Miami University: merit scholarships by GPA

Verified Oct 21, 2026Fall 2027 entryACT not used for meritOxford, OH

Miami University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 3.5 GPA and reach $22,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.

Read this first

The ACT is not used — Miami does not require scores for first-year admission at all, and the merit grid is keyed purely to a WEIGHTED high school GPA that Miami recalculates. The recalculation can work in a student's favour: Miami adds weight for rigorous coursework and says the result is likely HIGHER than the transcript GPA. Read Miami's own hedge before planning around these figures: 'Scholarships are not guaranteed and are based on academic credentials provided at the time of application.' There is no separate application, and the December 1 priority deadline plus a transcript and recommendation are hard requirements. Non-resident awards are far larger than resident ones because they discount a much higher sticker price, so the two columns are not comparable.

Which grid applies?
29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — a 3.60 GPA

Merit Scholarship (Ohio/Reciprocal Resident)

$4,000 / year

About $16,000 over four years, if it renews.

Miami (Ohio) awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.

The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published Miami (Ohio) merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Miami University’s own pages for Fall 2027 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Ohio and reciprocal residents

No separate scholarship application. Miami requires the full application, including transcript and recommendation, by the December 1 priority deadline, and the student must meet the minimum academic criteria.

  • $9,000

    Merit Scholarship (Ohio/Reciprocal Resident)

    No score needed · GPA 4.30

  • $6,000

    Merit Scholarship (Ohio/Reciprocal Resident)

    No score needed · GPA 3.95

  • $5,000

    Merit Scholarship (Ohio/Reciprocal Resident)

    No score needed · GPA 3.75

  • $4,000

    Merit Scholarship (Ohio/Reciprocal Resident)

    No score needed · GPA 3.50

Source: Scholarships — Merit Scholarships for Fall 2027 · verified 2026-10-21

Non-residents

Substantially larger figures against a substantially higher non-resident tuition. Miami's published averages are $6,865 for Ohio students and $16,729 for non-residents.

  • $22,000

    Merit Scholarship (Non-Resident)

    No score needed · GPA 4.30

  • $15,000

    Merit Scholarship (Non-Resident)

    No score needed · GPA 3.95

  • $14,000

    Merit Scholarship (Non-Resident)

    No score needed · GPA 3.75

  • $8,000

    Merit Scholarship (Non-Resident)

    No score needed · GPA 3.50

Source: Scholarships — Merit Scholarships for Fall 2027 · verified 2026-10-21

Does Miami (Ohio) superscore for scholarships?

Not stated, and close to irrelevant — no band on the grid uses a score at all.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Miami (Ohio)’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Miami (Ohio) scholarship deadlines

Entry termDue
Priority application deadline for merit scholarships, including transcript and recommendationDec. 1

Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Miami University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • Miami says in writing that scholarships are not guaranteed, despite publishing exact amounts per GPA band with no separate application. That hedge belongs in any plan built on these figures.
  • The GPA is weighted and recalculated, and Miami says the recalculation is likely to RAISE a student's GPA if they took rigorous coursework — the opposite of most recalculations in this dataset.
  • The grid stops at a 3.50 weighted GPA. Below that Miami publishes no automatic figure.
  • Non-resident amounts are up to 2.4x the resident ones because they offset a much higher sticker price, so comparing Miami's non-resident award to an in-state school's award is misleading.
  • A transcript AND a recommendation are required by December 1, which is more than most schools ask for an automatic award.
  • The Miami University Ohio Governor's Scholarship covers full tuition and general fees for one top student from each of Ohio's 88 counties, automatically considered for Ohio residents who apply by December 1. Course fees are not covered.
  • Miami advertises a Tuition Promise of 0% tuition increase over a four-year degree, which makes a renewable figure here more predictable than at most schools.
  • 95% of first-year students received gift aid in 2025-2026, per Miami's own figure.
  • Miami is silent on the Enhanced ACT.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Miami University.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Miami (Ohio)?

Miami University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is Miami (Ohio) test-optional?

Miami does not require ACT or SAT scores for first-year admission, and names exactly one exception: students pursuing the Presidential Fellows scholarship, which carries its own review and interview. For merit aid the answer is different: not used for the published grid. Merit runs on the weighted, recalculated high school GPA; the only award where a score is implicated is the interviewed Presidential Fellows scholarship. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Miami (Ohio)?

On Miami (Ohio)'s published grid for Fall 2027 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Ohio and reciprocal residents — Merit Scholarship (Ohio/Reciprocal Resident) at $4,000 a year, about $16,000 over four years if it renews; Non-residents — Merit Scholarship (Non-Resident) at $8,000 a year, about $32,000 over four years if it renews.

Does in-state or out-of-state change merit aid at Miami (Ohio)?

Yes. Miami (Ohio) publishes separate grids: Ohio and reciprocal residents run $4,000 to $9,000 a year, and Non-residents run $8,000 to $22,000 — a difference of $13,000 a year at the top. Check which grid applies to you before planning around a figure.

Does Miami (Ohio) superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated, and close to irrelevant — no band on the grid uses a score at all.

When are Miami (Ohio) scholarship deadlines?

Priority application deadline for merit scholarships, including transcript and recommendation: Dec. 1. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.

Is this Miami (Ohio) scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Miami University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-21. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

Miami (Ohio) awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.

Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Miami (Ohio) is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Miami University