Loyola University Maryland: merit scholarships and what the school publishes
Loyola University Maryland publishes merit aid criteria as published criteria. Because the bands are steps rather than a slope, a hundredth of a GPA point is worth nothing inside a band and the whole step at the edge of one.
Enter a score and a GPA below to see which band it actually lands in, what that band pays, and exactly how many points the next one needs.
Read this first
Each of the three tiers is printed as a range rather than a figure, and Loyola publishes no GPA or score threshold for any of them, so no transcript can be mapped to a rung. The award covers tuition only, is split equally between fall and spring, and is forfeited for a semester abroad through a programme Loyola does not run. The amount is fixed for four years and does not rise. These are the 2027-28 figures; the 2024-25 ranges were about $10,000 lower at every rung.
Unweighted, as the school asks for it.
← Drag either slider to your own numbers
Example — an ACT 29 with a 3.60 GPA
Presidential, Dean's or Loyola Scholarship
based on a student's GPA, course selection, and test scores (if submitted)
There is no higher band to reach at this GPA — more points would not change the award here. They may still matter for admission, for honours programmes, or at other schools on the list.
Knowing where a score sits is the easy part. Moving it starts with knowing exactly which questions they're being missed, and why.
Free preview of the top schools · the full ranked list, with deadlines, is $19.
Want to know what one more point would change? The Merit Plan prices the next point at every school.
Email me every school that pays at a 29 and 3.60
This page is one school. We have read the published grids at 501, and the email sends the ten that pay you most — five public, five private — with what each one awards. No account.
One email with your breakdown, plus occasional ACT tips. Unsubscribe in one tap.
Free · no account, no card · the first school is on this screen
The published Loyola Maryland merit aid grid
Reproduced in full from Loyola University Maryland’s own pages for 2027-28 entry. Nothing here is estimated: where the school states a benefit rather than a figure, that is what the table says.
Merit scholarships
No separate application; the award arrives with the admission decision. Three named tiers, each a range.
based on a student's GPA, course selection, and test scores (if submitted)
Presidential, Dean's or Loyola Scholarship
No score needed
| Award | With a score | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Presidential, Dean's or Loyola Scholarship | — | based on a student's GPA, course selection, and test scores (if submitted) |
Source: Scholarships · verified 2026-10-25
Does Loyola Maryland superscore for scholarships?
Not stated. There is no published threshold to clear.
With nothing published, plan for the stricter reading: look up your best single sitting in the grid above, work out your superscore as well, and ask Loyola Maryland’s financial aid office which one they read before you count on the higher band.
Comparing schools? See which colleges superscore for scholarships — 66 of 501 commit to it, 52 say they do not, and the rest never say.
Loyola Maryland scholarship deadlines
| Entry term | Due |
|---|---|
| Enrollment deposit — by the date on the admission letter | As stated on the admission letter |
Scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive, and official reports sent to schools can take longer, so the last useful test date is several weeks before the printed deadline. Check which test dates still make it.
Where these numbers came from
Every figure on this page was read from Loyola University Maryland’s own published pages, linked below with the date we last confirmed them. We do not estimate a missing band or interpolate a value.
- Presidential is $41,000-$45,000, Dean's $39,000-$40,000 and the Loyola Scholarship $37,000-$38,000 a year.
- The bottom rung's floor, $37,000, is higher than the top award at most schools in this dataset.
- The whole ladder spans $8,000, about a fifth of the award itself.
- No tier carries a published GPA or score threshold.
- A submitted score is read alongside the GPA and course selection.
- No separate application is needed; the award arrives with the admission decision.
- Renewal is automatic for four years on a cumulative 2.0 with full-time enrolment.
- The amount is fixed for four years and does not rise with a strong first year.
- The award is tuition-only and split equally between fall and spring.
- It is forfeited for a semester abroad through a programme Loyola does not run itself.
Check before you rely on it. Grids change by entry year and schools update them without notice. This page is a reproduction with a date on it, not a guarantee, and it is not financial aid advice. ClutchACT is not affiliated with Loyola University Maryland.
Frequently asked questions
What ACT score do you need for a scholarship at Loyola Maryland?
Loyola University Maryland publishes a merit aid grid keyed to ACT score and GPA. See the tables on this page for the current bands.
Is Loyola Maryland test-optional?
Optional but read when sent — Loyola states plainly that a submitted score is reviewed. For merit aid the answer is different: a score is one of three named inputs, with no published threshold and no stated weight. Being admitted without a score and qualifying for money without a score are two separate questions.
Does Loyola Maryland superscore the ACT for scholarships?
Not stated. There is no published threshold to clear.
When are Loyola Maryland scholarship deadlines?
Enrollment deposit — by the date on the admission letter: As stated on the admission letter. The application and the official score report are both due by that date, and ACT scores take roughly two to four weeks to arrive — so the last useful test date is several weeks earlier than the deadline suggests.
Is this Loyola Maryland scholarship data current?
Every figure on this page was read from Loyola University Maryland's own published pages and last verified on 2026-10-25. The sources are linked at the bottom of the page with that date. Grids change by entry year, so check the source before relying on a figure for a decision.
Other schools to check
What to do next
You know what a score is worth at Loyola Maryland. The question is whether you can move it.
A grid tells you the target. It does not tell you which questions are costing the points between here and there. That takes about three minutes to find out.
Free · About 3 minutes · No account needed · Not affiliated with Loyola University Maryland