Florida Polytechnic University: merit scholarships by ACT score
Florida Polytechnic University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid crossing ACT score with GPA. Awards start at an ACT of 19 and reach $23,300 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, one point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.
Read this first
Florida Poly never uses the word automatic for these awards — the only stated requirement is submitting the admissions application with all supporting documentation by the deadline. The grid also overlaps itself: open-ended "minimum GPA" routes sit beside closed GPA windows in two tiers, so a student can qualify several ways and the highest award reached applies. International students are paid the in-state amounts. No renewal length or GPA is published, and whether the GPA is weighted or recalculated is not stated. Older cached copies of this page shift the tier names by one, so the labels here follow the current 2027 grid.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA
Phoenix Scholarship
$10,000 a year / year
About $40,000 over four years, if it renews.
There is no higher band to reach at this GPA — more points would not change the award here. They may still matter for admission, for honours programmes, or at other schools on the list.
Knowing where a score sits is the easy part. Moving it starts with knowing exactly which questions they're being missed, and why.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published Florida Poly merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from Florida Polytechnic University’s own pages for Fall 2027 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
Out-of-state students
Nearly five times the in-state figures at the top tier. Full-time enrolment of at least 12 credits a semester is required.
$23,300 a year
Presidential Scholarship
ACT 29–36 · 4.00+ with a 29 or better
$23,300 a year
Presidential Scholarship
ACT 32–36 · 3.85+ with a 32 or better
$12,500 a year
Provost Scholarship
ACT 27–28 · 4.00+ with a 27–28
$12,500 a year
Provost Scholarship
ACT 27–31 · 3.85–3.99 with a 27–31
$12,500 a year
Provost Scholarship
ACT 31–36 · 3.65–3.84 with a 31 or better
$10,000 a year
Phoenix Scholarship
ACT 24–26 · 3.85+ with a 24–26
$10,000 a year
Phoenix Scholarship
ACT 24–30 · 3.65–3.84 with a 24–30
$10,000 a year
Phoenix Scholarship
ACT 29–36 · 3.25–3.64 with a 29 or better
$5,000 a year
Solaris Scholarship
ACT 22–23 · 3.25+ with a 22–23
$5,000 a year
Solaris Scholarship
ACT 22–28 · 3.25–3.64 with a 22–28
$5,000 a year
Solaris Scholarship
ACT 28–36 · 3.00–3.24 with a 28 or better
$2,500 a year
Merit Scholarship
ACT 19–21 · 3.25+ with a 19–21
Show the other 2 published rows
$2,500 a year
Merit Scholarship
ACT 19–27 · 3.00–3.24 with a 19–27
$2,500 a year
Merit Scholarship
ACT 29–36 · 2.50–2.99 with a 29 or better
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Presidential Scholarship | ACT 29–36 · 4.00+ with a 29 or better | $23,300 a year |
| Presidential Scholarship | ACT 32–36 · 3.85+ with a 32 or better | $23,300 a year |
| Provost Scholarship | ACT 27–28 · 4.00+ with a 27–28 | $12,500 a year |
| Provost Scholarship | ACT 27–31 · 3.85–3.99 with a 27–31 | $12,500 a year |
| Provost Scholarship | ACT 31–36 · 3.65–3.84 with a 31 or better | $12,500 a year |
| Phoenix Scholarship | ACT 24–26 · 3.85+ with a 24–26 | $10,000 a year |
| Phoenix Scholarship | ACT 24–30 · 3.65–3.84 with a 24–30 | $10,000 a year |
| Phoenix Scholarship | ACT 29–36 · 3.25–3.64 with a 29 or better | $10,000 a year |
| Solaris Scholarship | ACT 22–23 · 3.25+ with a 22–23 | $5,000 a year |
| Solaris Scholarship | ACT 22–28 · 3.25–3.64 with a 22–28 | $5,000 a year |
| Solaris Scholarship | ACT 28–36 · 3.00–3.24 with a 28 or better | $5,000 a year |
| Merit Scholarship | ACT 19–21 · 3.25+ with a 19–21 | $2,500 a year |
| Merit Scholarship | ACT 19–27 · 3.00–3.24 with a 19–27 | $2,500 a year |
| Merit Scholarship | ACT 29–36 · 2.50–2.99 with a 29 or better | $2,500 a year |
Source: Undergraduate financial aid — merit-based scholarships, effective 2027 · verified 2026-10-25
Florida residents and international students
International students are paid the in-state amounts. Full-time enrolment of at least 12 credits a semester is required.
$4,940 a year
Presidential Scholarship
ACT 29–36 · 4.00+ with a 29 or better
$4,940 a year
Presidential Scholarship
ACT 32–36 · 3.85+ with a 32 or better
$3,000 a year
Provost Scholarship
ACT 27–28 · 4.00+ with a 27–28
$3,000 a year
Provost Scholarship
ACT 27–31 · 3.85–3.99 with a 27–31
$3,000 a year
Provost Scholarship
ACT 31–36 · 3.65–3.84 with a 31 or better
$2,500 a year
Phoenix Scholarship
ACT 24–26 · 3.85+ with a 24–26
$2,500 a year
Phoenix Scholarship
ACT 24–30 · 3.65–3.84 with a 24–30
$2,500 a year
Phoenix Scholarship
ACT 29–36 · 3.25–3.64 with a 29 or better
$1,500 a year
Solaris Scholarship
ACT 22–23 · 3.25+ with a 22–23
$1,500 a year
Solaris Scholarship
ACT 22–28 · 3.25–3.64 with a 22–28
$1,500 a year
Solaris Scholarship
ACT 28–36 · 3.00–3.24 with a 28 or better
$1,000 a year
Merit Scholarship
ACT 19–21 · 3.25+ with a 19–21
Show the other 2 published rows
$1,000 a year
Merit Scholarship
ACT 19–27 · 3.00–3.24 with a 19–27
$1,000 a year
Merit Scholarship
ACT 29–36 · 2.50–2.99 with a 29 or better
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Presidential Scholarship | ACT 29–36 · 4.00+ with a 29 or better | $4,940 a year |
| Presidential Scholarship | ACT 32–36 · 3.85+ with a 32 or better | $4,940 a year |
| Provost Scholarship | ACT 27–28 · 4.00+ with a 27–28 | $3,000 a year |
| Provost Scholarship | ACT 27–31 · 3.85–3.99 with a 27–31 | $3,000 a year |
| Provost Scholarship | ACT 31–36 · 3.65–3.84 with a 31 or better | $3,000 a year |
| Phoenix Scholarship | ACT 24–26 · 3.85+ with a 24–26 | $2,500 a year |
| Phoenix Scholarship | ACT 24–30 · 3.65–3.84 with a 24–30 | $2,500 a year |
| Phoenix Scholarship | ACT 29–36 · 3.25–3.64 with a 29 or better | $2,500 a year |
| Solaris Scholarship | ACT 22–23 · 3.25+ with a 22–23 | $1,500 a year |
| Solaris Scholarship | ACT 22–28 · 3.25–3.64 with a 22–28 | $1,500 a year |
| Solaris Scholarship | ACT 28–36 · 3.00–3.24 with a 28 or better | $1,500 a year |
| Merit Scholarship | ACT 19–21 · 3.25+ with a 19–21 | $1,000 a year |
| Merit Scholarship | ACT 19–27 · 3.00–3.24 with a 19–27 | $1,000 a year |
| Merit Scholarship | ACT 29–36 · 2.50–2.99 with a 29 or better | $1,000 a year |
Source: Undergraduate financial aid — merit-based scholarships, effective 2027 · verified 2026-10-25
Does Florida Poly superscore for scholarships?
Not stated on the aid page. On a grid this dependent on the score, a student near a boundary should ask directly.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Florida Poly’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
Florida Poly scholarship deadlines
| Entry term | Due |
|---|---|
| Merit scholarships | May 1 |
| Alexander Scholars (competitive) | December 15 |
Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from Florida Polytechnic University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- Undergraduate financial aid — merit-based scholarships, effective 2027verified 2026-10-25
- Undergraduate admissionsverified 2026-10-25
- A score is mandatory at Florida Poly, required by Florida Board of Governors regulation rather than institutional choice.
- The same 4.0 with a 29 pays $4,940 in state and $23,300 out of state — the widest residency spread in this dataset.
- Even the bottom rung pays $2,500 out of state against $1,000 in state.
- Every tier has multiple routes pairing a GPA window with an ACT window.
- A 2.5 to 2.99 GPA still reaches an award, but only with a 29 or better.
- A 3.0 to 3.24 GPA reaches the Solaris tier with a 28.
- So a strong score substitutes for most of a grade point here, which almost nothing else in this dataset allows.
- The grid overlaps itself; the highest award a student reaches is the answer.
- The ACT science section stopped being required for admission in April 2025.
- International students are paid the in-state amounts.
- No renewal length or GPA is published.
- The Alexander Scholars award at $10,000 a year needs an admissions-counsellor nomination, so it is not a band here.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Florida Polytechnic University.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Florida Poly?
Automatic merit aid at Florida Polytechnic University starts at an ACT composite of 19, alongside the published GPA minimum, and reaches $23,300 a year at the top of the 2 grids it publishes. The bands are steps rather than a slope, so the only score that matters is the next threshold above where you are now.
Is Florida Poly test-optional?
Required under Florida Board of Governors regulation rather than by Florida Poly's choice. The ACT science section stopped being required in April 2025. For merit aid the answer is different: every tier pairs a GPA window with an ACT window, and a strong score substitutes for most of a grade point: a 2.5 to 2.99 GPA still reaches an award with a 29, and a 3.0 to 3.24 reaches the tier above with a 28. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Florida Poly?
On Florida Poly's published grid for Fall 2027 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Out-of-state students — Phoenix Scholarship at $10,000 a year, about $40,000 over four years if it renews; Florida residents and international students — Phoenix Scholarship at $2,500 a year, about $10,000 over four years if it renews.
How much is one more ACT point worth at Florida Poly?
The most valuable single point on Florida Poly's published grid is 31 to 32, at a 3.85 GPA: it moves the award by $10,800 a year, or $43,200 across a four-year degree on the Out-of-state students grid. The same point is worth less at other GPAs, and most points move nothing at all — the grid steps rather than slopes, which is why the only score worth aiming at is the next threshold.
Does in-state or out-of-state change merit aid at Florida Poly?
Yes. Florida Poly publishes separate grids: Florida residents and international students run $1,000 to $4,940 a year, and Out-of-state students run $2,500 to $23,300 — a difference of $18,360 a year at the top. Check which grid applies to you before planning around a figure.
Does Florida Poly superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated on the aid page. On a grid this dependent on the score, a student near a boundary should ask directly.
When are Florida Poly scholarship deadlines?
Merit scholarships: May 1. Alexander Scholars (competitive): December 15. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.
Is this Florida Poly scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from Florida Polytechnic University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-25. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
You know what a score is worth at Florida Poly. The question is whether you can move it.
A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Florida Polytechnic University