Nevada State University: merit scholarships by GPA

Verified Oct 24, 20262026-27 entryACT not used for meritHenderson, NV

Nevada State University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 3.25 GPA and reach $4,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.

Read this first

The Scorpion Academic Scholarship is awarded first come, first served while funding lasts, so clearing a GPA rung makes a student eligible rather than entitled. NSU's own page labels the cycle inconsistently — it says 2026/27 while listing Class of 2027 deadlines.

29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — a 3.60 GPA

Mount Scorpion Achievement Scholarship

$3,000 / year

About $12,000 over four years, if it renews.

Nevada State awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.

The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published Nevada State merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Nevada State University’s own pages for 2026-27 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Scorpion Academic Scholarship

No separate application. Keyed to the unweighted high school GPA.

  • $4,000

    Presidential Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $3,000

    Mount Scorpion Achievement Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $2,000

    Black & Gold Scholarship

    No score needed

Source: Scholarships — Scorpion Academic Scholarship · verified 2026-10-24

Does Nevada State superscore for scholarships?

Not stated, and it would not matter. The grid uses no test score at all.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Nevada State’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Nevada State University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • NSU states plainly that there is no separate application for this award.
  • It is first come, first served while funding lasts, so qualifying is not the same as receiving.
  • The renewal bar is a 2.0 GPA and a 67% completion rate — the federal Satisfactory Academic Progress floor rather than a merit standard. A student who qualifies at a 3.75 keeps the award at a 2.0.
  • The GPA is unweighted.
  • Nothing is paid below a 3.25 unweighted GPA.
  • NSU labels the cycle inconsistently, saying 2026/27 while listing Class of 2027 deadlines.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Nevada State University.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Nevada State?

Nevada State University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is Nevada State test-optional?

The scholarship page does not state the admission testing requirement, so nothing is claimed about it here. For merit aid the answer is different: the awards are keyed to the unweighted high school GPA. The scholarship page carries no ACT or SAT criterion at any rung. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Nevada State?

On Nevada State's published grid for 2026-27 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Mount Scorpion Achievement Scholarship at $3,000 a year, about $12,000 over four years if it renews.

Does Nevada State superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated, and it would not matter. The grid uses no test score at all.

Is this Nevada State scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Nevada State University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

Nevada State awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.

Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Nevada State is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Nevada State University