Capitol Technology University: merit scholarships by GPA

Verified Oct 24, 2026Current cycleACT not used for meritLaurel, MD

Capitol Technology University awards automatic merit aid from a published grid keyed to GPA — the ACT is not used. Awards start at a 2.5 GPA and reach $14,000 a year. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.

Enter a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and what the next band needs.

Read this first

Capitol prints the grid as single GPA points rather than ranges and gives no rounding rule, so each point is read here as running up to the next. The grid itself says amounts "may increase when subject to a complete applicant review" and apply to full-time Laurel campus students only, and the published PDF is dated 2024 — so treat the figures as the current floors rather than fixed awards. The award names in the PDF are shown by cell colour, so every band here is simply called the merit scholarship.

Which grid applies?
29
3.60

Unweighted, as the school asks for it.

← Drag either slider to your own numbers

Example — a 3.60 GPA

Merit Scholarship

$13,000 a year / year

About $52,000 over four years, if it renews.

Capitol Tech awards this on GPA alone, so an ACT score does not change it. A higher score can still matter for admission, for honours programmes, and at other schools on the list — but not for this award.

The ACT doesn't move the money here — but it still decides admission, honours eligibility, and what they is worth at the other schools on the list, where most awards are score-keyed.

Who's this for?
Where a 29 is worth the most →

Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.

Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.

Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60

This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.

One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.

Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen

The published Capitol Tech merit aid grid

Reproduced in full from Capitol Technology University’s own pages for the current cycle. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.

Three or more Honors, AP, IB or PLTW courses passed at C or better

The largest column at every GPA. Three advanced courses are worth $3,000 a year at a 3.0 compared with none.

  • $14,000 a year

    Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $14,000 a year

    Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $14,000 a year

    Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $13,500 a year

    Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $13,000 a year

    Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $12,500 a year

    Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $12,000 a year

    Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $11,500 a year

    Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $11,000 a year

    Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $10,500 a year

    Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $10,000 a year

    Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $9,000 a year

    Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

Show the other 4 published rows
  • $8,000 a year

    Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $7,000 a year

    Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $6,500 a year

    Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $6,000 a year

    Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

Source: Merit scholarship grid (PDF) · verified 2026-10-24

One or two Honors, AP, IB or PLTW courses passed at C or better

Worth $1,000 a year over the no-advanced-coursework column across most of the grid.

  • $13,000 a year

    Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $12,500 a year

    Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $12,000 a year

    Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $11,500 a year

    Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $11,000 a year

    Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $10,500 a year

    Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $10,000 a year

    Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $9,500 a year

    Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $9,000 a year

    Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $8,500 a year

    Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $8,000 a year

    Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $7,500 a year

    Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

Show the other 4 published rows
  • $7,000 a year

    Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $6,500 a year

    Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $6,000 a year

    Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $5,500 a year

    Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

Source: Merit scholarship grid (PDF) · verified 2026-10-24

No Honors, AP, IB or PLTW courses

The base column. Everything above it is reachable by taking harder classes rather than by raising the GPA.

  • $12,000 a year

    Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $11,500 a year

    Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $11,000 a year

    Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $10,500 a year

    Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $10,000 a year

    Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $9,500 a year

    Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $9,000 a year

    Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $8,500 a year

    Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $8,000 a year

    Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $7,500 a year

    Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $7,000 a year

    Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $6,500 a year

    Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

Show the other 4 published rows
  • $6,000 a year

    Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $5,500 a year

    Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $5,000 a year

    Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

  • $4,500 a year

    Merit Scholarship

    No score needed

Source: Merit scholarship grid (PDF) · verified 2026-10-24

Does Capitol Tech superscore for scholarships?

Not stated, and it would not matter — the grid reads no score.

With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Capitol Tech’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.

Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.

Capitol Tech scholarship deadlines

Entry termDue
AdmissionRolling
Capitol Scholars application and FAFSAMarch 1

Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.

Where these numbers came from

Every figure on this page was read from Capitol Technology University’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.

  • The second axis is the number of Honors, AP, IB or PLTW courses passed at C or better — no other grid in this dataset uses one.
  • A 3.0 with no advanced coursework is $7,000 a year; the same 3.0 with three advanced courses is $10,000.
  • At a 2.5, moving from no advanced courses to three is worth $1,500 a year.
  • Raising the GPA a full half point from 2.5 to 3.0 is worth $2,500 a year in the base column — so for some students the harder class pays better than the higher grade.
  • The grid opens at a 2.5; below that nothing is published.
  • No band reads an ACT score.
  • Capitol says actual amounts may increase after a complete applicant review, so these are effectively floors.
  • Full-time Laurel campus students only.
  • The published PDF is dated 2024, and whether the GPA is weighted is not stated.
  • The Capitol Scholars Program, competing for up to full tuition, is invitational and competitive, so it is not a band here.

Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Capitol Technology University.

Frequently asked questions

What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Capitol Tech?

Capitol Technology University publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.

Is Capitol Tech test-optional?

Capitol publishes score floors it then marks optional: a 900 SAT with a 500 in maths, or a 19 ACT, for engineering; an 800 SAT or a 17 ACT otherwise. For merit aid the answer is different: the grid reads GPA and advanced-course count only. A 1100 SAT is one route into the invitational Capitol Scholars competition, which is separate and competitive. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.

How much is a 30 on the ACT worth at Capitol Tech?

On Capitol Tech's published grid for the current cycle, an ACT of 30 with a 3.6 GPA qualifies for Three or more Honors, AP, IB or PLTW courses passed at C or better — Merit Scholarship at $13,000 a year, about $52,000 over four years if it renews; One or two Honors, AP, IB or PLTW courses passed at C or better — Merit Scholarship at $11,000 a year, about $44,000 over four years if it renews; No Honors, AP, IB or PLTW courses — Merit Scholarship at $10,000 a year, about $40,000 over four years if it renews.

Does Capitol Tech superscore the ACT for scholarships?

Not stated, and it would not matter — the grid reads no score.

When are Capitol Tech scholarship deadlines?

Admission: Rolling. Capitol Scholars application and FAFSA: March 1. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.

Is this Capitol Tech scholarship data current?

Every figure on this page was read from Capitol Technology University's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-24. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.

Other schools to check

What to do next

Capitol Tech awards on GPA — but the ACT still decides what you're worth elsewhere.

Most schools in this comparison are score-keyed even though Capitol Tech is not, so the same test still moves the money everywhere else on the list.

Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Capitol Technology University