.8

  • $1,250/year

    Battle Born Level

    ACT 19–25 · 3.8

  • $500/year

    Wolfie Level

    ACT 18 · 3.8

  • $10,000/year

    Presidential Level

    ACT 35–36 · 3.7

  • $4,000/year

    Silver State Level

    ACT 33–34 · 3.7

  • $2,000/year

    Comstock Level

    ACT 30–32 · 3.7

  • $1,500/year

    Mt. Rose Level

    ACT 27–29 · 3.7

  • $1,250/year

    Battle Born Level

    ACT 20–26 · 3.7

  • $500/year

    Wolfie Level

    ACT 18–19 · 3.7

  • $10,000/year

    Presidential Level

    ACT 36 · 3.6

  • $4,000/year

    Silver State Level

    ACT 34–35 · 3.6

  • $2,000/year

    Comstock Level

    ACT 31–33 · 3.6

  • $1,500/year

    Mt. Rose Level

    ACT 28–30 · 3.6

  • $1,250/year

    Battle Born Level

    ACT 21–27 · 3.6

  • $500/year

    Wolfie Level

    ACT 18–20 · 3.6

  • $4,000/year

    Silver State Level

    ACT 35–36 · 3.5

  • $2,000/year

    Comstock Level

    ACT 32–34 · 3.5

  • $1,500/year

    Mt. Rose Level

    ACT 29–31 · 3.5

  • $1,250/year

    Battle Born Level

    ACT 22–28 · 3.5

  • $500/year

    Wolfie Level

    ACT 18–21 · 3.5

  • $4,000/year

    Silver State Level

    ACT 36 · 3.4

  • $2,000/year

    Comstock Level

    ACT 33–35 · 3.4

  • $1,500/year

    Mt. Rose Level

    ACT 30–32 · 3.4

  • $1,250/year

    Battle Born Level

    ACT 23–29 · 3.4

  • $500/year

    Wolfie Level

    ACT 18–22 · 3.4

  • $2,000/year

    Comstock Level

    ACT 34–36 · 3.3

  • $1,500/year

    Mt. Rose Level

    ACT 31–33 · 3.3

  • $1,250/year

    Battle Born Level

    ACT 24–30 · 3.3

  • $500/year

    Wolfie Level

    ACT 18–23 · 3.3

  • $2,000/year

    Comstock Level

    ACT 35–36 · 3.2

  • $1,500/year

    Mt. Rose Level

    ACT 32–34 · 3.2

  • $1,250/year

    Battle Born Level

    ACT 25–31 · 3.2

  • $500/year

    Wolfie Level

    ACT 18–24 · 3.2

  • $2,000/year

    Comstock Level

    ACT 36 · 3.1

  • $1,500/year

    Mt. Rose Level

    ACT 33–35 · 3.1

  • $1,250/year

    Battle Born Level

    ACT 26–32 · 3.1

  • $500/year

    Wolfie Level

    ACT 18–25 · 3.1

  • $1,500/year

    Mt. Rose Level

    ACT 34–36 · 3.0

  • $1,250/year

    Battle Born Level

    ACT 27–33 · 3.0

  • $500/year

    Wolfie Level

    ACT 18–26 · 3.0

Source: 4-year merit scholarships for freshman WUE recipients — scholarship matrix · verified 2026-10-23

Nevada residents who submit no score — one-year award

For new freshmen who do not submit an ACT or SAT at all. GPA only, one year only, and NOT stackable with the four-year matrix or the National Merit Scholarship. The ceiling is $3,000 for a single year against $40,000 over four for the Presidential, which is the whole argument for sending a score.

  • $3,000

    One-year alternative scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 4.00

  • $1,500

    One-year alternative scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.80

  • $750

    One-year alternative scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.40

  • $500

    One-year alternative scholarship

    No score needed · GPA 3.00

Source: Freshman Scholarships for Nevada Students — Nevada freshman scholarship matrix · verified 2026-10-23

Out-of-state, non-WICHE residents — stackable awards

Students from the 34 non-WICHE states are on neither matrix. UNR prices them separately, and here a score is required to be ON FILE but carries no minimum: 'Standardized test scores (ACT/SAT) — no minimum score required — or a completed placement test for initial course placement must be submitted and on file to qualify.' Pre-nursing and nursing majors, tuition-waiver holders, student athletes, study-abroad participants and international students are excluded.

  • $10,000/year

    Tahoe Award

    No score needed · GPA 3.00

Competitive awards — not automatic

Meeting these makes you eligible to be reviewed, not to receive the award, so they are kept out of the calculator above.

  • Honors Award — : $2,000/year

Source: Stackable non-resident scholarship awards — Tahoe and Honors Awards · verified 2026-10-23

Does Nevada Reno superscore for scholarships?

Not stated for the matrices. The only place UNR uses the word is a footnote on the WUE eligibility page, where a superscore can be requested by email against the WUE entry threshold. Nothing on either scholarship matrix says whether the score it reads may be a superscore, so do not assume it is — ask before planning a retake around it.

“Students may request a superscore to be used by emailing WUE@unr.edu”

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Nevada Reno’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Nevada Reno scholarship deadlines

Entry termDue
Admissions application, transcripts, ACT/SAT scores, FAFSA/IM and the MyNEVADA scholarship application all on fileFebruary 15th
Completed admissions file for the Tahoe Award and Honors AwardFebruary 15th
Enrolled in classes, or the award is lostJune 15th
National Merit Finalists must name UNR first choiceBefore May 1

Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from University of Nevada, Reno’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • Each 0.1 of GPA is worth exactly one ACT point. Every tier's score window shifts up one point for each tenth the GPA drops, in both matrices and with no exceptions — so at UNR a point of ACT and a tenth of GPA are genuinely interchangeable.
  • The matrix GPA is UNWEIGHTED; admission uses a 3.0 WEIGHTED academic-core GPA. A student admitted on weighted honours and AP credit can still sit below the matrix's unweighted 3.0 floor and be priced at nothing.
  • 15 credits a semester, not 12 — and enrolled AND earned. Dropping below 15 before the 100% refund date cancels the scholarship permanently, with no appeal, unless a 15 to Finish exception is on file first.
  • The WUE merit matrix is gated behind WUE itself, which is an OR: a 3.0 weighted academic GPA OR a 22 ACT OR an 1120 SAT. The matrix on top of it is an AND. Transfers get WUE but not the stackable merit.
  • Non-WICHE out-of-state students are on neither matrix. Their route is the Tahoe Award at $10,000 a year from a 3.0 unweighted GPA with scores on file but no minimum score, plus a $2,000 Honors Award only if the Honors College nominates them. Neither combines with National Merit.
  • The Governor Guinn Millennium Scholarship is Nevada state money administered by the Treasurer's Office, not UNR's award, and is not in any grid here. UNR says outright it does not accept appeals for it.
  • Awards are posted on a rolling basis from November through March (April for the non-resident stackables), so a February 15 file date does not mean a February answer.
  • National Merit pays up to $20,000 a year but does not stack with any of these freshman awards — it replaces them.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with University of Nevada, Reno.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Nevada Reno?

Automatic merit aid at University of Nevada, Reno starts at an ACT composite of 18, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches $10,000 a year at the top of the 4 grids it publishes. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.

Is Nevada Reno test-optional?

A score is not required to get in — admission runs on a 3.0 WEIGHTED academic-core GPA. Note the mismatch: admission weights the GPA, the scholarship matrix does not, so a student admitted on honours and AP weighting can still land below the matrix's 3.0 unweighted floor. For merit aid the answer is different: required for every four-year award. Both matrices are headed 'ACT OR SAT IS REQUIRED' and UNR's stated floor is an 18 ACT. A student who submits nothing is off the grid entirely and falls back to a one-year, non-stackable GPA-only award of $500 to $3,000. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Nevada Reno?

On Nevada Reno's published grid for Fall 2027 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Nevada residents — four-year renewable scholarships — Pack Pride at $2,000 a year, about $8,000 over four years if it renews; WUE recipients — four-year merit stacked on the WUE tuition rate — Mt. Rose Level at $1,500 a year, about $6,000 over four years if it renews; Nevada residents who submit no score — one-year award — One-year alternative scholarship at $750 a year, about $3,000 over four years if it renews; Out-of-state, non-WICHE residents — stackable awards — Tahoe Award at $10,000 a year, about $40,000 over four years if it renews.

How much is one more ACT point worth at Nevada Reno?

The most valuable single point on Nevada Reno's published grid is 35 to 36, at a 3.6 GPA: it moves the award by $6,000 a year, or $24,000 across a four-year degree on the WUE recipients — four-year merit stacked on the WUE tuition rate grid. The same point is worth less at other GPAs, and most points move nothing at all — the grid steps rather than slopes, which is why the only score worth aiming at is the next threshold.

Does in-state or out-of-state change merit aid at Nevada Reno?

Yes. Nevada Reno publishes separate grids: Nevada residents — four-year renewable scholarships run $750 to $10,000 a year, and Out-of-state, non-WICHE residents — stackable awards run $10,000 to $10,000. Check which grid applies to you before planning around a figure.

Does Nevada Reno superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated for the matrices. The only place UNR uses the word is a footnote on the WUE eligibility page, where a superscore can be requested by email against the WUE entry threshold. Nothing on either scholarship matrix says whether the score it reads may be a superscore, so do not assume it is — ask before planning a retake around it. Students may request a superscore to be used by emailing WUE@unr.edu

When are Nevada Reno scholarship deadlines?

Admissions application, transcripts, ACT/SAT scores, FAFSA/IM and the MyNEVADA scholarship application all on file: February 15th. Completed admissions file for the Tahoe Award and Honors Award: February 15th. Enrolled in classes, or the award is lost: June 15th. National Merit Finalists must name UNR first choice: Before May 1. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.

Is this Nevada Reno scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from University of Nevada, Reno's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-23. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

You know what a score is worth at Nevada Reno. The question is whether you can move it.

A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with University of Nevada, Reno