Coppin State University: merit scholarships by GPA
Coppin State University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 2.75 GPA and reach $5,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.
Read this first
Coppin State's merit page carries no explicit statement that these awards are automatic, and a third-party summary describes them as competitive and offered by invitation — wording not found on coppin.edu. The awards require submitting the admission application by December 1, so a late applicant likely receives neither. Both bands are floors and overlap at a 3.0; Coppin does not say whether they stack, so the higher one is assumed. Whether the GPA is weighted is not stated for these two.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — a 3.60 GPA
Gold First-Year Student Merit Award
$5,000 a year as a partial scholarship, for up to four years / year
About $20,000 over four years, if it renews.
Coppin State awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.
The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published Coppin State merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from Coppin State University’s own pages for Fall 2026 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
First-year merit awards
No separate application. Awarded annually for up to four years, conditional on applying for admission by December 1.
$5,000 a year as a partial scholarship, for up to four years
Gold First-Year Student Merit Award
No score needed · GPA 3.00
$3,000 a year as a partial scholarship, for up to four years
Blue First-Year Student Merit Award
No score needed · GPA 2.75
| Award | With a score | No score | Per year |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gold First-Year Student Merit Award | — | GPA 3.00 | $5,000 a year as a partial scholarship, for up to four years |
| Blue First-Year Student Merit Award | — | GPA 2.75 | $3,000 a year as a partial scholarship, for up to four years |
Source: Merit awards — Fall 2026 to Spring 2027 · verified 2026-10-25
Does Coppin State superscore for scholarships?
Not stated, and neither published rung reads a score.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Coppin State’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
Coppin State scholarship deadlines
| Entry term | Due |
|---|---|
| Admission application, for merit consideration | December 1 |
Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from Coppin State University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- Merit awards — Fall 2026 to Spring 2027verified 2026-10-25
- Presidential Scholarshipverified 2026-10-25
- Fanny Jackson Coppin Scholarshipverified 2026-10-25
- A 3.0 reaches $5,000 a year and a 2.75 reaches $3,000, for up to four years.
- The only deadline is the admission application, by December 1.
- Neither rung reads an ACT score.
- The Presidential award — tuition, room, board, fees and up to $2,000 a year in books at a weighted 3.5 with a 25 — is invitation only.
- The Fanny Jackson Coppin award — tuition, fees and up to $1,000 in books at a weighted 3.3 with a 23 — is selective and requires living on campus.
- Both of those permit a test-optional substitution, so even there the score is replaceable.
- The two published bands are floors and overlap at a 3.0.
- Coppin calls these partial scholarships and publishes no renewal GPA.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Coppin State University.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Coppin State?
Coppin State University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.
Is Coppin State test-optional?
Resumes and recommendation letters can stand in for a score, so the test is genuinely replaceable here. For merit aid the answer is different: neither Gold nor Blue names a test. The two Coppin awards that do read a score — Presidential at a 25 and Fanny Jackson Coppin at a 23 — are invitation-only and selective, and both permit a test-optional substitution anyway. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Coppin State?
On Coppin State's published grid for Fall 2026 entry, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Gold First-Year Student Merit Award at $5,000 a year, about $20,000 over four years if it renews.
Does Coppin State superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated, and neither published rung reads a score.
When are Coppin State scholarship deadlines?
Admission application, for merit consideration: December 1. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.
Is this Coppin State scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from Coppin State University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-25. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
Coppin State awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.
Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Coppin State is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Coppin State University